Steel Dynamics Reviews | Glassdoor

Steel Dynamics Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Steel Dynamics CEO Mark Millet
Mark Millet
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay and benefits, upper management strong, value employees(in 5 reviews)

  • "good pay and benefits, challenging, rewarding work(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "12hr shifts with 4 nights 4 off 4 days 4 off swing(in 3 reviews)

  • "Everything not money related is terrible- schedule sucks, 4 on 4 off swing shift will destroy your life(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Environmental Engineer in Butler, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steel Dynamics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lean and innovative, not bogged done with needless procedures

    Cons

    None, the company provides a lot of autonomy

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Steel Dynamics2018-11-01
  2. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crane Operator in Butler, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Steel Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are second to none.

    Cons

    The work/Life balance is difficult due to the schedule.

    Steel Dynamics2019-04-04
  3. "Big money, no life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Tech in Columbia City, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steel Dynamics full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Make money like a god, inexpensive insurance, 401k match, company stocks given every year, pretty much everything money wise is great

    Cons

    Everything not money related is terrible- schedule sucks, 4 on 4 off swing shift will destroy your life.. turns into 6 on 2 off.. all 12 hr shifts. Make tons of money, yet you will hate life.

    Steel Dynamics2019-01-07
  4. "Worst job i have had in my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steel Dynamics

    Pros

    the pays good but not worth it.

    Cons

    they will lie to you to get you to take the job.

    Steel Dynamics2019-01-21
  5. "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Steel Dynamics full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay Good place to work for just before retirement

    Cons

    Favoritism no growth opoortunities no training

    Steel Dynamics2018-12-04
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Employee in Butler, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Steel Dynamics full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits, upper management strong, value employees.

    Cons

    Work schedule and office politics

    Advice to Management

    Promote dedicated employees over young and inexperienced interns.

    Steel Dynamics2018-11-06
  7. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Steel Dynamics

      Pros

      Fast paced with lots of opportunities.

      Cons

      Sometimes can be a dirty environment.

      Steel Dynamics2018-10-04
    • "Haul Truck Driver"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Steel Dynamics full-time

      Pros

      -many opportunities to rise up in the chain, promotions -random bonuses and raises -available positions always available -great community -competitive salary

      Cons

      -monotonous/tedious at times -long work hours and days (very lean company so you will work a lot of overtime)

      Steel Dynamics2018-07-11
    • "Valuing people, community and stakeholders"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Finance in Fort Wayne, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Steel Dynamics full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      The fact that safety is the number one priority from leadership throughout the ranks is evident. Individuals not only have a voice, but they are empowered to act.

      Cons

      There is solid collaboration among the divisions, but there could always be more dialogue to create even further value within the company.

      Advice to Management

      Keep listening and executing!

      Steel Dynamics2018-07-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Management vs employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - LMF Second HELPER in Fort Wayne, IN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Steel Dynamics full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Pay, bonuses, profit sharing good people to work with.

      Cons

      Management to disconnected from its employees. Management will do what they want instead of listening to its employees who deal with the problems everyday. 12hr shifts with 4 nights 4 off 4 days 4 off swing. Hot, fast pace environment, no break.

      Advice to Management

      To listen to its employees who run the steel everyday, and to give more hazard pay. We risk our lives everyday to produce high quality steel expect to perform at our best with no breaks, and work long hours with little sleep with a 6 or 7 days in a row and swing back to nights or days with 1 or 2 days off. Our plant is making 50 million in profit a month and its employees dont see much of the reward.

      Steel Dynamics2018-05-02
    Found 49 reviews