Wilson Elser Reviews | Glassdoor

Wilson Elser Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 211 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Wilson Elser CEO Dan McMahon
Dan McMahon
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Billable hours are high and certain partners only see numbers(in 20 reviews)

  • "Not much room for growth in company as a professional/support staff employee without law school education(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy working for Wilson Elser.

    Cons

    There is an expectation of billing 2100 hrs.

    Wilson Elser2019-03-18
  2. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly people and convenient location

      Cons

      Heavy workload and under paid

      Wilson Elser2019-04-10
    • "Nice People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Nice people including support staff, professional staff, and attorneys, generous PTO time, good work-life balance, benefits,

      Cons

      Only attorneys receive annual bonuses.

      Wilson Elser2019-03-21
    • Helpful (4)

      "Large company comes with perks and problems"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Dallas, TX

      I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Resources, experienced staff, high standards

      Cons

      Miserable women, non caring partners, poor management of support staff

      Wilson Elser2019-03-15
    • Helpful (9)

      "Worse Law Firm To Work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Information Technology in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      None that I can think of.

      Cons

      The COO, Hal Stewart needs to investigate why there is such a huge turnover in the IT department. Start with the poor management capabilities of the CIO, Gerard. HR needs to address the work place harassment as it is unbearable.

      Advice to Management

      Hal Stewart (COO)and Margret Luberda (HR) needs to intervene and investigate the chaos in the IT Department.

      Wilson Elser2019-03-27
    • Helpful (6)

      "No room for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Applications Analyst 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        The amazing and talented people

        Cons

        IT Management specifically the CIO

        Wilson Elser2019-02-25
      • Helpful (5)

        "Tough Environment and Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - WANG/LAN Manager in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Moving in the right direction and some good hard working people.

        Cons

        Technological antiquities everywhere. IT department is way behind the curve. Video conferencing capabilities for remote depositions is horrendous.

        Advice to Management

        IT needs to be a business partner and not overhead. Tomorrow starts today.

        Wilson Elser2019-02-08
      • Helpful (3)

        "Not the best"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Wilson Elser part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The staff are supportive of one another

        Cons

        Not much direction or room for advancement

        Wilson Elser2019-01-23
      • Helpful (4)

        "Bait and Switch"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Secretary/Paralegal in Las Vegas, NV
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Great benefits, nice office. The office tries to take the upper road and be very ethical which is important nowadays.

        Cons

        I was hired to be a paralegal not a highbred cat -dog. I don’t know if it’s their way of saving money or whatever but I was very poorly trained and at the time that I interviewed, with simply asked if I minded helping out with secretarial work. I thought that meant when there was a rush or an overload as a member of the team would I help and of course I said yes. No it really is you are mostly a secretary-ie 80%. I...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        If you are advertising for a cat dog position, didn’t state it as such rather than advertising for legal Defense paralegals and making them secretaries.

        Wilson Elser2019-02-05
      Found 211 reviews