Volvo Cars Reviews | Glassdoor

Volvo Cars Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Volvo Cars CEO Håkan Samuelsson
Håkan Samuelsson
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Swedish attitude rether slower response than some german competitors(in 5 reviews)

  • "The salaries are also very low compared to similar positions in automotive companies located outside of Sweden(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Industrial Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Volvo is a brand and everyone have a dream to work with this OEM

    Cons

    Location is too far away from my home

    Volvo Cars2018-06-02
  2. "Great Family owned business with Upper Management concerns."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, benefits (health insurance, vacation, sick time, 401K),

    Cons

    No work performance reviews.

    Volvo Cars2019-06-17
  3. "marketing intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Cars

    Pros

    Great working experience and environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes things for pushing the progress can get a bit slow.

    Volvo Cars2018-04-29
  4. "Volvo Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time

      Pros

      up and coming product line, competitive commission structure.

      Cons

      competitive industry. dated used car inventory

      Volvo Cars2017-11-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great Progress at Volvo Digital"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Mountain View, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      1. Exciting Transformation underway to move the company to become an industry leader in tech and digital experiences. 2. Great leadership visibility and support, you will have a direct impact on the business outcomes for Volvo as well as the opportunity to present your work to senior leaders on a regular basis. 3. Opportunity to take on a larger role, with the expansion of the digital team everyone will need to take...

      Show More

      Cons

      1. Requires a significant commitment, travel, and off-hours calls are common, but rewarding. 2. Very early in the transformation, can also be a positive, but it essentially like working at an early stage start-up within a larger mature organization. Some roadblocks and old thinking will present challenges.

      Advice to Management

      Keep investing in Digital, keep empowering the lower level team members. It would be really devastating if they were to reverse course in the near future.

      Volvo Cars2017-11-07
    • "Maintenance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time

      Pros

      Opportunity for growth. Excellent training. Employee safety is first priority.

      Cons

      When I find one, I'll post it.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what your doing.

      Volvo Cars2017-11-10
    • "Not for everyone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Reasonably attractive Scandinavian design offices and furniture.

      Cons

      Ironically, no career advancement possibilities if you're not Swedish.

      Advice to Management

      Get woke.

      Volvo Cars2017-10-18
    • "Sales consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Volvo Cars full-time

        Pros

        Nice people to work for. Good salary setup

        Cons

        Work conditions needed update on building example office layout

        Volvo Cars2017-08-02
      • "Service"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Winston-Salem, NC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        laid back good people to work with

        Cons

        Changed pay plan would pay out comm owed for sales made

        Volvo Cars2016-11-25
      • "Intern in Volvo Cars China"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Volvo Cars

          Pros

          Great Environment, Friendly Supervisor, Convenient Location, Interesting Work Content in the team I joined

          Cons

          Unacceptable intern situations in some teams of some departments

          Volvo Cars2016-10-04
        Found 96 reviews