WEX Reviews | Glassdoor

WEX Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Melissa Smith
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are plenty of great things about Wex, namely the hours are extremely flexible as they also offer the opportunity to work from home(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great People to work with for sure(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you want to fade into the woodwork, WEX isn't for you(in 19 reviews)

  • "No benefits while contracted, difficult to get hired full time unless you want to work in customer service(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love, Love, Love!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Team Lead in South Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WEX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company culture, opportunities for growth, supportive management, amazing perks. I made a change in industries after many years and am so happy that I did. My experience here has been wonderful and I feel so appreciated and heard, and am given the autonomy to grow and learn, and lead my Team as I see fit. Our CEO sets an incredible example, and is extremely motivating to me. I have home-work balance for the...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons from my perspective.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting middle management and allowing us to grow and learn, you are doing a great job!

    WEX2019-03-28
  2. "Things are good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Representative 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at WEX full-time

      Pros

      People are nice to each other

      Cons

      Offices are open floor plan

      WEX2019-05-21
    • "Great company with great benefits!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Client Services Manager in Edina, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at WEX for more than a year

      Pros

      Leadership is awesome and benefits are great.

      Cons

      Somewhat difficult to learn about other areas within the company.

      Advice to Management

      Add more opportunities to learn from other departments or even from other parts of the business (fleet vs health)

      WEX2019-05-03
    • "Solid company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Sales Associate in Nashville, TN

        I have been working at WEX full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good benefits, good people and hours

        Cons

        They need help updating systems

        Advice to Management

        Long hold times for customer service

        WEX2019-04-17
      • Helpful (3)

        "Okay, no growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Credit Analyst 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at WEX full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        -laid back environment -management is overall relaxed -health benefits are at par

        Cons

        -underpaid -no growth in company unless someone retires -no culture is the culture -very old fashioned way of managing company - lots of manual processes.. tech is not where it needs to be -team outings are usually disappointing

        WEX2019-03-03
      • "Great place to work, my best job yet-- some growing pains though"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, ME
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at WEX part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Friendly environment, forward thinking, good opportunity, pay, and benefits. Love being part of a team with collaborative efforts. Customers are typically kind and helpful.

        Cons

        Stressful (like most call centers can be), some growing pains in management and higher tiers of the company due to high growth

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up, I think you're doing amazing. I love working here and I hope to stay here a long time.

        WEX2019-02-16
      • Helpful (2)

        "Not Recommended"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Account Executive in Portland, ME
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at WEX full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        There may be some now...

        Cons

        Predatory and anonymous and below board.

        WEX2019-02-28
      • Helpful (3)

        "Poor management, great benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Omaha, NE
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at WEX full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Liberal work from home policy, ample vacation, good medical/dental benefits

        Cons

        Extremely poor IT management practices, confusion in Agile Trabsformation, cronyism in abundance, bonuses promised but never given, low salary.

        Advice to Management

        Look closer at salary figures, either embrace Agile or get rid of it entirely, stop building buddy silos, show employees paths to advancement, get product development VPs who actually have a clue

        WEX2019-02-22
      • Helpful (4)

        "Honest review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in South Portland, ME
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at WEX full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Co-workers are the best and they really want to create an inclusive environment. If you like the pace of non-stop work, this is the company for you. They are looking for new leadership ideas The Presidents club award trip.

        Cons

        You will not have work / life balance. Some directors / managers support you taking time off others don’t. Leadership will mislead you. When I accepted my position, I was told the previous person was promoted, when I joined the company a few directors informed me that my predecessors where fired because of them. Leadership is territorial over successes. In the job description they want “Start up mentality” what...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Sharpen the organizations strategic skills. Current directors and manager are so focused on the now of execution, there is no vision translating people who desperately want to innovate. What kind of innovation do you want in the payments industry, what is the industry doing, what is your core focus now and the roadmap to the future? Move your directors around the company. Too often, WEX directors stay in a roll that...

        Show More
        WEX2019-03-14
      • "Awesome Company to work with."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Partner Sales Manager in Nashville, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at WEX full-time

        Pros

        Flexible, innovative, great environment.

        Cons

        Seniority based advancement, however, they take care of their people.

        WEX2019-02-04
      Found 195 reviews