Webcor Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Webcor CEO Jes Pedersen
Jes Pedersen
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company that pushes their employees to work very hard(in 6 reviews)

  • "great team environment, co-workers feel like family tight knit(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Team"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 

    I have been working at Webcor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse Team. Met some life long friends from work.

    Cons

    None specifically. Good place to work.

    Webcor2020-03-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Webcor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job Stability, Fast-paced, challenging work in a construction environment

    Cons

    PC's treated like the mom of the office. Expected to fix with anything someone doesn't know how to deal with.

    Webcor2020-03-04
  3. "Promotions are vague"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Webcor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Absolutely loved working here except for the cons mentioned below.

    Cons

    1. Very vague when it comes to promotions: In this company, it doesn't matter if you work hard or not. As long as your an apple polisher you get promoted. 2. Hiring new employees with a significantly higher pay than the current employees with the same title and experience, while the ones that have proved their worth to the company and been calibrated get low balled. 2.

    Continue reading
    Webcor2020-01-10

    Webcor Response

    January 17, 2020Director, Internal Communications

    This response has been posted on behalf of Chief Operating Officer Tony Rango: Along with the entire executive team at Webcor, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your observations. All of us are very happy to see that your overall experience at Webcor was a positive one. I want to share some thoughts about the "cons" you shared in your review. First, I appreciate your initiative in posting these comments and your candor in sharing your observations. Over the last few years, Webcor has grown rapidly and we are working to implement processes that are more characteristic of a large company than a small one. How we hire and promote our people is one of the most important ingredients in this formula. While we still have work to do, we are committed to our career planning process. The calibration process you referenced was designed to ensure that the decisions about whom to promote are determined by regional management based on each employee's performance and skills. We undertake this process twice each year; it gets better each time we go through it, in part because our managers grow more and more accustomed to it. We expect that trend to continue, resulting in fewer and fewer of the kinds of issues you noted. You also mentioned that you have seen new-hires brought on board at higher pay than existing employees with the same titles and experiences. We review salary twice a year, tapping into both internal and external benchmarks. We have defined ranges for hiring that ensure internal equity and we regularly evaluate the risks associated with new-hire salary relative to existing employees. I would note that existing employees are not always aware of the reasons for the salary a new-hire is offered. I believe the reason you loved working at Webcor is that we have committed energy and resources to make the employee experience the best in the industry. That effort is ongoing and we will include your notes in our discussions to ensure we keep moving in the right direction. Again, I'm grateful that you took the time to share your experience. If you have any questions or other observations, please reach out to me or any member of the executive team directly. Tony Rango Chief Operating Officer

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Webcor review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Webcor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, work life balance

    Cons

    no support from management

    Continue reading
    Webcor2019-10-28

    Webcor Response

    November 14, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    I appreciate your recommendation that leaders spend more time visiting job sites and meeting with employees. Nothing beats face-to-face sessions between leaders and employees, especially when leaders spend more time listening to employees than talking to them. This is one of the reasons we schedule occasional executive roadshows to job sites. Executive Safety Walks represent another opportunity for leaders to hear from employees in the field. Our annual Town Hall meeting is one more activity planned specifically so employees can be heard. We recognize this is not enough. We continue to try to find ways for Webcor's leaders to add site visits to their hectic schedules. In the meantime, we are introducing other ways to give employees the chance to raise issues. In addition to being able to share their thoughts with their HR Business Partners, reach out to an executive, or call a confidential hotline, we have introduced Pulse Surveys, which are specifically designed to address areas for improvement within teams. Managers see the survey results from their own teams and are required to develop action plans to address areas where the survey has identified weaknesses. The survey also gives managers the chance to see if action plans implemented since the last survey have delivered results. We believe these surveys are highly valuable and would continue with them even if our executives were able to spend every day visiting employees on job sites. The experience employees have at Webcor is top of mind for the company's leadership -- it's one of four strategic initiatives on which the company is currently focused. We are committed to delivering exactly what you ask for in your review: strong support from management. Posted on behalf of Tony Rango Chief Operating Officer

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Basic Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Webcor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Place to work at thus far.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    Webcor2019-10-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Webcor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, transparent, and follow their core values

    Cons

    Usually we do long work hours depending on the project phase

    Webcor2019-09-08
  7. "Great Company To Work For"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Webcor full-time

    Pros

    The Collaboration is Amazing. There is a lot of opportunity

    Cons

    The company supports their managers well

    Webcor2019-07-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A lot of "great" talk"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Webcor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best in the industry, efficient, quality jobs

    Cons

    Many managers don't care at all about their employees. They give you work and deadlines and if not met, boy are you in trouble. They don't care if you're putting in 70 hours a week. There's no appreciation for employees and they work the crap out of you. From the outside, Webcor is a great company, but internally management needs to improve the way they treat their employees. There's a reason why people keep leaving. Webcor is hiring all the time because so many people keep leaving. I wonder why. Work on employee happiness and maybe you'll be able to retain more employees.

    Continue reading
    Webcor2019-08-06

    Webcor Response

    August 8, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    POSTED ON BEHALF OF TONY RANGO, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Thank you, first of all, for the "Pro." We are justifiably proud of the work we produce for owners and developers. I also want to thank you for your candid commentary in the "Cons" segment of your review. There are occasions when the demands of a project may put it through an intense period that requires more time. This should not be the rule, nor should it be constant. In fact, providing employees with a great experience is so important to us that it's one of our four key business initiatives. As you probably know, our president and CEO, Jes Pedersen, held a companywide videoconference a couple of weeks ago to address this very issue. He also shared a LinkedIn article just last week (https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/managers-front-line-bettering-employees-lives-jes-pedersen/) outlining his expectations of managers. In that article, he wrote: "This is what it means to be a manager: Be aware of how the members of your team are doing. Always keep their best interests in mind. Treat every member of your team with respect. Set goals for each of your players and be prepared to help them. Don't just talk about our purpose. Be our purpose. Show your people that you care about them. Build career solutions for your reports and better their lives." I point this out by way of showing that Webcor's leadership is taking active steps to ensure every manager meets our expectations. To be sure, we have many outstanding manageRs who do a great job of coaching and inspiring their people, who live and breathe our belief in "active caring." But we also know there are still some who, as Jes put it in the article, "have yet to embrace this role, which reflects the changes our company and our industry are going through." Unlike building a building, where you proceed from step one to step two, building a manager culture is more of an evolution. You definitely have not heard the last of our work to create this culture, one in which every employee's experience is enhanced by a manager they want to work for. Finally, I encourage you to reach out to us directly with more information we can use to address your specific situation. You can call any member of the executive team, your HR Business Partner, or our hotline, all in complete confidence. I want you to know that I, along with every member of the executive team, care about you and your experience at Webcor. Tony Rango Chief Operating Officer

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company."

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer 

    I have been working at Webcor part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with.

    Cons

    Work hours can be long sometimes but that's typical in our industry

    Webcor2019-07-01

    Webcor Response

    July 12, 2019Director, Internal Communications

    Long works hours are common in construction and there are a lot of reasons for it, including project phases that are particularly busy and the fact that you may get assigned to a project that is further from your home than your previous project. However, we’re not satisfied with that. We are a people business first and foremost, and we continue to look for ways to help employees achieve the best possible work-life balance. Some of the answers may come from corporate, others from the leaders on your own project. The goal is for everyone at Webcor to spend time doing things that are important to them. Tony Rango Chief Operating Officer

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Pompous and Arrogant Managers"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 

    I have been working at Webcor full-time

    Pros

    HR department is top notch.

    Cons

    Arrogance is rampant. The managers do not care about the employees.

    Webcor2019-07-11

    Webcor Response

    July 16, 2019SVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your praise for our Human Resources efforts. I'm very proud of the entire HR team. Your observation about managers is unfortunate and not the employee experience that we are striving to achieve. I should note that many of our employees have excellent relationships with their managers; yet the experience does vary. We are aware that we aren’t yet delivering a consistent experience for all Webcor employees and are very focused on solving it. We are on the right path to improve our manager/employee relationships. When Jes Pedersen, our president and CEO, introduced employees to our corporate purpose -- building solutions/bettering lives -- he emphasized the role of managers in helping employees chart their career paths, build their expertise, and have a great experience at Webcor. Jes reiterated this point at the July Operations Meeting. Just today, Jes held a companywide webinar to make sure everyone knew how important the role of people managers is at Webcor and that the role of the manager is primarily one of coaching. We have created resources on our intranet to help managers with the check-in meetings with employees. We are actively encouraging managers to reach out to their HR Business Partners if they feel they need help with their check-ins or other aspects of managing direct reports. And all this is just the beginning. We have other initiatives in the works to build a strong and consistent culture of managing at Webcor. We take employee feedback seriously and I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns and to hear your ideas. Please feel free to reach out to me directly or to your HR Business Partner. And when you see improvements in how your managers relate to you, I hope you'll come back to Glassdoor and share that report! Mei Lin Wolff Sr. VP, Human Resources

Found 91 reviews