TESSCO Reviews | Glassdoor

TESSCO Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 132 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Murray Wright
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is continually made aware of these occurrences and make plans for future improvements(in 7 reviews)

  • "Micro management, compensation and not a modern technology company(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunity and growth industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at TESSCO full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I loved my time at Tessco. I had a great management chain that believed in my abilities and gave me opportunities to grow. I was encouraged and supported to make decisions and gained a ton of experience which has helped my career. This is culture where hard work is rewarded and recognized. Excellent benefits!

      Cons

      Some of the systems and software are a little outdated, but nothing that keeps you from getting the job done.

      TESSCO2019-04-04
    • "Decent Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Specialist 

      I have been working at TESSCO full-time

      Pros

      Great work environment, the people are great

      Cons

      Will overwork you, they do not know how to manage their accounts. If you're good at something they will keep asking you to do more and saying no looks bad but it gets to the point where you will have 100 or so emails just in an hour

      TESSCO2019-07-04
    • "Avoid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Acct Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at TESSCO full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very few. Company is failing and in chaos

      Cons

      Going too many directions at once. Favoritism is rampant

      Advice to Management

      Figure it out

      TESSCO2019-06-20
    • "Tessco"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Foreman in Odessa, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at TESSCO full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Easy to move up. Qualified personnel are needed.

      Cons

      Poor field level management. I worked as a 'foreman/straw boss' for a job superintendent who refused to work with the client QC. QC considered having him removed from the project several times. I essentially coordinated all the work and ran the day to day jobs while the Superintendent stayed in the office all day. All he had to do was record time and attend conference calls.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to the field work getting done and who's making it happen

      TESSCO2019-04-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Poorly managed company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Wireless Engineer 

        I worked at TESSCO full-time

        Pros

        Co workers are very nice

        Cons

        Difficult to get a raise, very corporate culture

        TESSCO2019-05-02
      • Helpful (2)

        "Well-Run but Political"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hunt Valley, MD
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at TESSCO full-time

        Pros

        The CEO has a vision for the company. They hire well. Teammembers are experts in their assigned areas. They are ISO certified and processes are clear.

        Cons

        Politics are important. You have to play the game to advance. They are driven by the investors, which sometimes means they don't invest where they need to in order to drive more profits.

        TESSCO2019-01-28
      • Helpful (5)

        "The wheels are falling off the buss"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Account Executive in Hunt Valley, MD
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at TESSCO full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        There is nothing positive about TESSCO

        Cons

        Management is determined to run TESSCO into the ground and doing a great job

        Advice to Management

        Should have listened to your tenured employees

        TESSCO2019-03-06
      • Helpful (3)

        "not what you would expect"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Pick/Pack in Hunt Valley, MD
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at TESSCO full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        easy to get to job access to Public Transportation right across the street

        Cons

        hardly ever have work so you get sent home a lot and when there's work you work more than what you get paid for. need pay increase ASAP

        Advice to Management

        recheck the pay for the type of work employees are doing the less you do the more you get paid and that is backwards

        TESSCO2019-01-29
      • "Fantastic Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous 

          I worked at TESSCO for more than a year

          Pros

          Growing company, always looking to shift to be the best they can be

          Cons

          With changes come some growing pains but nothing that can’t be overcome

          TESSCO2018-11-28
        • Helpful (2)

          "Love the people"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Team Leader 
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at TESSCO full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Interesting work; supportive team environment. Great industry with lots of opportunities to get involved in different areas and to work with many different teams .

          Cons

          You have to be on your game here. They are looking for people that embrace change and don't get exhausted by it.

          TESSCO2018-11-16
        Found 132 reviews