Work for Progress Reviews | Glassdoor

Work for Progress Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
Work for Progress President of the Board Crystal Bergeman (no image)
Crystal Bergeman
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Canvassing Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Work for Progress

    Pros

    Really flexible and amazing people

    Cons

    Long-hours and hard to find times that work

    Work for Progress2016-10-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Poor management, top to bottom."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time

    Pros

    Fulfilling work, work with some great people (and some not..)

    Cons

    Upper management hires extremely unprofessional kids for the director position. They crack under the pressure and they act out. It's all a favorite's game, if you stay on their good side, you get the best opportunities. If they decide they don't like the way you look, or something equally unimportant, then watch out - they'll go out of their way to make things difficult for you. Their values are out of whack, they'd rather pursue childish grudges than utilize their resources as best as they can. This all leads to a mess of an "office", and drives away talented and hard-working employees.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2018-10-30
  3. "An Alright Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Field Canvasser in Colorado Springs, CO

    I worked at Work for Progress part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized, Manageable, Pays decently for your efforts.

    Cons

    I did not stay long enough to form any cons or negative view.

    Work for Progress2018-09-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Canvasser in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Promised to pay $15 an hour. Ended up getting 10.20 an hour, feeling totally ripped off.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2018-09-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Disorganized, run by kids, unprofessional, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Canvasser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nope. It's good exercise and you figure out where good neighborhoods meet bad ones with a quickness.

    Cons

    No logic lives here. From sub-par tablets to maps that don't make sense, the whole program is mismanaged.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2018-09-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Their system doesn't even accept the standrd file types"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Canvass Director in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time

    Pros

    It's a worthwhile effort at the right time.

    Cons

    They are a slave to technology which is a very cruel master to them.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2018-07-19
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Immoral Pay Scale, Hostile Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They will hire anyone regardless of skills, background, etc.

    Cons

    They will fire anyone for small reasons without blinking

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2017-09-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Work for Progress part-time

    Pros

    Awesome work place and great start.

    Cons

    None as of now and no problems

    Work for Progress2017-07-02
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Many Try but Few Succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Canvass Director in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress full-time

    Pros

    Their campaigns work on important causes, and winning a campaign is a good thing for people and the country.

    Cons

    This organization, and many of the other organizations within the public interest network, have a really hard time with employee retention when it comes to the canvass director and campaign organizer roles. In a lot of cases you end up working so many hours per week it works out to be less than a minimum wage salary. In many cases the canvassers that you hire as a director, make more an hour than you do. There are a few situations involving canvasser's concerns/safety that were not handled well by higher management in my opinion. I also feel that you are very much just a number in the overall organization of the team. When myself and others raised concerns or decided to quit because we were uncomfortable with the way things were done, the management seemed more than willing to drop us and find the next person who would be willing to blindly follow their game plan. Because of that, I really didn't feel valued.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2017-05-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good place for some quick, short-term money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Manager in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Work for Progress for less than a year

    Pros

    People were all nice Hourly rates get better the closer you get to election season You generally get out the effort that you put in Reimburse you for travel expenses if you are a driver

    Cons

    Canvassing can generally be a demoralizing experience Lots of downtime that is technically not counted as part of your workday--you do not get paid for time driving to and from a canvassing location, or time spent at meetings before you go out. If you have an 8-hour shift, you might get paid for 5.5 hours of it.

    Continue reading
    Work for Progress2016-09-19
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews