ToonBox Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor

ToonBox Entertainment Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Hong Kim
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Horrible HR Department and Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    They act to be very passionate and enthusiastic when they approach you and when they want things from you.

    Cons

    They do not provide support to their employees. They have horrible communication skills. Feel like you whole life is wasted while waiting for them to make decisions.

    ToonBox Entertainment2016-05-20
  2. "Small Projects and Good Art"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipeline Engineer in Paralimni
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great characters and design. Stable payments.

    Cons

    Small experience in 3d animation.

    ToonBox Entertainment2019-01-15
  3. "Cool studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Modeler in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented people, solid pipeline, good culture

    Cons

    Projects are fun but not the most interesting out there.

    ToonBox Entertainment2018-10-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Not one thing I can think of

    Cons

    Way too many to list

    Advice to Management

    Give it up

    ToonBox Entertainment2018-06-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Dept. leads communicate well and know their fields well.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity for advancement.

    ToonBox Entertainment2018-03-26
  6. Helpful (9)

    "The reviews don't lie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    My direct manager/boss was so influential to me. She taught me the importance of patience and kindness. And I truly wish her well (and a lot of people there)! Despite it all, I wish only good things for my former colleagues. There are many improvements that need to made at the top.

    Cons

    I want to focus on the behaviour and mannerisms that have been brought up below. It's true that they micromanage that everyone work 40 hours like we're in a factory. So really, we're working from 9AM - 6PM. Many say it's the "Korean way" (since majority of management is Korean) but I wouldn't go so far to make that assumption. Even so, we're in Canadian culture and abide by Canadian laws. I would, however, focus on the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Anyone who works for this company knows that management doesn't take advice.

    ToonBox Entertainment2018-04-20
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Rumors its going to tank like Arc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    It paid my bills for a while. I had amazing colleagues and made some great friendships. Super friendly staff from facilities to production coordinators.

    Cons

    A lot of departures because lack of growth, freeze on wages (even though executives got an increase and go on vacations), and executives (particylarly the EVP) harrasses you about 40 hours but comes in late and leaves early all the time. I also wonder how she has unlimited vacation too. Literally executives except the VP. The EVP on the other hand is the most unprofessional, disgusting, and grotesque human being. She...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. Get properly trained and qualified executives. Otherwise, invest in some quality education to become better managers because working at toonbox literally feels like school yard drama.

    ToonBox Entertainment2018-04-16
  8. "A management learning from it's mistakes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lighting Technical Director | Shader Writer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ToonBox Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A distinct social quality to interactions between employees. Openness in communication that runs up to middle management. Impressive talent pool. Year round employee organized sports groups.

    Cons

    Upper management a bit guarded and not always open to communicate information right away. A lack of clear vision for the long term plans.

    Advice to Management

    Management has been learning from past mistakes, and should keep doing so.

    ToonBox Entertainment2017-09-23
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ToonBox Entertainment

    Pros

    - Great team with great experience

    Cons

    - Management communication - Could upgrade the coffee to slightly better :)

    ToonBox Entertainment2017-01-05
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Great Crew! But the worst management ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ToonBox Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    People in production are amazing. Super cool crew.

    Cons

    Management is very poorly managed. Excutives are all coming from overseas with lack of knowledge in animation production. Therefore, they are treating employees as if they are working in bank or investment. It's very hard for them to understand a basic concept of 'work hard, play hard'. Lots of people get tired of the way they manage and since they don't feel the appreciation, people tend to leave.

    ToonBox Entertainment2016-11-07
Found 31 reviews