Scott Logic Reviews | Glassdoor

Scott Logic Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Scott Logic CEO Gary Scott
Gary Scott
21 Ratings
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work culture and training are brilliant.

    Cons

    Nothing. The management works to ensure all is good.

    Scott Logic2019-10-07
  2. "Talented software teames"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the people and the work culture

    Cons

    Have not been here long enough to say

    Scott Logic2019-10-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "I really enjoy working there, I wish they could pay more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time

    Pros

    Very nice environment. Surrounded by smart people, eager to share knowledge and interests. Good variety of tech. Promoting Group learning (with study groups) and Self-directed learning.

    Cons

    Clientele is almost entirely comprised of companies from the financial sector. Some branches do not give a competitive salary.

    Advice to Management

    Try to maintain the company culture, it might be tricky while growing.

    Scott Logic2019-10-06
  5. "Fantastic people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team culture is great. A real family feel considering the rapid growth. The pool of knowledge available on tap is inspiring.

    Cons

    Consultancy can be difficult, just because Scott Logic is passionate about something, it doesn't mean the client will be. Rapid growth means some of the processes are not as well thought out as they could be, I'm sure this will improve.

    Scott Logic2019-07-03
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Development in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Quality of staff, it really is higher than our competitors * The staff are treated as the priority * Nice mix of work * No living out of a suitcase like other consultancies

    Cons

    * It's a consultancy, so definitely not for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Scott Logic2019-05-21
  7. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scott Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely friendly atmosphere brought by very smart people

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Scott Logic2019-04-02
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scott Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Projects are hit and miss. Potential to be pigeon holed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing. Maybe allow developers some more input on what projects they go on to.

    Scott Logic2019-02-23
  9. "A genuinely caring company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You are given responsibility, independence and ownership. You are surrounded by like minded, smart people, who are genuinely interested in technology. This results in lots of opportunities to join / create study groups, or work towards certifications. The pay is competitive and you don’t have to fight for pay increases. I have had the chance to work in a wide range of technologies. Gary (MD) and management are... approachable and friendly. Company are opening their own charity to help underprivileged kids get involved in technology. Regular company updates and annual update where they are very open about company goals, performance, and what is happening across the businesss.

    Show More

    Cons

    Could have more flexible working / working from home. This has improved - although this is understandably difficult and on a client by client basis.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Scott Logic2019-03-06
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time

    Pros

    Scott Logic is an amazing company; every software developer should aspire to work here! There is a friendly culture, supportive colleagues, an atmosphere of learning, helpful management and interesting projects. Their internal training is excellent, and everyone is encouraged to keep on learning and developing in their career. The opportunities to get involved with tech talks and the company blog are great too.... In addition to all that, we hardly ever work overtime and thus I have a great work-life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Almost none. Some people may not like remote working (we consult for clients all over the UK and overseas) or occasionally travelling to clients, but most people enjoy that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on encouraging your employees to succeed and develop in their careers.

    Scott Logic2018-12-24
  11. Helpful (5)

    "Niche company. Seems to be big enough to cope, small enough to care but you wouldnt always be able to tell..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the (usually less dev/tech people) are caring and value you as a person as as well as what you bring to the company from a skills & experience POV. Salaries are usually at market or slightly above. London office is nice but not overly inclusive if you arent in the right clique. Is super tech-heavy from an experience POV as that is still our real bread & butter, despite the presence of many other... typical digital consultancy business units

    Show More

    Cons

    Many Dev-types look down their nose at you if you arent "one of them" and they most all talk a lot of TLA's / Dev / Tech-specific jargon in a way to outbid or out-experience each other. Its like a "who can pee up the wall highest" competition - which in of itself is not a consultancy skill but is the type of odd metric you are judged by. Gary (the owner) does come by but always seems to wear a "dont talk to me" look.... He does remember people's names though but is almost mute all other times

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is true of many (but not all) companies I have worked with. 1) Share more about how the company is doing with your employees. We never get told about profits made, contract values, whether we are doing so well or barely scraping by. Did we get booted off a gig or did they just renew for another 12 months. If you think that kind of stuff being shared may make people leave or give individuals ammunition for a... better pay rise, then those people didnt believe in the company anyways & need to be let go 2) Any social events seem to be thought of & implemented by un-nominated individuals. Ask the relevant community to help plan things to make them way less cloak & dagger - its a party, not a reconnaissance mission behind a foreign power's troop lines created on a need-to-know basis. 3) Most of the social events I have attended have been mediocre at best. They tend to be "drink beer in a pub"-based, which is not a preference for a lot of people but especially women in the office, and it shows a distinct lack of imagination & flair. Non-associated individual events organised by others have been amazing (e.g. a salsa dancing night with dance-inspriring cocktails + other fun outings) 4. Cost-of-living pay rises seem to be non-existent. The cost of living IS GOING UP *every* month and my salary is staying still. 5. Also, there seems to be no scope for individuals to negotiate their own rises beyond that which (may?) accrue via any COL rise 6. No-one is managing the day-today ins and outs of the London office by the looks of it. We have many "heads of department" present but someone needs to be in charge of running the office & dictating policy rather than the usually myopic and often self-aggrandizing opinions of senior individuals dressed up to look like company policy

    Show More
    Scott Logic2018-11-08

    Scott Logic Response

    November 16, 2018General Manager

    Thank you for your detailed review of Scott Logic and our London office. As you will be aware we have grown significantly in London in the last year and this achievement has been made possible by all of the high calibre consultants you mention. I find it a delight to work in our London office full of talented consultants with varied skills from the deeply technical developers, across testing, UX design, business analysis and delivery management. We share information on company performance at our monthly office stand-up, the quarterly We Are London get together and annually in line with our financial year end. We are certainly happy to include additional information in these or other forums if there is demand from our people. Most of our London employees value the informal family feel in the office. There are plenty of opportunities at Scott Logic for both company organised and ad-hoc social events and gatherings. We welcome new ideas and would be happy to try different things. A favourite of mine from this year was the office bake off following our Summer We Are London get together. Sadly I left my brownies in the oven too long to be a winner! Having worked in a number of consultancies large and small over the last 24 years I’ve never experienced one that would take an entire office off fee earning work for an afternoon to do baking. Scott Logic is truly unique and special in this regard. At Scott Logic we operate an annual pay review cycle which is consistent with the rest of the industry. As you have identified in your review we aim to pay at or above market rate consistently. As the company continues to grow we will invest further in the management team and ensure a cohesive approach to the London office. I encourage all of our employees to chat with me or a member of the senior team if there are any concerns or ideas for improvement, we are all approachable and happy to do this. Nigel

    Show Less
Found 26 reviews