Tembec Reviews | Glassdoor

Tembec Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Tembec CEO James Lopez
James Lopez
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tembec for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Specialty pulp with reasonably high demand

    Cons

    Situated in north easter Quebec fair distance from major centers

    Tembec2014-04-11
  2. "Tembec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shift Leader in Saint Francisville, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tembec

    Pros

    They had an on-site health club and cafeteria.

    Cons

    Did not follow up on commitments to the facility and community. Investments in processes and equipment were for the most part ill thought out. They wasted alot of money on the wrong things.

    Advice to Management

    Do not make commitments that you can't keep. Follow up on promises and treat people with respect.

    Tembec2010-08-22
  3. "Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tembec full-time

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere Best overall coworkers Above average work security Local employer with next to no travelling to work and home again

    Cons

    Soft wood industry is very unstable Local mill was purchased by RYAM, with very poor managing skills across all departments

    Advice to Management

    A most to listen to the senior employees that have an above averages level of experience and knowledge of the operation

    Tembec2019-05-07
  4. "Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Clerk in Kapuskasing, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tembec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Harassment, Bullying, lack of appreciation and recognition.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate good employees when you have them!

    Tembec2018-03-01
  5. "assosiate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Tembec

    Pros

    a friendly place to work!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Tembec2017-02-22
  6. "Credit Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Credit Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tembec for less than a year

    Pros

    Summer internship with Tembec was a great experience.

    Cons

    Commuting from Ontario to Quebec

    Tembec2016-12-13
  7. "My job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tembec full-time

    Pros

    Good hours and good pay!

    Cons

    Laws are always changing, and not always fare!

    Advice to Management

    Think of the employees as people and not a number!

    Tembec2016-09-14
  8. "call in labourer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Labourer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tembec

    Pros

    great people to work with, feels like family. good training. lots of ways to advance in a career

    Cons

    its hot in the summer and there is not always enough people to rotate every half hour to cool off

    Advice to Management

    improve on getting more of the lower seniority people trained on more jobs or signed off on the ones they already know.

    Tembec2016-09-13
  9. "yard labourer- loader operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yard Labourer, Loader Operator in Cochrane, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tembec full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    hours and benefits are good, long term also looks good.

    Cons

    can only work with the tools we are provided with.at times be prepared to do more than asked for.

    Advice to Management

    need to hear employees concerns,listen to the experience workers so we can work better as a team.

    Tembec2016-09-07
  10. "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tembec full-time

    Pros

    The pay is on par with the market.

    Cons

    - Huge theoretical emphasis on Health & Safety, but it gets disregarded in practice. Employees who call in sick are still asked to come in. The office furniture has not been replaced in over a decade and is causing injuries. The insurance plan is terrible. - Employees are very old-school and resistant to change. Hiring some new blood would be a breath of fresh air for the company! - Everything is about costs at... all times, which leads to short-term decisions. - Every department is very understaffed, especially IT. - Huge disconnect between offices/the mill.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your employees.

    Tembec2016-07-14
Found 20 reviews