KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

WEX

Is this your company?

WEX

Add a Review

WEX Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 462 of over 644 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
WEX President and CEO 	Melissa Smith (no image)
Melissa Smith
241 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of WEX and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company with top

    Sep 23, 2022 - Director in Portland, ME
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid opportunities for growth and exposure

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to navigate internally

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    DO NOT WORK HERE

    Aug 18, 2022 - Senior Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Matured business, lack of leadership and innovation leads to no one asking people to do work.

    Cons

    - Sexual harassment, inappropriate behavior and misogyny abounds within the top ranks of the company. When discussed, HR and senior management stonewall and try to gaslight the victims. - Unethical and “follower” behavior gets people promoted. Qualified and ethical candidates are not considered for promotions. - The BOD needs to clean house and bring in outside leadership. - Several cliques and narcissistic egos within the company, so no decisions can be made at the ELT and SVP levels. - Lack of direction and poor leadership that can not put plans into action to save their lives. - Company now has to advertise to recruit bc so many people have left. - Leadership watches the bottom line and doesn’t invest in CS, Tech or Personnel needed. - Customer ratings and BBB is a D- - Compensation is not competitive at all and HR tries to keep everyone at lower levels. - People have been promoted into SVP roles with no formal education and terrible leadership, business acumen and people skills. - Stock price has not improved due to lack of leadership, quality employees and resources. - Company is literally an empty suit. Will be surprised if outside competitors with better tech and pricing don’t eat their lunch in the next 5 years.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Working for WEX

    Sep 27, 2022 - N|A 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My boss was so amazing.

    Cons

    The callers were always so angry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A True Leader

    Sep 13, 2022 - Human Resources in Portland, ME
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WEX acts on their values- 110% integrity focused. Amazing Total rewards with ample PTO, 12 holidays in US, and trusted to do your work. I enjoy coming to work each day...virtually!!!

    Cons

    It can take time, and patience for change- But WEX is supportive and welcomes fresh ideas.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    WEX

    Sep 23, 2022 - Solution Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly and very accommodating place to work

    Cons

    Career advancement is not very good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place

    Sep 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PTO, paid holidays, teamwork, pay

    Cons

    Compensation when it comes to adding more work and cross training which would normally mean a promotion does not happen. It is just expected but you’re still expected to further your career

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    not taking care of sales people

    Jul 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership is very good in sales. Still the best company for benefits and sales culture that I have worked for.

    Cons

    For reasons out of the sales people control, sales are down dramatically. We are very unsure if we will be supported by the company during this time. WE are less than 50% for sales results from where we were last year at this time. Customers have not changed. Sales people just as good. Our company reactions to recent events are bringing us all down.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Sep 1, 2022 - Customer Solutions Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits Flexibility Awesome support from management

    Cons

    The only thing I would say was a con, is that employees could be paid a little more but the company over all is a great company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    DBI part of WEX is Great!!

    Mar 3, 2022 - Senior Integration Analyst in Fargo, ND
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great Management on the team I am on. - Alot of room to grow. - The DBI (Discovery Benefits) side of WEX has a GREAT culture. - The DBI (Discovery Benefits) employees and managers really care about their employees and do a wonderful job of showing it the best they can.

    Cons

    - Pay is not equal between the DBI (Discovery Benefits) side and WEX side. Original WEX employees make alot more than DBI employees. When DBI and WEX merged WEX should have given DBI employees a raise for equal pay but they didn't. - When the pandemic hit the DBI (Discovery Benefits) heath teams are who kept WEX up and running and who made most of the money to keep WEX aflot but the DBI Health teams never got compensated for all the hard work we did. We have been absolutely slammed for the last two years. We have worked our tails off and last year, we got the worst raise we have ever gotten. It truly is not fair.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0