Workiva Reviews | Glassdoor

Workiva Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 231 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Workiva CEO Martin Vanderploeg
Martin Vanderploeg
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Professional Services Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Services Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workiva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, work hard and play hard. Good compensation and top notch health benefits. Accessible and integrated management. Opportunities for advancement vertically and horizontally (horizontal would require sales accumen)

    Cons

    Long hours during busy season, most employees agree filing season is comparable but favorable to an audit. Although audits would be much longer in duration.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Maybe get a 401k if for nothing more than employee recruitment tool. Current stock compensation plan is way better than a 401k but honestly I feel many employees don’t want to put all their eggs in one Workiva basket.

    Workiva2018-12-20
  2. "Great Internship and Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Reporting Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workiva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible work environment, great company culture, good pay, learn a lot in a short amount of time

    Cons

    A retirement plan match woudl be nice

    Workiva2019-07-10
  3. Helpful (4)

    "So close and yet so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Workiva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are wonderful and strong mid level managers. Some of the best I have seen or heard of in my career. Genuine, caring and supportive. Work hard and play hard, lots of great bonus meals, treats and outings. Still a little start up culture left where you can change things or propose new technology.

    Cons

    It's great as long as you force yourself to keep drinking the Kool-aid and not pay attention, once the illusion is shattered and you've been through about 6-9 months of hearing what leadership says but then seeing what they do not match up... you realize there are some real problems and lack of genuine honesty. You'll get the PC or popular answer to everything and they want you to see that a mid-west company can be...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Walk your talk or change your messaging so you can stay true to yourself but you can't honestly say one thing and then maintain the wildly different path you want. Be brutally honest with yourselves, decide what you want this company and product to be and how you want to execute that while making small adjustments with some measured feedback. Clean up the org structure and communication.

    Workiva2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (4)

    "It's all about perception vs. performance driven results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Ames, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workiva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, lots of kool-aid to drink, very nice office building,. If you're on the right team with a hot product that has significant growth - you'll be promoted - regardless of your contribution (and the same holds true if you're on the opposite of things - mature product / slow growth product means that you'll get reorged - regardless of contribution/value)

    Cons

    Constant reorgs as Workiva lacks strategy and planning (it's beyond start up company type reorgs) when then leads to lack of ability to understand your role. If you try to mitigate this by taking proactive steps to define your role and add value, you will be 'encouraged' - but not supported and provided true support (rather you'll get negative feedback as you're straying from the herd) Over promise to customers (all...

    Show More
    Workiva2019-06-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Focus on performance — at any cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Workiva full-time

    Pros

    Many amenities in office — free snacks and drinks, special events, and relation areas. Great technology and flexibility to use preferred tools. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    R&D is mostly male. Very, very few women in Engineering. Only a handful of women in R&D management positions (primarily from groups outside Engineering). Difficult to build relationships if you’re not “one of the guys.” Few men in leadership perceive this challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Stop communicating key structural changes via email. Evaluate ways to promote a holistic gender-neutral management style in R&D. Do not underestimate the potential in each employee. They will give and give and give until they have nothing left.

    Workiva2019-05-08
  6. Helpful (10)

    "I loved the company itself but had a terrible experience with management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Workiva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company benefits Free option for healthcare The Ames, IA office had good amenities Competitive pay Remote work available

    Cons

    There was no 401k match

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management: be very careful who you hire/promote to a management position. This for me was a hard life lesson learned, and I will be stronger in the future when it becomes necessary to stick up for myself and others and to report inappropriate behavior in time. Before my position at Workiva, I have had positive and productive relationships with all of my managers. On personal calls, I heard this manager call...

    Show More
    Workiva2019-04-02

    Workiva Response

    April 9, 2019

    While this is extremely unfortunate to hear and absolutely not representative of how we expect our employees to conduct themselves, I do truly appreciate you sharing your feedback. To discuss this further, please reach out to Emily.Forrester@Workiva.com

  7. "Truly a Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workiva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teams, Management, Location, Food, Product

    Cons

    There aren't any cons to working here.

    Workiva2019-02-26
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Great Solution, and fun culture, needs to grow up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Workiva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great solution, HQ, and culture. Millennial friendly and positive atmosphere and laid back environment.

    Cons

    Good Ole boys Network, preventing growth, and change, due to initial success and unwillingness to change. Lacking key experienced talent necessary to help to be a true enterprise player. Also a lot of white males, and very little minorities and woman in Management roles.

    Advice to Management

    While re-organizing take a hard look at yourself, and your old ways of doing things and admit and allow for other's experiences and understanding of the enterprise space be a part of your team. Treat those entering the company with equal respect, and collaboration

    Workiva2019-02-18
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great product, but losing their culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workiva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, casual dress, customers need you because they need the product, friendly people, cool office, team outings, happy hours

    Cons

    Old app is dying and the new app doesn't provide enough, a shift in leadership has caused culture change, if you don't work in Aims (HQ) you get shafted, the CS department changed focus to causing them to be less focused on "outstanding customer service" to "how many customers can you support", if your not a favorite of management you don't have any advancement opportunities.

    Workiva2019-02-19
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Not as great as people think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workiva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits package is great.

    Cons

    The company has reorganized a few times over the last year. Workiva is management heavy. Departments can have 1 - 2 employees reporting to a manager. Management is also notorious for saying one thing then doing the opposite. You have to watch your back because managers will play favorites and complainers are rewarded. Workiva also boasts higher pay but raises are almost nonexistent and bonuses, if given, are not really...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do what you say and say what you mean. Your managers are also just that “managers” anyone who was an actual leader has been let go. Leaders inspire greatness, your managers inspire a culture of CYA.

    Workiva2018-12-26
Found 231 reviews