KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Write Score

Is this your company?

Write Score

Add a Review

Write Score Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 of over 35 reviews

3.4
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Write Score CEO Criquette Copelyn (no image)
Criquette Copelyn
18 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

9m

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,830

952 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 5 years

    Great Company

    Apr 7, 2021 - Scorer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful work from home opportunity can make your own hours somewhat as long as deadlines are met. Provide thorough virtual training.

    Cons

    There are times of years that can fall around holidays where workload is greater. But they work well with employee availability if given advance notice.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Decent Side Gig

    Sep 13, 2021 - Work From Home Professional Scorer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Work from home - Set your own schedule - Option to opt-out - Simple Orientation

    Cons

    - Pay is not much - Orientation is not paid

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Great Opportuntiy

    Apr 21, 2021 - Scorer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Promote from within, good communication, great training

    Cons

    Pay is low to start

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Micromanaged and not trusted

    Mar 22, 2021 - Customer Service in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed the people I worked with for the most part. Enjoyed my job and my position. They made an effort to make you feel appreciated when it was convenient for them.

    Cons

    Overworked in multiple departments. Worked tons of overtime and got no appreciation for it. Micromanaged and was being watched after I started speaking up about things that were happening. I started to feel like I had to watch my back and keep documents of conversations between manager cause she would change her mind or said that she told me something else. It really took a toll on my mental health. No benefits, no PTO and you get denied for any days off during the school year even if it’s for a wedding or important event in your life.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Just Enough To Get By

    Jan 20, 2021 - Professional Scorer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, own schedule,

    Cons

    Didn't know when work would be available, had to always have the computer or laptop on to see when work would come through

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Room for improvement

    Nov 30, 2020 - Test Scorer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible job, had a supportive team leader, assignment deadlines could be extended

    Cons

    - Pay is extremely low. This is not the job for you if you are looking for a steady income or some income to help pay your bills. The company needs to change the pay. - I came across an issue with essay content that is not even addressed in the study guides/rubric meaning the essays aren't scored properly (the issue, if addressed, would affect some of the response detail scores negatively). - You do not know when assignments will arrive in your inbox making it difficult to plan your day. You can't be too far from your computer. I wish they could make it so that assignments will be sent to us in the morning but it can come in anytime. Fortunately, work that arrives in the evening isn't due that day. You could also get work over the weekend. - As others have said elsewhere, the scoring isn't always consistent. This is because the study guides have not been updated to include what the rubric looks like currently. You'll score it based on what your study guides tell you and then in your feedback, the person scoring you will tell you something different. I even found inconsistencies between my presentation guide and the starter guide. If they would just update the study guide regularly, they could eliminate a lot of problems and questions between the scorer and their supervisor. if you do get hired and you encounter this issue, just ignore it and go with the flow. Pretend that's the way it goes. It will make your work more pleasant.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Flexible work

    Sep 8, 2020 - Test Scorer in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make your own schedule

    Cons

    The pay is very low.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    After 4 years with Writescore this was by far the worst year yet

    Mar 23, 2020 - Test Scorer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros of the company include: extra seasonal income, in year's past a pro was ability to work according to your own schedule (this is one thing that started being micromanaged this year and has moved to the cons), enjoyment in reading the essays.

    Cons

    The cons of the company include: So, halfway through the year a shift happened with Grade Band Checkers (those who check the scorers work). I truly enjoyed work until this change. Communication became almost non-existent with the new GBC. The former GBC was always communicating and checking on scorers. If I asked a question of the new GBC, I was not given an answer but in return asked to answer my own question or what did I think the answer should be. That is not the characteristics of a good leader. I have always been able to work at my leisure as long as deadline was met; however, the new GBC wanted to know what times I would be working down to the exact hour, taking away all flexibility. I personally do not care to be micromanaged especially when the draw for the company is being able to work according to my schedule. The company has scoring tools in place to help scorers know how to score each component , I found that the shift in GBC's left us with someone who likes to do things her way and not necessarily follow what is in place by the company. This makes things especially confusing and leaves scorers scratching their heads . One moment you may be doing it correctly and do the same thing later on and be told it isn't right. On another note, I do believe scorers could be paid more, especially for handwritten essays.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Extra Money

    Feb 12, 2020 - Checker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a great way to have extra money.

    Cons

    Not a fix gig so you really can't rely on it.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Less Micro-Managing, Better Communication

    Feb 12, 2020 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work helps will daily expenses and things of that nature. Reading and correcting essays brings is a nice break from the daily rut. Enjoy looking for errors and making corrections in other contractors work

    Cons

    What works for some sets does not work for others. Which makes for incorrect scoring and corrections. Person in charge micro-manages and is demeaning at times. Never is clear on what she really wants. Her communication is lacking in clarity. Doesn't follow the rubrics. Lost a lot of joy in working for the company with the changes in personnel this year. Most days you feel like you cannot win for losing. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

Popular Careers with Write Score Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Write Score? Share Your Experiences

or