KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Spectrum

Engaged Employer

Spectrum

Add a Review

Spectrum Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7,743 of over 8K reviews

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Spectrum CEO Thomas Rutledge
Thomas Rutledge
2,467 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and retirement plans(in 695 reviews)

  • "free cable service for full time employees(in 679 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Finally out of the shadows of the merger (Time Warner Cable Media & Charter Media)(in 376 reviews)

  • "Very corporate feel, upper management unaware of lower level issues(in 216 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Spectrum and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great environment

      Jun 21, 2021 - Account Executive in McAllen, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom to sell anywhere and anytime

      Cons

      Covid has caused many shutdowns for business and products.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Company

      Sep 17, 2019 - Human Resources Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation, work life balance hours, benefits, fun environment that offers lots of learning and growth potential

      Cons

      Strict on dress code and professional appearance

      245 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I Expected Something Quite Different

      Jun 19, 2021 - Sales and Retention Specialist in Lake Mary, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I started at Spectrum, I truly expected something very different. I expected angry customers, unhappy employees, and management that didn't care. Why? Well, these days, that's the typical contact center in the US. From the first day at Spectrum, I've been treated respectfully by every person I've met. The training is incredible and actually quite fun. Extremely diverse group of people that mesh with a synergy that is hard to explain in a paragraph. The money you can earn as a retention specialist is extremely good. The hourly pay and standard commission is just the tip of the iceberg. If you come to work and do your job, there is truly nothing stopping you from earning an incredible salary. While I can't speak for any other locations, Lake Mary is an absolute delight to work at.

      Cons

      While this sounds almost incredible, I haven't been able to find any. In this location, you don't find people complaining about their jobs or walking around with negative attitudes. Most people seem very content and happy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Numbers are valued, not people

      May 30, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay Benefits Some great people Clean location Big kitchen

      Cons

      Not hitting numbers? You will only go on a call every single day to explain why you are not to upper management until you do. Even if hitting your numbers you are still expected to do better. Micromanaging. You get an email about a project, then a meeting request for said project, then reminded everyday the project is due. No winning. If you are excelling at something there is also something you are not doing well and trust me, you will know about it Forget highways are closed and a giant blizzard snows your car in at the store. You are expected to stay open "for the customers" who have the awareness to not travel in dangerous conditions. But prepared to get yelled at for your numbers being low during those conditions Customer service will lie to customers, rates will change or channels will delete without the customer knowing. Guess who has to deal with that? Retail store. Oh but you can turn that extremely angry customer into a sales opportunity. Forget you almost have to call the cops on them for their yelling, continuous verbal abuse and vulgarity. Unobtainable sales goals. People need to go against policy to hit goals. Oh and if the retail stores need goals to hit, why do you let customers sign up online and make them come to the store anyway. Some agents get stuck for almost an hour setting up mobile phones activated online and they get zero credit. But you must hit those goals right?

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Big disappointment

      Jun 14, 2021 - Field Technician in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health, vision, and dental benefits, 401K retirement, a month worth of classroom training with highly experienced trainers, set schedule, work boots, work clothes, tools and company vehicle were supplied by company.

      Cons

      One month of classroom training, and two weeks of highly unorganized field training with mentors who really don't want to be mentors is nowhere near enough training for people who have never done work like this (like myself) before. I told my managers from the beginning that I had no experience in this field, they invested a bunch of money in me (and other new hires), and at the end of the two week mentor training, basically said "We don't feel safe with you working out in the field by yourself, so you have until the end of the day to show improvement, or we have to find out what to do with you." Essentially, that translated to "We can fire you, or you can quit." Starting pay for this job (in Southern California) is just north of $18/hr. For how much work most jobs required, and how much danger is involved in this job, starting pay should be no lower than $25/hr.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spectrum Response

      We appreciate your feedback about the training process. Products and services are frequently updated, and we work hard to provide up-to-date training just as frequently to align with changing requirements and technology. We will share your comments with our leadership team.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bright house was so much better!

      Jun 3, 2021 - Inbound Sales Representative in Riverview, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sometimes you can work remote, good products but not the best, some bonuses/incentives. The only thing that pays well now is Mobile sales because they’re new to that market, I’m sure they’ll be cutting the commissions on that very soon as well.

      Cons

      Where do I even begin... constantly cutting pay since they merged to Spectrum and changed commission structure so that upper management keeps more of the money generated from your hard earned sales. Micromanaged to the t. Stressful job with low pay makes you wonder if it’s even worth it. High turnover. Not a career.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not for everybody

      Jun 17, 2021 - Technical Support Representative I (Community Solutions in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Firstly, this type of work should only be pursued if you can see yourself here making it work or you’re passionate about helping people! Great benefits, paid training, room for growth in customer service if you meet metrics, education assistance.

      Cons

      Micromanaging, long hours, not very accommodating (if you need access to a room for prayer or breastfeeding they take forever to get back to you), no work from home usually. No promise to pay. Strict attendance (even in cases out of your control) policy that directly affects your continued employment with the company and damages your chances of promotions. Poor work like balance. They do not support students. Hard to change schedules (have to bid on them, not guaranteed, only every 3 months). HR is very detached and needs constant reminders of tasks given to them. Strict quotas and metrics otherwise your job gets harder and more stressful because you’re being managed more by your manager. Not a technical role at all mostly customer service! You’re in the phone all day and only weekly coachings or meetings get you off the phones.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      not ideal but to be expected for a corporate gig.

      Jun 16, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      got a lot of overtime due to covid, acceptable pay, pretty easy once you know what your doing, advancement somewhat obtainable. and it fits the corporate culture bill like a glove so no surprises. you get shift differential pay, they have stats on everything so you know your standing. great place to learn customer service.

      Cons

      its corporate: so its got that whole "we love and take care of our employees as if they were our own family" energy but in reality they just want your stats to be great NO ACCEPTIONS while still somehow wanting you to be passionate about calmly telling a 89 year old that they need to turn their cable box on. so if your into that sorta thing then I guess its not really a con. you take a lot of abuse and general crappiness from customers, and EVEN MORE so when your a women or if you have an accent and the company loves you ignore that fact when reviewing your stats. There is some steps taken to push back against abusive customers, but it only applies to the obscene tyrants that call in.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spectrum Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback on your past experience as a customer-facing representative. We understand it can be a difficult supporting customers who are experiencing problems with their services, and we appreciate the professionalism you displayed during your time with us. But your experiences is also important, and we will share your comments with our leadership team, who continue to develop strategies to support day-to-day operations.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Find Other Employment

      Jun 21, 2021 - Customer Service & Billing Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      high starting pay, will be a starting hourly wage of $20/hourly in 2022

      Cons

      Very stressful and emotionally draining work environment. The company does not offer resources or care about employee mental health. There is a reason why the job turnover here is so incredibly high; find a place you are passionate about working instead. This job will drain you emotionally if you stay there long term. It's a large traditional company that pays well, but it takes the soul out of you for the pay. You will be expected to robotically communicate rate increases to financially strained customers. The company does nothing to support employees to the high level of verbal abuse you will take from customers daily. Instead of offering resources to employees to support them, it's cheaper for the company to deal with the turnover and just hire more people who will leave the company in 6 months to a year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing workplace

      Jun 21, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive compensation. A lot of opportunities. Prejudice free workplace, equal opportunity to POC. Managers see if you are working hard and if you work hard, it will positively affect you in your career inside Charter.

      Cons

      Some unhappy coworkers spread their negativity across the team, making work not a happy place sometimes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 7,743 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Spectrum Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Spectrum? Share Your Experiences

    or