Ulteig Reviews | Glassdoor

Ulteig Reviews

Updated January 22, 2017
26 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ulteig President and CEO Doug Jaeger
Doug Jaeger
2 Ratings

26 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "CHRO"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulteig full-time

    Pros

    Company poised for growth under superior CEO leadership team. Strong executive team that truly cares about its employees

    Cons

    None. Opportunities everyday to make a difference and showcase your skills and abilities

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course


  2. "Not as I expected"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer
    Current Employee - Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulteig full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The PTO accrual rate isn't bad, but then there's a stigma that is associated with using it too. It's a good place to work if you're into routine design, but don't expect to innovate much.

    Cons

    There seems to be cultural differences between the offices. In some offices, the spoken culture is not what is actively practiced. This makes it difficult to understand what the requirements are to fit in.

    There seems to be a fairly old school system in place to deal with flex time, PTO requests, and work remote options. As a professional salaried employee, I feel more like an hourly technician, but without the OT benefit.

    Advice to Management

    Start practicing what you preach and lead by example.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with big goals, not employee friendly"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulteig full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits/ESOP, company size, vision/mission, ambition

    Cons

    Not a lot of support, micro-manager culture, "billable, billable, billable", no respect to "flexible work schedule" claim, no comp time offered whatsoever, you are expected to work 50+ hours/week and monitor email 24/7

    Advice to Management

    "Strategic Planning" and "EMT" meetings are not beneficial to the company, you need to add resources

    Ulteig Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Chief HR Officer

    Thanks for your candid review and feedback. It helps us learn about the specific areas of the work experience we can improve. It's imperative we take the time to recharge when we need it. I recommend ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ulteig is awesome"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Protection and Control Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Protection and Control Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great work environment, tons of people to meet and all of them are nice! Good retirement options and tons of opportunities for growth, willing to work with employees

    Cons

    Lower than average pay for an electrical engineer, may need a lot of travel time, lots of on and off work (dead days and weeks where you cant finish stuff)

    Advice to Management

    none

    Ulteig Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Chief HR Officer

    Thank you for your review. We agree that Ulteig is a great place to work filled with great people. In fact, we have been recognized as a Top Place to Work in several of our locations over the last ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulteig full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fair treatment of employees. Good work life balance. Professional work environment

    Cons

    Limited geographies. I wish they had more offices in warmer places.

    Ulteig Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Chief HR Officer

    Thanks for the review! We are glad you felt like you were treated well during your time at Ulteig.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Working Full Time at Ulteig."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    great people to work with.

    Cons

    no motivating factors to work there.

    Ulteig Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Chief HR Officer

    Thank you for your comments. Sorry to hear that you are not feeling motivated by the workplace. In the last year there has been significant change in the senior management, including a new CEO. The ... More


  8. "Good potential"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ulteig full-time

    Pros

    Great people, team work etc
    Flexible work schedule helps with work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to move across teams.... feels like they are quick to hire from outside rather than cross train their current employees.

    Advice to Management

    Do not promote openness till you are ready to address the uncomfortable questions that employees ask.

    Ulteig Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Chief HR Officer

    Thank you for your candor and sharing your thoughts on working at Ulteig. We agree that the people here are great and make Ulteig a great place to work. We are developing a career lattice that likely ... More


  9. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Paul, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Paul, MN

    I have been working at Ulteig full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay.
    Friendly work environment.
    Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership
    No accountability
    Unnecessary stress

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on development of processes and developing managers.

    Ulteig Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Chief HR Officer

    Thanks for the review! We agree that effective leadership is very important. Since your review, the company has a new CEO and multiple other leadership changes. We are identifying specific manager ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Do your research."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulteig full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A very ambitious company and they offer flextime, which is nice when times are slow.

    Cons

    This company always has politics of all types in mind. Some coworkers will intentionally sabotage others to make themselves look better.

    Advice to Management

    MY advice to upper management: put as much effort into creating internal employee satisfaction as you employee retention or client satisfaction.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities, great employees!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulteig full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth - both in personal career and taking it where you want, allowing people to seek opportunities
    Good group of employees who are all committed to helping each other make the clients successful
    Flexible work environment which allows people to thrive - especially compared to other consulting firms
    Your career is what you make of it - if you want to go above and beyond you will be recognized for it
    Company takes a personal interest in each individual, you don't get lost in the group
    Upper management listens to each individual contributor
    Competitive salaries

    Cons

    Company will not push you to excel, you must do that on your own and take control of your own career
    There was a RIF about a year ago which caused some unsettlement and growing pains, but the company is really heading in the right direction and has hired some key upper management and technical people which are making great strides
    Ulteig is still working to mold itself to what it wants to become - some see this as a disadvantage or as too much change. I see this as an opportunity to make a difference, provide input in what I want from my career, and to help make this a national and international firm.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The changes that have been made in the last year and a half are really paying off. We are becoming more well-known, branching out of the upper Midwest, and laying the groundwork for growth and huge potential. Kudos for putting more investment into each individual contributor to give them the tools to take control of their own career.

    Ulteig Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Chief HR Officer

    Thank you for your feedback and for your contributions to Ulteig. Love that you mention our value of dedicating ourselves to our clients' success because that is very important to us. Along with ... More



Showing 26 of 27 reviews
Reset Filters