USG Insurance Services Reviews | Glassdoor

USG Insurance Services Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
USG Insurance Services Chairman & CEO Gerald Horton  (no image)
Gerald Horton
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Industry Leader for Surplus Lines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Broker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management, everyone gets along, people are friendly, there is little drama or politics in the workplace

    Cons

    Some folks might get paid more than they deserve

    Continue reading
    USG Insurance Services2017-04-12
  2. "Good Company with Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of flexibility to have work/life balance. As long as you do your job! You feel like the company cares about you.

    Cons

    You don't feel like there is room to advance and it feels like suggestions don't really go anywhere. Insurance benefits for family are way too expensive

    USG Insurance Services2019-10-23
  3. "I loved my time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Canonsburg, PA

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fun working environment entry level options - ability to create a career with no experience

    Cons

    a lot of petty drama among lower level employees it can feel like you are stuck in one place pay is industry standard but could definitely be higher with the amount of work you do

    USG Insurance Services2019-08-14
  4. "Good entry level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Center Associate in Canonsburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time hours and overtime, holidays off

    Cons

    Management can be cliquey in service center,

    USG Insurance Services2019-04-23

    USG Insurance Services Response

    May 6, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We certainly agree that the Service Center team is a wonderful entry level position with opportunities that can lead into a long-term career with USG. I would be open to hear more about your pros and cons and our overall experience if you would be willing to share: Christina McDermott, HR Manager - cmcdermott@usgins.com

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Broker in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many that I can think of - in theory they say they want to change but when it comes down to it they don’t and they are not vested to do the work

    Cons

    They continue to allow the same manager to be there who is destroying the culture and bringing down the employees especially the females

    Continue reading
    USG Insurance Services2018-06-07

    USG Insurance Services Response

    June 12, 2018Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are proud that 66% of our workforce is female and they bring a tremendous value to our company. Your comment regarding female treatment and the culture is one that we do not take lightly and encourage you to reach out directly with any further insight or specific examples regarding this so they may be properly addressed: Christina McDermott, HR Manager - cmcdermott@usgins.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "PRODUCER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and small office.

    Cons

    All about the numbers and not the people.

    USG Insurance Services2018-04-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Place is pretty laid back. Come and go just as you please. No one says anything.

    Cons

    Very little pay. This company want their employees to be college educated but refuse to pay them a reasonable amount. Also, the one way you will advance in the company is if you know a “higher up” in the company, which really brings down morale.

    Continue reading
    USG Insurance Services2018-03-15

    USG Insurance Services Response

    June 13, 2018Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Although a college education is valuable, it is not required. We place a higher value on your work experience and motivation to learn. We believe in fairly promoting and compensating employees who have a strong work ethic, professionalism, and drive. Employees are encouraged to have conversations with their supervisors if there is an opportunity they want to explore within the company. I would like to hear more about what we could have done to improve your experience with us if you are open to sharing additional insights: Christina McDermott, cmcdermott@usgins.com

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Old School Style Management Leaves a Lot to Be Desired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in Arlington, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great system, friendly people. I love the people of this office.

    Cons

    Beige walls, grey cubicles, high corporate structure make it impossible to make you feel like you're a part of this company. You are what you generate in revenue and nothing more.

    Continue reading
    USG Insurance Services2017-10-17

    USG Insurance Services Response

    October 23, 2017Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing that you value our systems as much as we do. Sustaining our competitive edge with advanced technology is a core part of USG’s mission. We do have wonderful employees and we are sorry to hear that you felt like you weren’t part of the company as a whole. We believe that each employee plays an integral role in USG’s success and would love to hear additional feedback on what we could have done to improve your experience with us. We maintain an open-door policy and encourage our employees to provide feedback on how we can continue to grow and improve as a company. Please feel free to connect directly to Christina McDermott with additional feedback: cmcdermott@usgins.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Management and leadership are lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time

    Pros

    Most of the employees are nice people and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Lack of management, leadership, communication, training, planning, organization and structure. The owner is trying to run the company as if they only have a handful of employees. You can get away with flying by the seat of your pants when you have a tiny office but they are currently too big and too spread out for that for that to work. I have never worked for a company with such a massive lack of management. There is is not any bad management, there is literally no management at all and I am not exaggerating or embellishing. The company has high turn over and will continue to have this issue unless there are major changes. I never would have accepted their offer of employment had I known what I getting into. I was told many things during the hiring process about how much support and help I would get but it became very clear early on that their idea of help and support is based on a misconception of what help and support really is. If you interview for a job, make sure you ask a lot of in depth questions to know what you are getting into. They will not lie to you but how they define a lot of terms regarding support, training, management, etc. is not the same as how larger successful corporations would define them.

    Continue reading
    USG Insurance Services2017-11-08

    USG Insurance Services Response

    November 27, 2017Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for sharing your concerns. As a growing company, our management staff is also growing with USG and working hard to improve the company, including the working environment. We encourage our employees to communicate when they feel they aren’t getting adequate support or need additional training. We appreciate the advice to management. We strive to maintain a small company culture while focusing on growth development within the industry. With growth comes growing pains and we understand that some of our smaller branch offices may be in need of a stronger management presence. Please feel free to reach out directly with any additional feedback: Christina McDermott cmcdermott@usgins.com

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Bad Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USG Insurance Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can not think of any.

    Cons

    No training, awful pay, unfulfilled promises, everyone worrying about everyone but themselves, expensive insurance plans.

    USG Insurance Services2017-07-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews