Shipt Reviews | Glassdoor

Shipt Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Shipt CEO Bill Smith
Bill Smith
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "very flexible schedule; work when you want(in 39 reviews)

  • "You have control over when you work and in my city there's a strong community of other shoppers(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Just waiting for it to get more and more popular in all its metro areas so that there are more orders for all us shoppers to claim(in 99 reviews)

  • "The wear and tear is not exciting, but I knew what I was getting (a rational adult would)(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (45)

    "Shipt has just the right mix of excitement and innovation with steadiness and organization."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. The people really do feel like family 2. There is always someone willing to help. People enjoy their jobs and truly want to share their passions and help in any way they can. 3. Dog Fridays and all the food you could ask for! 4. Complete autonomy to do your job and see the impact quickly.

    Cons

    I wouldn't say it is a con, but we are growing quickly and sometimes there is a lot of energy floating around that can seem hectic if you don't enjoy an energetic environment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with everything you are already doing : 1. Valuing employees, members and shoppers! 2. Keep benefits competitive (Shipt's are amazing!) 3. Continue to put an emphasis on collaboration

    Shipt2018-12-10

    Shipt Response

    December 10, 2018Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! We know that our team is the heartbeat of the company and we are constantly trying provide impactful and significant benefits to our team members!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best of both worlds right now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Toxic leadership has been replaced with smart, courageous people who don't give in to nepotism or have a fear of hearing critical feedback. Lots of freedom, career growth and autonomy. People actually use their unlimited PTO. Typical start up perks like free food and office dogs.

    Cons

    Still a start up in many ways, lots of ambiguous situations arise, need to put more process in place. Weirdly resistant to bringing in Target ideas/policies, even when they would benefit Shipt. Salaries need to be more competitive, its not 2015 anymore. Need stronger HR, onboarding is pretty weak, I had to teach myself things like how to use the video conference system. There are still a few managers who think the recently...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course in continuing to replace immature managers with uplifting leaders and remember that your employees (both HQ and shopper) are your #1 investment opportunity

    Shipt2019-06-12

    Shipt Response

    June 24, 2019Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you feel autonomous in your position and that there is room for career growth. We are growing quickly, but we are continually striving to improve upon trainings for all employees. Thank you again for your feedback!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "I love Shipt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Birmingham, AL

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great job! But the point system can make things difficult, only if you are typically al ate person. Great support and internal hiring opportunities!

    Cons

    Point system 24 hours services Strict on arrival time and leaving time.

    Shipt2019-05-21

    Shipt Response

    June 11, 2019Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for your response! We are glad that you are enjoying your job and getting the support you need from the team. We feel strongly about internal growth opportunities and making sure people are encouraged and prepared for their next opportunity with Shipt!

  4. Helpful (4)

    "A 100% Target's company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -401k with company match -15% Target employee discount -Target is doing well and is okay for losing tens of millions dollars on us

    Cons

    -Founder CEO, CTO, CPO, CFO left -People are joining Founder CEO's new company -Unlimited PTO, but will get fired if take more than 20 days off -Only 6 company holidays -Poor work life balance -Most grocery companies will not work with us since we are a Target's company now -Salary is lower than other same size SF companies.

    Shipt2019-06-09

    Shipt Response

    June 11, 2019Senior Recruiter

    We really appreciate your feedback! Shipt’s goal is to provide impactful benefits like unlimited vacation time, Target employee discount, autonomous work environment, and a competitive 401k. We look to leverage our resources with our parent company, Target, but we are independently ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Do NOT get lured by their promises and purported great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company will put up a competitive compensation package

    Cons

    CTO and CEO left the company suddenly on the same day and they have been in shambles since, easy to tell Management will never set clear goals or deliverables and then turn the blames on individuals on team Company acts to be practicing a great culture but will not miss a single opportunity to make you feel like utter failure - even when the problem has nothing to do with you Several managers have no prior managerial...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is an absolute flaming disaster after the CEO and CTO left, they have no idea what to do and how to proceed As much of a 'people first' company they purport to be, they have zero to none measures in place to make employees feel comfortable Intense politics is always going on, management takes no interest in making sure engineers at the bottom of the hierarchy are being given no pressure

    Shipt2019-05-24

    Shipt Response

    June 12, 2019Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are glad that you felt our compensation package was competitive. Although we are growing quickly, we are committed to making sure that our team members are satisfied and challenged in their positions. We are also continually ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Tons of support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for autonomy and growth

    Cons

    growth speed makes it hard to keep track of things and somethings aren't always as efficient as they could be

    Advice to Management

    Execute Violently

    Shipt2019-03-15

    Shipt Response

    May 16, 2019Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! We are always looking for ways to continually keep our lines of communication open and efficient! Autonomy and growth are impactful pieces to our culture and we are always looking for ways to continue to offer additional benefits.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Lukewarm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Specialist in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shipt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing, a take home work computer, good work environment, food on the weekends, work discounts to do things around the city,

    Cons

    Glorified call center gig. The city is rapidly growing and the pay does not reflect causing many on the customer service team to live check to check. Most people on the customer service team are fresh out of college or a couple of years out. In the interview it feels like you are promised a fancy office job after your tenure on the team but that’s not the case. Some of the jobs or mentoships that you are advised to apply...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t sucker people in to the job and attempt to keep them around with the promise they won’t have to do it for much longer. Please be more upfront about positions that are actually open and the possibility of receiving it.

    Shipt2019-03-23

    Shipt Response

    June 11, 2019Senior Recruiter

    We really appreciate you leaving your feedback! We are glad you the benefits, discounts, and take home computer! Shipt's strives to keep communication open with our teams and offer mentorships, exposure to other teams, opportunities to learn new skills, and autonomy in our positions!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great People and Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really like working at Shipt. The environment is very supportive and positive, and the benefits are great.

    Cons

    Depending on the position, the work can get pretty exhausting and the schedule isn't very consistent.

    Shipt2019-03-04

    Shipt Response

    May 16, 2019Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you feel supported. We strive to keep our office culture autonomous and open!

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Favoritism plays a key role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get perks like a wet bar and an abundance of snacks. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Pay is low for entry level positions. Lateral moves dominate the low tier jobs. Favoritism plays a huge role in moving up. Can easily get stuck in a role you aren't meant for.

    Advice to Management

    I've been working with this company for two years. When I started everything was new and exciting, but that quickly changed for the Experience team. Management plays heavy favorites when considering who to move up. Just recently, someone who has been bullying me for the better part of a year has been promoted to being my boss. I had been to HR and management about the workplace hostility and look what it got me.

    Shipt2019-02-26

    Shipt Response

    March 25, 2019Senior Recruiter

    We really appreciate you leaving your feedback. Shipt continues to try and provide meaningful benefits and competitive pay. We also endeavor to keep our culture open and supportive through an open HR team, mentoring opportunities, and training for both our team members and managers.

  10. Helpful (19)

    "House of Cards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shipt full-time

    Pros

    - People can be laid-back - High degree of autonomy - Free snacks, dinner and yoga

    Cons

    - Shipt is intensely political, there are some business and people decisions solely made to please other stakeholders in a different office - The dual office culture promotes a deeply ingrained tribalism that is competitive and toxic. People constantly talk about the other offices as being terrible - Leadership is not as transparent as they used to be and can at times be incredibly passive and sometimes passive aggressive....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Attend to company morale, be more transparent, take ownership over the culture, own up to your mistakes and take responsibility. Make an example of what it means to conduct yourself as a leader

    Shipt2018-12-03

    Shipt Response

    December 10, 2018Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! At Shipt we believe our team is they key to success and we are constantly striving to connect our bi-coastal offices. Shipt believes in a diverse and respectful environment that fosters cross collaboration and leadership at all ...

    Show More
Found 42 reviews