WineDirect Reviews | Glassdoor

WineDirect Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
WineDirect CEO Joe Waechter (no image)
Joe Waechter
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in American Canyon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a culture of people who are really smart and ambitious and WDI gave us the opportunity to learn and grow. There isnt much growth vertically due to its size, but I was able to grow a lot horizontally and better my experience when I was there. If my husband hadnt gotten a job in another town, I would still be there. But because of my experience at WineDirect, I was able to get a great job in our new home... town. I loved my colleagues and manager there and felt that we were a true team from the very top of the company all the way down to the newest person. If only every company was this challenging and fun! I miss you all soooo much! XOXOX

    Show More

    Cons

    I would have liked to be able to earn a bonus but this was not a possibility there. But they did pay well and it was a fun place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Try to get rid of some of the negative people who never have a good word to say. They cover up their incompetence with negativity. You'd be so much better off without these people. They just bring everybody down!

    WineDirect2019-05-30
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Former Employee in American Canyon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful facility, office, coffee, Friday Happy Hour

    Cons

    Executive Management Team does not have a clue about creating culture but preaches it is the most important thing. Values defined are nonsense as they are not truly understood at the top. This is not High School. Stop bad mouthing employees to whoever will listen, making excuses for those with poor performance and working solid employees ridiculously long hours including weekends. The best employees have left and... are continuing to leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace yourselves

    WineDirect2019-05-21

    WineDirect Response

    May 23, 2019HR Director

    Hello, thank you for your feedback. We consider feedback important as we strive to grow as an organization. We want all employees to feel engaged and excited about the work they are doing. If you would be willing to share more details about your experience, we’d like to personally ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (6)

    "A Disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Napa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A good concept but lacks the leadership to execute.

    Cons

    There is a serious lack of competence and emotional intelligence at the top. Promises are made to customers that are impossible to honor. The environment is toxic, where badmouthing and blame is the order of the day instead of creating an environment where solutions are fostered. Middle managers have nowhere to turn with questions or assistance.

    Advice to Management

    Begin promoting based on ability and hard work and stop covering for weakness at the top. Start recognizing the people who are coming in day in and day out, getting the job done with no drama. Without them, you would not be in business. Stop pushing difficult conversations off on those who are unable to control outcomes. Own it. Stop speaking badly about employees, clients and competitors. Look for... solutions instead of others to blame about problems that you create. Start responding to emails and be responsive timely to questions and concerns. Be respectful of employees’ time, in and out of the office. Live up to the values you market to the outside.

    Show More
    WineDirect2019-05-17

    WineDirect Response

    May 23, 2019HR Director

    Hello, thank you for your feedback. We consider feedback important as we strive to grow as an organization. We want all employees to feel engaged and excited about the work they are doing. If you would be willing to share more details about your experience, we’d like to personally ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Finance Temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Temp in American Canyon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful Facility. Very modern. Most of the employees I met were very welcoming. But the cons far outweigh the pros.

    Cons

    Horrible Management. Preferential treatment to select employees and CFO is beyond forgetful, rude and disrespectful. After only a few days in this environment I refused to return.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, not just your executives.

    WineDirect2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Napa, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Happy Hour on Fridays were the best part.

    Cons

    Extremely busy during Christmas and New Year! Hard to take the day off.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    WineDirect2019-03-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Good on paper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in American Canyon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good on paper. Full service product and services offering plus the reach around sales pitch experience. Nice new building and Friday happy hour to drink alcohol.

    Cons

    Leadership manages by chaos and ambiguity leaving a wake of "what did i do wrong" feelings. Not sure if it is an unintentional disorder or it's intentional but the only way to describe the after taste. If you're not part of the "A" team, your chances of promotion, development and any clear direction is equivalent to a winning the lottery. Mid-management turnover and short tenure was a bad sign while I was... there. Software team lacks maturity and is detached from the pulse of the industry and client needs. Puts Client Services in the middle having to make excuses and empty promises of "it'll be fixed" soon. It's not rocket science in the wine or software industry. Unfortunately, Client Services was no better on self improvement. Any recent positive review is most likely suspect.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Culture, behavior and actions need to change and that can only happen at the top. But, all of that seems to be the broken dream so step aside. Let good mid-management, and there are a small few, do their job and give them the tools to manage their people effectively. Inspire them and treat everyone as if the life of the company counted on it. Lastly, stop parking in the handicap spot.

    WineDirect2019-04-18

    WineDirect Response

    May 23, 2019HR Director

    Hello, thank you for your feedback. We consider feedback important as we strive to grow as an organization. We want all employees to feel engaged and excited about the work they are doing. If you would be willing to share more details about your experience, we’d like to personally ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time

    Pros

    Hard working people, some good management, brand new facility.

    Cons

    Move into a new warehouse facility went badly. CEO thinks he's in details but he's not. Bad culture, created by CEO, who badmouths people constantly.

    WineDirect2018-02-03
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glenwillow, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WineDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There was nothing really good about this job, maybe the overtime.

    Cons

    Pay, work environment, micromanaged, lied to, no communication, promised things in the interview and never received, was told I could move up. Absolutely no where to go unless someone quits.

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes and see who is actually doing the work.

    WineDirect2018-03-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Slackers need not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in American Canyon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WineDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is plenty of room to grow within WineDirect, Motivated people who want to be a part of the success of this fast paced and forward-thinking business are supported and encouraged by the management teams. Great ideas are recognized and implemented routinely, validating the team spirit of the company. The people you work with day in and day out can really make or break any job, WineDirect has managed to find... (and keep) some pretty great individuals!

    Show More

    Cons

    While growth is something you want with any company, the rapid development at WineDirect has at times out-paced the ability to adequately staff. This unnecessarily burdens those who are committed to the success of the company but are already doing the best that they can. Work/life balance becomes a challenge during these times.

    WineDirect2018-01-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "THE BEST JOB EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Coordinator in American Canyon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WineDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    To be able to work here is a dream come true. I know most people say that about there jobs but I mean it. Working here has been such a breath of fresh air and a real eye opener to how much people actually care for their staff. Once you walk in WineDirect your automatically feeling like apart of the family. This company cares and it will always have you going home thinking of how great of a job you did.

    Cons

    Believe me you wont find anything :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great team work and awesome communication.

    WineDirect2017-12-15
Found 27 reviews