TerpSys Reviews | Glassdoor

TerpSys Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Ed Woods
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Inter-office politics more closely resemble high school cliques than a professional organization(in 6 reviews)

  • "All hands staff meetings weren't my favorite(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work and they will treat you very well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TerpSys full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits, remote work available

    Cons

    Small firm with a limite number of projects

    TerpSys2017-11-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed Revew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TerpSys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth and diverse companies.

    Cons

    Bizarre requirement to have employees participate in team-building activities on their own time. CEO was not as loyal to employees as he could have been.

    TerpSys2018-02-16
  3. "Great company with opportunities for advancement within"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Analyst in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TerpSys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO and Board, and co-workers. Excellent benefits. Lots of opportunities to learn and advance based on merit.

    Cons

    Certain limitations of govt contracts.

    TerpSys2017-06-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stable, flexible, good family-oriented place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TerpSys full-time

    Pros

    Very reasonable hours Management is easy to talk to Proactive community charitable engagement Good compensation Good remote/in-person work balance

    Cons

    Mentorship in certain areas is lacking or disorganized Some unchanging work frustrations lead to employee disengagement Lots of specific rules that don't provide value

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time directly with your higher-performance employees to figure out how you can directly support them in improving their efficiency, quality, and evolution.

    TerpSys2017-03-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Application Support Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at TerpSys full-time

      Pros

      Enjoyed working with the team. Enjoyed teleworking and RDOs

      Cons

      All hands staff meetings weren't my favorite

      TerpSys2017-02-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Micro Manage employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at TerpSys full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Co-workers were nice. Good location.

      Cons

      Low pay. Micro-manage employees. No cubicles sat in a long table co-wrokers sat next to you or across from you.

      TerpSys2017-02-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Look somewhere else"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at TerpSys for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Free shirts? If you no longer want to do your job, instead of getting fired, you'll get promoted.

      Cons

      Overpromise, under deliver...to the employees. Can't deny it. There are other IT from to work for. If to need experience or a decent check, try terpsis. If you want a career or a future in the field, go somewhere else. Read other reviews and see how many talk about advancement.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on what little business you have left and stop trying to be santa claus.

      TerpSys2017-02-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Delight, Challenge, and Serve"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Service Desk Manager in Bethesda, MD
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at TerpSys full-time

      Pros

      The TerpSys mission is to Delight Our Customers, Challenge Ourselves, and Serve Our Community. While I was there, I had the opportunity to participate in several Outward Bound Professional Leadership programs, take technical and leadership trainings, participate in many community service events, and support the important mission of many of our customers. Many staff members were very committed to the mission of the...

      Show More

      Cons

      Due to the current size, there are limited growth opportunities and benefits available compared to years past. When I was there, it was not uncommon for gossip to run rampant on the major contracts.

      Advice to Management

      Keep delighting, challenging, and serving. Corporate culture is in an important part of the company, so keep it as an integral part of who TerpSys is.

      TerpSys2016-08-08
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at TerpSys

      Pros

      Certificate's paid for if passed on first 2 attempts, company culture, great people!

      Cons

      Not very great pay :-/

      TerpSys2016-01-21
    • "Loved it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Computer Analyst 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at TerpSys full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I loved working at TerpSys. The CEO, the corporate culture, the co-workers were all great.

      Cons

      There was some clique's that were very prevalent.

      TerpSys2015-12-21
    Found 62 reviews