Tanner Reviews | Glassdoor

Tanner Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tanner CEO Jeff Bickel
Jeff Bickel
27 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tanner has built an incredible culture Extremely fair with compensation packages Unlimited time off each year Extremely generous 401 K contributions Generous HSA contributions each year Annual health insurance premium increases have been absorbed by the firm for the past few years Great family oriented work environment They create opportunities for work/life balance (Disneyland, summer party, Christmas... party) Fun work environment Manager, Directors, and Partners are great friends and mentors I have made a lot of friends at work and we even get together outside normal business hours I have encouraged a number of my colleagues to apply and work at Tanner I don't feel like I am ever micro-managed, but I am coached every time I make a mistake Everyone is working to reach firm-wide goals, and they are not just annual public upper-management statements

    Show More

    Cons

    I work a lot of hours, which it to be expected in my industry

    Advice to Management

    Maintain Jeff Bickel as the managing partner. He is awesome to work for.

    Tanner2019-01-21
  2. "Next Gen Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Partner in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurship permeates this organization! From the clients to the employees to the management team, everyone is working together to create value. There is a culture of learn, grow, respond quickly to mistakes, pivot, try out new ideas and become a better person while you are here.

    Cons

    The firm is growing and creating opportunities for professionals. However, if you are someone that needs to be told to do something or wants someone to lead the way first before asking you to do something, you may find yourself waiting. The firm lends itself to those who aren't afraid to try something new or those who aren't shy of speaking up and taking on new challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create opportunities while keeping the local, non-corporate culture. Don't be afraid to push bigger responsibilities down to younger, less experienced members of the firm.

    Tanner2019-06-13
  3. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great professional setting, knowledgeable partners, wide range of clients in many industries

    Cons

    Inadequate due diligence on implementing multiple new operating programs led to enormous amounts of wasted time, low wage increases (even for top performers)

    Tanner2019-06-18
  4. "Tanner LLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Audit Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance during non-busy season months Great partners, managers, seniors, and staff work for the firm Regular coaching sessions and training's specific to your level Matching contribution and safe harbor for 401(k)

    Cons

    It's public accounting and can be draining during busy season Health insurance isn't the greatest for a family

    Tanner2019-05-11
  5. "Great Environment and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Auditor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn and grow. Constant ability to gain new work and personal experiences. Great people to work for who understand the importance of balancing work achievements and life responsibilities. The firm is growing strongly, providing opportunities for career advancement.

    Cons

    Health insurance is fairly expensive for a family on a new staff salary. The office is not large enough to accommodate the growing number of staff members. Although this is really only an issue outside of busy season, as most auditors are not working from the office much during that time.

    Advice to Management

    More could be done to optimize the amount of local travel done by staff. Often staff are assigned to jobs over an hour away from home when there are jobs being done within ten minutes of where they live. This would allow staff to be much more efficient with their time, and not wear them down as much during busy season. Ultimately, this could be a big item to help drive down employee turnover.

    Tanner2019-05-11
  6. "Great public accounting firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The firm balances rigorous busy-season demands with flexible off-seasons and great family activities. There are opportunities for growth and mentoring at all levels.

    Cons

    The compensation does not always seem to make up for the hours required during busy season.

    Tanner2019-05-01
  7. "Great firm!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tanner is a great firm that has one of the best cultures I've encountered. The work can be stressful and certainly isn't for everyone but in the professional services sector it's difficult to find a firm that will support your career and give you opportunity to grow as well as Tanner does. Beyond that, the benefits package is good (HSA and 401k contributions, reasonable premiums) and there's an open PTO policy.

    Cons

    There's some long hours involved in this work but that's to be expected.

    Tanner2019-04-16
  8. "Good Management Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tanner does an excellent job with the hiring process. Wonderful people to work with.

    Cons

    It is a public accounting firm.

    Tanner2019-03-07
  9. "Excellent Firm | Top Quality | Great Values | Wonderful Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • The firm cares about each employee and focuses on building them up for their future careers. • Great 401k offer in comparison to other firms. • Ability to work from home when needed. • Outstanding work/life balance. The firm will hold family centered events (i.e. Disneyland trip, renting out a theater to watch a movie, outdoor food truck social). • Open PTO allows employees to take more time off during the... slow times of the year. • Excellent management.

    Show More

    Cons

    • A good amount of overtime during the year. However, this is expected in this type of industry. • While open PTO is a benefit it is difficult to know just how much time you can and should take off. • Parking is not free while at the firm.

    Advice to Management

    • Create more opportunities for partners to get to know the staff.

    Tanner2019-02-21
  10. "Best CPA firm to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Tanner has a great mindset to serve clients and employees. -Phenomenal culture of growth, family, and success. -Open PTO policy. -Great work/life balance (family parties, movie events, Disneyland, and more). -I tell all of my friends and people I know that I would never leave Tanner to go to another public accounting firm.

    Cons

    Standard industry woes - seasonal busy season. Parking is not paid for.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on the needs of employees and clients. Continue to be understanding of people's situations and seeking to better the lives of everyone you interact with.

    Tanner2019-02-19
Found 30 reviews