Wilson Elser Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Wilson Elser Chairman Dan McMahon
Dan McMahon
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "great work environment, great mentors, good people(in 17 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, free downtown parking,(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Billable hours high for salary paid(in 26 reviews)

  • "High turnover with support staff(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Great Law Firm

      Jul 9, 2020 - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment with great people.

      Cons

      Billable hours, but this comes with any litigation law firm

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 12, 2021 - Partner in Florham Park, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid business strategy in a caring and supportive environment.

      Cons

      A corporation when it comes to firms and red tape.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Place, Low Pay

      May 5, 2021 - Associate Attorney in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work if you're just beginning.

      Cons

      The amount of work is not proportional to your pay.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great New Office -- Happiness depends on which team you are assigned to

      Apr 19, 2021 - Associate Attorney in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good Pay for 1st year associate - Remote Work - Brand New Office - Cool Colleagues

      Cons

      Every partner works differently. As long as you are assigned a suitable partner, everything will be dandy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Whiplash?

      Feb 1, 2021 - Office Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company perks and benefits.

      Cons

      As an office assistant, I expected that my work would be varied and reliant upon the needs of my attorneys' current caseload. But most of my work revolved around managing the travel plans and research for one attorney, who was already assigned a legal assistant and paralegal. All the work I did for her was considered "extracurricular," i.e. not related to any case for the firm. Everyone knew this, and largely gave the attorney free reign to use company resources for her personal projects. It made me uncomfortable that she didn't really seem to answer to anyone regarding this. They then decided to start training me to do another legal assistant's job, on top of the myriad of extracurricular items for this one "problematic" attorney. I was frequently tugged in multiple directions by different attorneys, but expected to prioritize the "extracurricular" work. It was very odd, and there were no clear boundaries or expectations explained or asserted for this role. I would caution anyone looking at these kinds of roles to look into the attorneys they'll be working for, and to demand clarity about the job duties for this role. I would have stayed with this company if the attorneys were better managed.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The usual

      May 4, 2021 - Mid Level Associate Attorney in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Handy midtown office across from Grand Central

      Cons

      The partners. The partners. And, the partners. If they spent as much time mentoring as they did berating, they'd have a much more successful law firm.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wilson elser conflict analyst

      May 4, 2021 - Conflicts Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      easy interview. Its an easy job too once you finally finish training which takes roughly 6 months.

      Cons

      boring. Very annoying training. Basically answering 1,000 emails a day and thats it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid place to start your legal career.

      Apr 12, 2021 - Paralegal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work environment, really enjoyed working there.

      Cons

      Training could have been better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great exposure to litigation, but could be better

      Oct 20, 2020 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Tons of exposure to litigation - Ability to manage my own caseloads - Awesome team members - Access to tons of in-house CLEs - Work/Life balance is not bad

      Cons

      They come after you all the time about billable hours. You should expect an email every two weeks about it and a phone call from the higher ups if you're not performing exactly how they want you to. 2100 hours expected yet the pay is embarrassing. It's not terrible, but should be way more considering the size of the firm and the constant pressure about billable hours. And don't get me started on the year end "bonuses". Literally, chump change compared to other firms, yet Wilson Elser wants you to be grateful. Also, high turnover. It's quite comical how often I've had to say goodbye to associates and how often I've run into new attorneys in the hallway or pantry. Yet, not unexpected due to the pay and the attitudes from some of the partners at the firm. Let's just say that some people take their roles as partners way too seriously and consider their associates to be nothing more than worker bees or cogs in a wheel. Lastly, I work for a partner that does none of the work, but takes all of the credit. BEST ADVICE: Get in. Do your two years. Get the experience you need, then get out.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 13, 2021 - Partner in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people across the nation.

      Cons

      Sometimes compensation/business development recognition is not fair.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 297 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Wilson Elser Job Seekers

    Associate Attorney
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Litigation Associate Attorney
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Wilson Elser? Share Your Experiences

    Wilson Elser logo
    or