Service Express Reviews | Glassdoor

Service Express Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Service Express President Ron Alvesteffer (no image)
Ron Alvesteffer
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons for this place all is great(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The BEST place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I left a job to start my career here. I am surrounded by smart and talented people who want to see me succeed here. There is a lot of talk around here about making sure people “find the right seat on the bus” and I have found mine in my current role. I am pushed to do more, to do better, and to set larger goals but am always asked by my leader how they can help make it happen. I am encouraged to make suggestions about how I see my job evolving, and am not afraid to speak up in meetings and offer my opinion about how I can contribute to making things run more smoothly within the organization. There is definitely a lot expected of you, and working here is not for everyone. There is no better culture to be a part of in my opinion, although it sounds like each office has a culture that varies slightly. If you are willing to put in the time and effort it is very possible to be successful and happy here. Additionally, the retirement benefits are good, as well as the maternity leave policy. Service Express also pays half your gym membership, and allows employees 16 hours per year to volunteer at organizations of their choice.

    Show More

    Cons

    The health and dental benefits need some work. The costs have continued to go up, while the cash in leu has stayed the same several years. The increased cost in benefits do not grow at the same rate of pay increases.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice if there was a better way to provide feedback on leaders.

    Service Express2019-11-25
  2. "Great Place for professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time

    Pros

    Professional Development is a high priority

    Cons

    No work life balance. No compensation for being on call.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees

    Service Express2019-12-22
  3. "At Service Express, your co-workers become your family - collaborative work environment + work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, culture, training, opportunities for growth, great relationship with co-workers!

    Cons

    Only con I can think of would low PTO days & high insurance cost.

    Advice to Management

    Ask employers every 6 months to a year to review their manager to get feedback.

    Service Express2019-11-27
  4. "Excellent culture-great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Emphasis on personal development and employee engagement

    Cons

    nothing I've seen so far!

    Advice to Management

    Great focus on the individual- Keep it up!

    Service Express2019-10-31
  5. "Incredible company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture and employee oriented. Truly shows lot of care on employee development as well as customer care. Executive Leadership is all about coaching values and doing things with positive attitude.

    Cons

    Not that I have seen so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work !

    Service Express2019-10-29
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and great culture

    Cons

    does not pay for being on call

    Service Express2019-11-12
  7. "Field Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Service Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great training programs to get junior engineers ready for the field

    Cons

    Rapid growth that presents challenges to employees

    Advice to Management

    Don’t forget the vision of founders

    Service Express2019-10-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Management, no growth, pretend to care about personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Service Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of free food(that is changing). Some Departments are Great and Some are absolutely terribly run - very few in between.

    Cons

    Management is 99% men and most higher levels are brought from outside of company so they do not know much about how the company works or really care - only looking to make themselves look better for their next job. A previous co-worker is about to get promoted for not doing their job but rather because of being obsequious person.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees, learn how to actually manage people and help them grow. ELT (top tier management) -> you should offer opportunities for lower employees to speak to you or others in high positions to air concerns about their direct managers as there is a fear to do so because speaking out will get you negative consequences.

    Service Express2019-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Sales Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company, not-so awesome job. Being an SDR is tough work. It will pay off in the end. Work hard play hard.

    Cons

    The job itself can be grueling. The team members are there to help out though. You can voice your career goals within the company but they don't necessarily give you the resources to get there unless you want to enter the realm of higher-up sales.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of foggy communication within management. No clear answers to lots of things, just more of an answer that brushes you off sometimes.

    Service Express2019-07-30
  10. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Service Express full-time

    Pros

    Most of the people are very friendly

    Cons

    Local management are not trained properly

    Advice to Management

    Talk one on one to employees monthly

    Service Express2019-07-29
Found 72 reviews