Vision Express Reviews | Glassdoor

Vision Express Reviews

Updated September 24, 2018
32 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Vision Express CEO Jonathan Lawson
Jonathan Lawson
12 Ratings

32 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Store manager designate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Management Team in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Senior Management Team in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express full-time

    Pros

    Meet amazing people while working, and great benefit.

    Cons

    Poor pay, and progression is very limited. False promises. And staff are not valued


  2. "Very supportive and great ethos!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optometrist in Saint Albans, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Optometrist in Saint Albans, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Lots of support, and opportunities for development for OA’s all the way through to Optoms, and even at Support office level.
    - Recognition given for ‘Heroes’ on a quarterly basis
    - They have been understanding with my work life balance as I have other commitments outside of work
    - I’ve always felt welcomed, whether I visit another store, or visit support office.
    - My regional manager is very supportive of my roles within the business and is never more than a phone call away.

    I feel like VE is one big family, and everyone tries their utmost best, whether it’s customer service or in house help.

    Cons

    In any retail business, figures are always at the back of every manager’s mind.

    Advice to Management

    Keep recognising the heroes within our business, but also consider the constraints some stores face with staffing issues and cover.

    Vision Express Response

    Sep 5, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for leaving a 5 star review, we are delighted to hear you have all the support you need in your role and that the recognition we give to our teams is valued.

  3. "Alright company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time

    Pros

    Team members
    Work hours
    Customers
    Free glasses

    Cons

    Management
    No benefits
    No recognition


  4. "Focuses more on sales than customer satisfaction and staff happiness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express part-time

    Pros

    ok pay, alright holiday pay nothing special

    Cons

    management style is negative, not a postive word to say ever.

    Advice to Management

    work on how you communicate with staff

    Vision Express Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – HR BUSINESS PARTNER

    Hi there, we appreciate your comments and aim to use all the feedback to make improvements to the operations within stores. As you may already know, we have recently invested in our pay and... More


  5. "Grown up here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager
    Current Employee - Regional Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Worked with Vision Express for 15 years started with no experience and just got the "optics bug" for helping people. They have developed me into being a DO and Regional Manager and for this i am greatfull.
    Great people to work with.
    Care about thier people.

    Cons

    Some of the things we do things are long and complicated.

    Advice to Management

    Dont say well done enough.
    Communication is not always a strength of ours.


  6. "Store Manager in Optical Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Quick development, strong brand recognition, consistent training, support, career development, recognition,

    Cons

    Slow response to pay, micromanaged at times, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Focus hard, drive your team and lead by example

    Vision Express Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you so much for the review, it's great to hear that you have developed in your career with Vision Express. We're passionate about creating the right development paths for our teams and will... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Careers really are taken seriously here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRBP in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - HRBP in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working for Vision Express, has turned out to be one of the best decisions I have ever made. I came to VE with no prior experience of working for an optical retailer, and in the 3 years I have been here , I have received support and development, been given great opportunities and truly believe that the people I work with every day, make my role what it is.
    I would consider the main pro's about working here are; the great career development, ability to be promoted and truly valued, the culture in which we work, and the passion everyone has for what they do.

    Cons

    There aren't many, but I would say that our IT systems aren't very advanced which can make what we do more complex and lengthy. It's also super hot in support office in summer, and freezing in winter.

    Vision Express Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    We are delighted to hear your positive feedback, and we aim to create an enjoyable working environment for all of our teams. We hope that the investment we are making in system updates will be... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "A company I have grown up with...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    - Career progression
    - Great teams
    - Good training
    - Inspirational leaders

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything negative to say....

    Vision Express Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR BUSINESS PARTNER

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are continually investing in our people to ensure the pro's listed in your review apply to all the teams here at VE and aim to ensure we... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Delivered the Dream!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Chester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Chester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Amazing Culture, Amazing People and Development pathways that have no limits! Senior Management all the way up to the CEO take the time to engage with individuals at all levels of the business. An Amazing employer!

    Cons

    I have no cons to report about Vision Express.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your people like you always have!

    Vision Express Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    After 10 years of service we are so pleased your passion and excitement remains strong for Vision Express and what we do, thank you for your commitment.


  10. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Harborne, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Harborne, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great training and place to work

    Cons

    Hours can be all over the place

    Vision Express Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR BUSINESS PARTNER

    Glad to hear that you feel Vision Express is a great place to work. Thanks for taking time to leave a response.


Showing 32 of 33 reviews
Reset Filters