TVG Reviews | Glassdoor

TVG Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
TVG CEO Kip Levin  (no image)
Kip Levin
6 Ratings
  1. "Since 2016, the company has transformed. So has the market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TVG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic and lets developers find solutions for operational needs. Not task driven but goal driven. You are allowed to fail as long as you keep improving processes.

    Cons

    It is still transforming after merging with FanDuel. The culture is divided based on the two products TVG has: the website and television. One feels like a startup the other is a legacy entertainment content creator (e.g. TV content). If you work on the software side, which I do, your experience will be very different from the TV side.

    Advice to Management

    At this point, stay the course. We are growing our market share in a shrinking industry. We will eventually fully merge with FanDuel to create new products in a changing landscape.

    TVG2019-06-16
  2. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Live Master Control in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TVG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management and HR department. If you are a hard worker company will invest in your growth.

    Cons

    none that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    none

    TVG2019-03-21
  3. "Not for the faint of heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Temp Inbound Customer Service in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TVG for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere, supervisors are nice for the most part, very kind employees who are helpful, break room snacks.

    Cons

    Gambling customers are ruthless and savagely mean, working weekends, training is disorganized & not very thorough.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe a week or two more training before going out to floor.

    TVG2019-03-30
  4. "Fine until layoffs/reorganizations/pay cuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TVG full-time

    Pros

    Most upper management is supportive of individual employees and trust their work. Benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Following layoffs, reorganizations, and pay cuts early in 2017, the work environment became toxic enough that I left.

    TVG2018-09-12
  5. "Master Control Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TVG

    Pros

    None while I was there.

    Cons

    Micro managed, and the workload was doubled after acquiring another horse racing network. There is a lot of unnecessary stress at TVG, just an awful place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Hire a new MCO manager!

    TVG2018-06-12
  6. "Playback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at TVG

    Pros

    The people are great and they usually bring food for everybody on big racing days.

    Cons

    Horseracing is the only thing TVG airs

    TVG2018-02-15
  7. "Highly recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TVG full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, fun environment. Smart driven people.

    Cons

    Business will eventually scale and grow 10x or more, but dependent on betting regulation.

    TVG2017-08-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "poor sr leadership; layoffs every year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - California 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TVG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    dynamic and great people at the ground level; love the work and horseracing and the online business; salaries are decent but lower level employees seem ignored a lot for competitive pay.

    Cons

    horrible senior mgmt and leadership; cronyism; if there is an issue dont expect sr leadership to support mgmt to resolve amicably; layoffs every year since Ive been with the company; certain producers and directors bust their butt and get no recognition (bonus, increased pay or similar); perfect environment for union action. CEO refuses to trust his mgmt to know their area or expertise and does not support continued... development of knowl; allows consultants to run the co and run amuck creating hostile environments this would be who the CEO trusts instead. DUMB!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    have a mission; live by a mission & change the culture to one of positive recognition of those who work hard, know their expertise, and not just those who tell you what you want to hear or just do as you say; appreciate and act on feedback of the actual workers for a more just culture. Stop laying off for a change to save money and actually produce a good product matched with a good brand.

    TVG2017-04-06
  9. "Dysfunctional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TVG for less than a year

    Pros

    The gambling aspect is interesting to work for.

    Cons

    It's a very dysfunctional company because the higher managers don't communicate very good with the workers.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the problems before they get worse.

    TVG2016-09-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad work life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at TVG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people exist here.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, lots of office politics, poor management, CEO doesn't know what's going on in departments.

    Advice to Management

    CEO needs to know what's happening under the car's hood, not just see the outside of the car.

    TVG2016-09-01
Found 21 reviews
</>Embed