Upward Projects Reviews | Glassdoor

Upward Projects Reviews

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lauren Bailey
1 Ratings
  1. "Pretty Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upward Projects full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved it! Great Staff, Fun Environment

    Cons

    Not much...Maybe need more ways where people can interact with the owners and managers from the lab more.

    Upward Projects2019-05-31
  2. "A company with ambition and personality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upward Projects full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth: Tons of opportunity for individuals to advance their career. Trust: This company supports their people. Be You: The only company I've worked for that really encourages you to you. Great People: Upward Projects is full of sincere, humble, hard working people who are ambitious and innovative.

    Cons

    growing pains and the company expands into new markets

    Upward Projects2018-07-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome Company if you spend a long time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upward Projects part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very laid back here. We get our work done, and we work together as a team. I liked how they do the team tipping because as barback that was really how I got my money. I could make $70-$120 a shift plus my $7 an hour wage. So for 2-3 days a week it was getting me through college. The culture here is amazing, also. UP truly cares about their employees and I wish I would have had a better experience with my...

    Show More

    Cons

    The job is very stressing on the body. I only worked 2-3 days a week and couldn't imagine doing any more than that. Taco Tuesday is by far the best and worst day of the week because of how busy we were. Those days I came into work knowing I would work straight 8 hours with no time to breathe. Also, most of the people at UP have been working here a long time. That means they have their cliques, which is difficult coming...

    Show More
    Upward Projects2018-03-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Host/SA at Postinos Highlands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Upward Projects part-time

    Pros

    Cool environment. I like the vibe they set for the customers.

    Cons

    Poor management. Unorganized training. Unprofessional.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to reeavaluate their management team for the front end. I was wrongfully terminated on my third day of training because I missed my weekend shifts because I was in the emergency room. The manager sent me harassing text messages. I don’t know how you hire your managers but this particular manager could not have been more unprofessional and innapropriate towards myself and guests.

    Upward Projects2018-03-20
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Upward Projects full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I work with

    Cons

    Long hours, low wages, poor communication from uppers, retention of leadership is poor and lack of recognition and appreciation for a job done well on a daily basis. Culture and values have been lost and sold out to investors

    Upward Projects2018-02-08
  6. "Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upward Projects part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Upward does a great job of keeping all employees up to date on wine and menu knowledge, which flows into the level of service

    Cons

    Lots of store politics

    Advice to Management

    Store level management is either really great or really awful and the really unfair managers put on an act when higher ups are in so their behavior goes basically untouched

    Upward Projects2018-01-02
  7. "Great Company with revolving managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender/Server in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Upward Projects full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great money awesome staff hours are great, not open too late or too early

    Cons

    i've had 4 general managers in less than a year wish they mixed up the menu more often

    Upward Projects2017-09-19
  8. "UP UP UP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support/Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upward Projects full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team service, treated well, positive energy, good hourly

    Cons

    HIGH EXPECTATION. Which isn't a con for most people, but if you're not used to working your butt off, then don't apply

    Upward Projects2017-09-05
  9. "Upward Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upward Projects part-time

    Pros

    Team service, great pay, flexible schedule, great management

    Cons

    Fast paced, getting cut early due to fairness

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Continue listening to and caring about your employees, as you do now, it certainly goes a long way.

    Upward Projects2017-08-25
  10. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upward Projects full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onboarding processes Voice at the table High energy, positive environments Culinary-driven concepts Authentic personalities welcomed and empowered Team service Thorough training and standard operating procedures

    Cons

    Introductory salary less than requested Only partial insurance costs covered by employer Aggressive budgetary goals

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing to improve practices and drive expansion

    Upward Projects2017-08-23
Found 19 reviews