Seattle Community Colleges Reviews | Glassdoor

Seattle Community Colleges Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Seattle Community Colleges CEO Jill Wakefield  (no image)
Jill Wakefield
2 Ratings
  1. "Contract Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle Community Colleges full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Really caring and believe in the mission of helping students. Great benefits.

    Cons

    A lot of required bureaucracy. Financial compensation does not keep up with the local job market.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Community Colleges2017-06-19
  2. "Emerging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Community Colleges full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good leadership and vision.

    Cons

    Lack of state support and regional cost of living makes it difficult to meet vision and goals as well as hire and keep talent.

    Seattle Community Colleges2019-01-27
  3. "Seattle district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Seattle Community Colleges part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are student focused

    Cons

    Experiencing possible budget cuts

    Seattle Community Colleges2017-06-20
  4. "Program Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Seattle Community Colleges part-time

    Pros

    Excellent support received from staff and coworkers, everyone worked to create a positive atmosphere. Good experience gained.

    Cons

    Lack of job advancement opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Community Colleges2016-10-28
  5. "Instructor at Seattle Colleges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Seattle Community Colleges part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My days are done before my kids are out of school. There is really no oversight to my job, so I am left alone to be self-directed and creative.

    Cons

    Low wages and the knowledge that every quarter I might not have a job.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Community Colleges2016-03-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission and outcomes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Seattle Community Colleges full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Student focused and proactive. Outstanding colleagues.

    Cons

    Salaries low for other than top executives.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Community Colleges2015-05-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Somewhat like the stereotype of a government employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seattle Community Colleges part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some stability, though not as much as you'd think Good benefits, including unique ones (educational) Usually not under pressure

    Cons

    No staff development No future position Other staff aren't always the most cooperative or timely Initiative not expected, not a vibrant environment Low pay Inept are acceptable Unethical folks are assumed not to be

    Continue reading
    Seattle Community Colleges2013-11-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A stereotypical state job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Community Colleges part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, some unique (class discounts, academic software pricing, campus opportunities), even for half-time employees. Opportunities to work at less-than-half-time positions. Can easily advance through the entire salary range.

    Cons

    Low salaries. Generally lesser equipment and software. Bureaucratic. Poor performers, those offering poor customer service - particularly managers, and unethical practices are generally allowed to continue, which can be frustrating, but must be accepted in so far as possible. Difficult at best to advance. The big picture isn't shared.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Community Colleges2012-09-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A little lame..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrator in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Seattle Community Colleges

    Pros

    Not a very demanding place to work. Unfortunately, that is because there is a lot of incompetence.

    Cons

    - Very political. - 25 years behind in technology. - There is so much friction between departments and campuses it is almost impossible to accomplish anything that resembles innovation. - Many managers make less than the people they supervise because they are not represented by a union. - Promotions have nothing to do with job performance.

    Continue reading
    Seattle Community Colleges2011-01-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Seattle Community Colleges is flexible and community-oriented, but slow to change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Community Colleges full-time

    Pros

    Community Environment Supportive Peers Impact on Students

    Cons

    Pay and Benefits Decision Making Process Lack of Advancement Opportunities

    Seattle Community Colleges2013-01-03
Found 10 reviews