Tawkify Reviews | Glassdoor

Tawkify Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Tawkify CEO Kenneth Shaw (no image)
Kenneth Shaw
19 Ratings
  1. "Great Team Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work very closely with the CEO and in an agile environment.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Tawkify2019-01-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing flexibility, needs improvement on internal company mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tawkify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing flexibility -Awesome co-workers who care about you as people (for the most part!) -Startup environment which means change happens quickly when it does happen

    Cons

    -Not much transparency on how to move ahead or up in the company

    Tawkify2019-05-07
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Not reliable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Matchmaker in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tawkify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, fun time getting to know clients, the matchmakers with passion make the company workable. The dating industry is fun.

    Cons

    Late payments, less than half of the company is motivated, and no one cares about you regardless of how much they say they do. Don’t work here to make a living unless you want to work 24-7 and you’re into being drained by angry impossible clients... at that, you’re maybe making around 50k. The pay is not worth it. Note: matchmakers, you can make more elsewhere and have benefits....

    Continue reading
    Tawkify2019-04-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Matchmaker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working from home and managing my own time. Additionally, it's a really fun and unique line of work. Tawkify is really dedicated to helping people find love and constantly teaching matchmakers how to overcome obstacles. The team is wonderful.

    Cons

    The pay could be better.

    Tawkify2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great, but culture is going downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Sales in Santa Rosa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work from home - Partial benefits - If you can sell - there is opportunity to make good money

    Cons

    Management is a mess. There is zero consistency in procedure or policy. The manager will tell you one thing this week then 2 weeks later it's not that way anymore it's now this way. Then a week later, it's back to way number 1 again. Communication is also very poor. I send emails and it might be 4 days before I get a response. Sometimes, you never get an answer. So don't expect support as you try and do your day to day, because it's not there. They say 'email or Gchat with questions or issues' but it's pointless to do so (until THEY see a problem and attack you saying 'why didn't you let us know/say this/do this?' and you can go back and say here is my email - I did fix this or I did reach out about this.). If you need new equipment too, good luck getting it. You'll be most efficient just ordering your own chargers/mouse etc. They just forget about you. They are so focused on 'this new script' every couple of weeks, that regular day to day admin, issues and focus is forgotten about. The script and if we say 'this word' instead of 'that word' is NOT THE PROBLEM HERE. They are putting too much time and effort into trying to correct a word here and there in scripts. Someone will have a great few weeks and all of a sudden they are the King and we all need to try their version of the script. Then a month later - it changes again. They choose when to ignore and micromanage people and it's frustrating and inconsistent. Everyone does things different (management & MS) and as a result and policy/procedure is never solid no matter how many 'Is this clear?' emails you send, because you'll just change your mind based on the topic later anyway, which brings me to my next point.. Management love to argue their agenda and there is no point in bringing up a concern, something that isn't fair for the team or something that doesn't make sense, because they will suddenly have all of these statistics about how great this REALLY works and that you're wrong because it actually DOES work and you need to not be negative about it - when these VALID points from the team are often things we are ALL confused about and thinking, but not saying. I don't believe most of the things our bosses say because they are 'salespeople' in and out. They make up stuff to back up what they are pushing (this new script, this new funnel, this new technical program) when it very often makes no sense when working alongside other procedures or policies. They never give us a straight answer about things anymore either. They beat around the bush and it used to be a transparent, fun, honest culture across the board. That culture is dead and gone and it has been for a long time. There is also no room to grow in this job and the people who work in the offices or are related to management are the favorites/treated better. When we get bad reviews, they love to blame MS because of what we say on the calls. Some of this is true, absolutely. But the majority of bad reviews come from people unhappy with matchmakers and the experience they have AFTER they talk to us. They said we are 'over-promising' and they also recently told us that 'we shouldn't even call ourselves a full-service matchmaker because much of what we say we don't even do' We don't make this stuff up, we learn what to say over the many, many scripts you give us and the 'training' and the bull that management makes up on the spot. The issue is our lazy matchmakers. Focus on finding people that really CARE about what they do and want to COMMIT to the job instead of paying peanuts and hiring people to do it casually. This will help CS, MS and the brand! This is a problem! The pay is low and they will take refunds from your paycheck without even telling you there was a refund. They have not been spending money on leads at all and trying to fill calendars with people that are not qualified just hoping the agents will convert them and it's a waste of time. If you're not having a great few weeks in sales they will cut your calendar in half and then leave it partially empty and put people in who are never in a million years going to spend $2000 + on matchmaking. You have 30 minutes to make someone who usually has never thought about the product pay you, on the spot $6000. (This works for the model we have, but there has to be a better way to do this) They also used to have monthly incentives for agents too (gift cards and it was always a random topic so you never knew if you might get something maybe number of calls made out that month or a prize for highest close rate etc) but that silently disappeared as they stopped spending. I have been here for a long time, but I am not going to last much longer. The recent changes are frustrating, confusing and inconsistent and people are going to drop like flies. Honestly, I don't see Tawkify succeeding on it's current path.

    Continue reading
    Tawkify2019-04-03
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A Matchmaker's Take..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Matchmaker in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work remote - Make your own schedule - Interesting clients - Opportunity to grow your networks - A wealth of professional development and opportunity to grow your knowledge base - Excellent support from operations/management - Very collegial team of MMs - Freedom to use your own working style - Operations improvements, which aim to make better matches between client/MM - Excellent as a part-time job I've been a matchmaker with Tawkify for over a year, and I will agree with other reviews that you do have to very much be a self-starter in order to enjoy and be successful in this job. I did feel well-prepared in terms of expectations, as a common thread in my interview was handling time management, client expectations, and "how will this fit into your life" questions. I was also happy to find out that the longer you've done the gig, the more you're familiar with folks in the Tawkify rolodex, which allows you to tap into men/women who you've set up before with different clients. As long as you do that part in good faith, you really develop a nice connection with our network. Lastly, there's a great MM model thrown out there in terms of how to structure difference parts of your job, but ultimately there's plenty of freedom to develop your own process and embrace your authentic self through the work. Once I land on something that cues into that part for me, I feel much more capable and efficient.

    Cons

    - Not all MMs subscribe by the same courtesy to help each other's workflow - Some clients are just not right for this process; and it is often up to the MM to suss that out While the MM team is truly superb and helpful, there are a few who aren't on task, good with deadlines, or seemingly go completely dark when there's a pending request or question. Many of the men/women I've spoken to for my clients have repeatedly criticized previous MMs lack of accountability and following through with scheduled calls. I feel like this turns people off to an otherwise fantastic business model; they start to feel like it's a scam or just some kind of robo-call situation. It makes it that much harder for other MMs to try to convince them to be open to the process.

    Continue reading
    Tawkify2019-01-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Best work from home sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, really nice co-workers, more interesting to talk to people about their dating lives than other boring sales jobs. Generous bonus structure.

    Cons

    Working from home is usually really a nice perk, but sometimes feels a little lonesome. Having an outside "fun" job to get out and interact with others a bit more is a good strategy. Low base pay.

    Tawkify2018-06-18
  8. "Not for Everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales, Member Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work from home & Setting your own schedule - Laptop provided - Great access to ALL management including CEO (who will literally coach you if necessary in how to improve your sales) - Immediate manager is a BLESSING: accessible, efficient, poised to help as needed for personal, in-depth analysis and check-ins or will let you do your thing, depending on your individual needs - Great technological tools - Provides and schedules YOUR lead appointments. Even categorizes leads for you so it's easier to see how to approach them. - Literally everyone is supportive of each other - You get a base salary, it's not a lot but it's enough

    Cons

    - It's not for everyone because working from home = flexibility but also personal accountability - Although we get excited about each other's sales, we're not in an office together where you ring bells and announce it to the world.. (I like this because if I'm not doing great I would get more frustrated that others are doing better than me!) So if you like a 90's style sales job with micro-managing and "bull pen" style of an office then this wouldn't be for you.

    Continue reading
    Tawkify2018-06-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing job with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify part-time

    Pros

    I love my job! Great schedule and amazing employees. Ability to work from home. Management as well as colleagues are always helpful and willing to assist. Even the CEO is hands on with all of us. Very professional and it's great to see the success with the matches!

    Cons

    Base salary is low but the earning potential is there given the commissions/bonus structure.

    Continue reading
    Tawkify2018-03-09
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Given me flexibility I only ever dreamed of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Representative in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tawkify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love that I don't have to go into an office everyday. Working from home has given me the flexibility to travel and work at the same time. Hours can be changed around slightly to suit your life. I also have full benefits as a full time employee, so this eliminates my issue with the low base pay. The team is generally very supportive & helpful and there is little to no competition between agents - we have team goals which I love! I don't see or feel any favoritism and everyone is treated equally. Management hears and helps you when you reach out or need some guidance. There is transparency and nothing is hidden or swept under the rug. Bonuses are possible and goals are attainable! I am trusted to do what I need to do, not scolded if I have a bad month or two and not micro managed, which in my past experience has made jobs harder and therefore, I don't do as well, stressing and panicking - this job doesn't give me these feelings. It's relatively low pressure. I love that I am able to chat to people everyday about their love lives and see if we offer the solution to help them. Hearing the hope come back into peoples voices when they are on the way to trying something different after dealing with the hopelessness of online dating can be very rewarding!

    Cons

    Base salary is low & there is very little if no opportunity for advancement right now. However, there is lots of potential to make very good money & the commissions are very reasonable, not to mention the company is still growing so who knows what things will look like 5 years from now.

    Continue reading
    Tawkify2018-02-14
Found 24 reviews