KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Shopmonkey

Engaged Employer

Shopmonkey

Add a Review

Shopmonkey Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 of over 39 reviews

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Shopmonkey CEO and Founder Ashot Iskandarian (no image)
Ashot Iskandarian
33 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

441

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    Jul 14, 2022 - Customer Success Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like most reviews, our CULTURE here is everything! We are a small but mighty crew, a tight-knit and genuine group! Everyone here is passionate about what they do and strives to make Shopmonkey Thrive! I've been here a little less than a year, and my experience has been refreshing and a blessing. It's the first time I've worked for a company that cares about your well-being, mental health, and overall happiness. With Shopmonkey mostly being a remote company, they focus on ensuring teams meet regularly to build those bonds with one another. Sure it's not always sunshine and rainbows, and things aren't always perfect; not everyone will be a right fit or understand the vibe. But, I'm thankful to work here, and I love my role at Shopmonkey!

    Cons

    So far, the only con is with being a remote company; you sometimes miss out on interactions, face-to-face talks, office events, and getting to know others.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The best company I've ever worked at!

    Jul 14, 2022 - Senior Product Trainer in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Just a great company all around. The Executive Leadership Team is focused on leading the company. They have open communication and share the direction for their department and the company. Each of the employees is dedicated to their jobs and their teams. The compensation is great. The perks are great. The flexible time off and work-from-home options are great. The best part is that it feels like everyone is on the same team and is helping each other out.

    Cons

    I can't really see any Cons. But a warning that they have a strong company culture and values. If somehow you make it through the interviews and aren't a culture fit you will feel uncomfortable. They are constantly stressing the values of being Humble, Hungry, and Smart. Each teammate and manager are on the lookout for those values and calling them out, so if that makes you uncomfortable then it might not be a good fit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Fast Moving Startup + Great Place to Work

    Jul 14, 2022 - Implementation 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've thoroughly enjoyed my time at Shopmonkey over the last couple years. The company has grown a lot over that time and has weathered a fair amount of growing pains as a hyper growth startup. Unfortunately, some of those are reflected in negative reviews here on Glassdoor. Leadership has worked hard to be transparent with the direction and goals of the company. In a remote environment, meetups and get togethers are strongly encouraged and paid for, which is a great bonus.

    Cons

    Not as much of a con, as standard faire for the startup environment: change comes quick and change comes often.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    You should apply!!

    May 18, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Business Partner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As most people can attest when we are told by a company “I want to be transparent.” is never actually transparent, they will never truly do that and will operate in the frat. . Shopmonkey will, because the brand and what they stand for is honest!!

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great perks/Toxic Leadership

    Jun 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    —Great perks (money to set up office, lots of paid lunches, lavish offsites, great benefits) —Good pay —Nice people who genuinely care

    Cons

    —Everyone is afraid of the CEO and no one stands up to him when he has insane ideas that will hurt business —Shopmonkey is a Christian company and you will feel pressured/left out if you don’t play along —Constant waves of layoffs in the last year even though they spend money on lavish offsites for the rest of the company —Diversity is lacking —Few to no females in leadership and was told it’s “not a priority” to make sure women are in leadership positions —Good work/life balance but taking time off feels discouraged

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent place to work

    Jul 14, 2022 - Data Migration Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A culture of support. Every team member will go out of their way to help in any way possible. Lots of very driven and compassionate people with a solid vision.

    Cons

    I really don't have any!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Job Ever

    Jul 14, 2022 - Data Migration Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home. Flexible hours and a crack leadership team.

    Cons

    No on-site tech support, though the remote support is incredible.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Rough edges

    Jul 8, 2022 - Sales Operations Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Intelligent, genuine, and passionate coworkers

    Cons

    Roundabout messaging to the company resulting in less than transparent handoff of company information (company health)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Shopmonkey

    May 4, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture THE PEOPLE The support so much more, an incredible place to work, truly!

    Cons

    truly nothing bad to say

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Culture Is Where It's At

    Apr 27, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Santa Maria, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - AMAZING recruiting process. I've never felt more prepared for every single interview in the process. My recruiter was completely transparent & kept me in the loop every step of the way, ensuring I knew who I was talking to in the next round & what to expect. - Culture is EVERYTHING. They definitely talk the talk AND walk the walk. When they say Family comes first, they absolutely mean it. With 2 kids under the age at 5 at home, they are so understanding when it comes to me being able to manage my household & still contribute to my team. - They listen to their customer. I've worked for a few tech companies & I've never been part of a company that takes their customer's feelings into consideration as much as Shopmonkey. It's very refreshing & makes my job a lot easier. - Open communication! The company is very transparent with changes made to the team or organization. They don't keep us in the dark & really want to make sure we are all in the know. - Amazing benefits. Pay is also great. I worked at another tech company in a higher position for 7 years & my starting pay here was about 20 cents less than what I was making at my last company after all of those years.

    Cons

    - The remote life can be really hard, since we're not all together, but I can tell the company is actively looking for ways to fix that - Career pathing is not quite there, but you can tell as we grow more options are becoming available

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

Shopmonkey Reviews FAQs

Shopmonkey has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 39 reviews left anonymously by employees. 91% of employees would recommend working at Shopmonkey to a friend and 83% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Shopmonkey employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Shopmonkey. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

91% of Shopmonkey employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Shopmonkey 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Shopmonkey to be benefits, senior leadership, culture and the cons to be compensation, career development.

Popular Careers with Shopmonkey Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Shopmonkey? Share Your Experiences

or

Shopmonkey Photos

+ Add Photo
Shopmonkey photo of: Brainstorming
Shopmonkey photo of: Office life
Shopmonkey photo of: Team work
Shopmonkey photo of: Humble, Hungry, and Smart
Shopmonkey photo of: Hungry, Humble and Smart!
Shopmonkey photo of: Team work!
Shopmonkey photo of: Team bonding
See All Photos