Sperry Reviews | Glassdoor

Sperry Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Sperry CEO Rick Blackshaw (no image)
Rick Blackshaw
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Loads of free shoes with seasonal products(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very relaxed work environment I worked near my college and they did their best to work with schedules at all times(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management has no idea how the stores should be ran since they are partnered with so many other brands(in 6 reviews)

  • "Treat your sales associates and key holders with respect(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sperry part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company. Treats employees well with large discounts. Values customer service over everything.

    Cons

    As a sales associate working the floor you are required to be on your feet for the full duration of your shift (very minor con), however, this is to ensure employees are actively seeking customers to offer assistance.

    Sperry2018-03-07
  2. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Sperry part-time

    Pros

    Fun and easy job

    Cons

    Poor management no hours for associates

    Sperry2019-07-15
  3. "Good Company, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sperry part-time

    Pros

    Discounts, Team Work Encouraged, Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    Management, Hours, Lack of Engagement from Management

    Sperry2019-06-18
  4. "Horrible Place to work and horrible holding company management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sperry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, nothing at all. Do not waste your time working here.

    Cons

    Treat your sales associates and key holders with respect Stores should be mandated to provide employees with local industry standard and competitive compensation plans Find ways to better retain store management Fire your entire regional management staff

    Sperry2019-07-02
  5. "Just meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Grand Prairie, TX

    I worked at Sperry part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on shoes and cheap shoes!

    Cons

    No raise and stock room very small.

    Sperry2018-09-21
  6. "Terrible terrible company to work for. TURN AROUND."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sperry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Easy hours. Plenty of PTO

    Cons

    Inconsistent. Terrible expectations. Bad mouth people to other store managers. Corporate will consistently blame you for bad numbers when the whole company is failing.

    Sperry2018-09-19
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sperry part-time

    Pros

    Commission Based Flexible Schedule Good Atmosphere

    Cons

    At this time I have no cons.

    Sperry2017-09-25
  8. "Great Company with plenty of room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Natick, MA

    I have been working at Sperry part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Discount Free shoes (seasonal) Great Management Competitive sales environment Room for Growth Flexible hours and great pay Great Coworkers

    Cons

    Corporate communication is a little rough The allocations team never sends shoes we need for replenishment There simply is not enough space for all of the shoes we receive

    Sperry2017-08-23
  9. "A mess of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sperry full-time

    Pros

    Classic established brand of shoes, not clothing. Decent benefits. Many locations.

    Cons

    The company has lost it's way and is trying to come back around by introducing clothing and swimwear to their collection. They are shoe experts and shoe stick with what they know. The clothing is not of Sperry quality that current customers are accustomed to. The Wolverine company had a shake-down and re-organization that led to many managers being shifted between brands and outlet vs retail divisions. Everyone is... in the dark to what is happening or going to happen at any given time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Jump ship before it sinks.

    Sperry2017-05-15
  10. "This was a good company to work for until Wolverine took over."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sperry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working along with many other talented, enthusiastic managers. Great brand heritage with Paul Sperry.

    Cons

    Communication from corporate was not very clear at times along with constantly changing direction and operations policies. There was also a very high turn over in the corporate office which made the company seem unsettled.

    Advice to Management

    Show more appreciation to your employees. This is a physically demanding job requiring climbing up and down ladders, stocking shelves and constantly getting down on your knees to assist customers. Keep this in mind along with the high customer service expectations and how much they are getting paid for the services they provide.

    Sperry2017-04-20
Found 59 reviews