Zebra Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Zebra Technologies Reviews

Updated February 19, 2018
354 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Zebra Technologies CEO and Director Anders Gustafsson
Anders Gustafsson
194 Ratings

354 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is slim to none due to massive project load" (in 7 reviews) (in 10 reviews)

  • Become too big so full of politics, nepotism, us and them mentality with acquisition of motorola, disconnect between business european needs and US HQ (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work On the Technology Front"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Architect in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Architect in Bengaluru (India)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zebra Technologies full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    - I have been associated with Zebra(Formerly Motorola Solutions/Symbol) for more than 10 years, it has been a satisfactory and enriching journey so far.
    - Offers Good Work Life balance (Projects/Programs are well planned ahead)
    - Working on Niche Technology (Enterprise Mobility, RFID, IOT)
    - Open door culture to express your views, concerns
    - Management supports and emphasize to think through innovative idea's and work on POC to showcase in the Technology event.
    - Management is supportive on internal job movements across the team's, which helps to get exposure to different areas.
    - Zebra is a growing company as it is on a hiring spree, thus provides lots of opportunity to lead and succeed.
    - Compensation is satisfactory to Good, At lower levels the compensation is very competitive.

    Cons

    - Process Oriented which at times might take a toll on the overall productivity
    - No Recreation room / No Gym
    - Branding is a concern, thou they are the No.1 in the Enterprise Mobility.

    Advice to Management

    - Management needs to think through ways in Branding the company, as it is not well known name in the Indian IT Industry. Thou Zebra is number 1 in the Enterprise Mobility Market with 60+% market share (Honeywell the next competitor is far behind with ~20%).
    - Plan on Yearly Master Health checkup program for the employee's.

    Zebra Technologies Response

    May 16, 2017 – Director Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to describe your experience with us. We're happy to see you have been with us for 10+ years, cheers to you! It's great to know that you're enjoying your time here. We... More


  2. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Holtsville, NY
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Holtsville, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zebra Technologies part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Company gives you food frequently, Great people to work with, Helpful management when beginning. This was one of the best work experiences i ever had, unfortunately, it was seasonal but I hope to be able to come back when things get busy later in the year again.

    Cons

    I cant think of any

    Advice to Management

    You guys are awesome!

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Feb 19, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    No matter how wonderful we hear Zebra is, our most important asset is and will always be employees like you. Keep doing what you are doing. It's working!

  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zebra Technologies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good Structure and lots over very good people

    Cons

    Headquarters in Chicago where it is very cold

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Feb 19, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much! We will definitely speak with Mayor Emanuel to turn up the heat!


  4. "Pretty nice place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, WI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zebra Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Very nice benefits package (4 weeks off to start of PTO a year!) and nice medical insurance. Pay is pretty comparable to the other printing companies around. Company is growing quickly and investing in nice equipment for what they produce. Certainly willing to spend money to get the best of the best.

    Cons

    Management could focus on being more involved with the people. It would be nice to see more events that are geared towards team building and bringing different shifts together. Also, would like to see production standards up to the rest of the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Please get more involved with the floor - most of the individuals would be thrilled to feel like management was more vested in them as a person.

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for the feedback! Greenville, WI is one of our very best sites to work at and we take great pride in it. Thank you for taking the time to provide such thoughtful feedback. We... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Zebra Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Challenging work, Good work-life balance

    Cons

    Not many food options.
    Expensive location with no public transport.

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Feb 12, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback regarding our food service. We will be sure to escalate to our outsourced partner. Additionally, we do have a PACE bus stop just outside of our building and offer a... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Lincolnshire, IL
    Current Employee - Management in Lincolnshire, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zebra Technologies full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Nice Office in Lincolnshire, IL
    Friendly Associates
    Interesting Work
    Company doing well financially

    Cons

    Company is shifting focus and investment from HW to Digital - which is great if your education and background is CE or CS... not so much if your background is HW - centric.

    Advice to Management

    Customers primarily buy Zebra printers because they are workhorses with industry leading performance and reliability. Don't forget this as you transition to "digital".

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Jan 22, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for the feedback! Zebra's like you are the bedrock of our success and we are constantly evolving with the ever-changing retail space.


  7. "Fast Growing Company, Many Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Lincolnshire, IL
    Former Employee - Sales in Lincolnshire, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zebra Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Was able to work remotely - this is based by department

    Great benefits and travel opportunities for sales organization

    Implemented an awesome culture program

    Cons

    No clear direction from management

    Team that I was a part of seemed unsure of what roles we played in the company

    Advice to Management

    Be proactive and don't dwell on the little things - sometimes the work needs to get done instead of not getting done at all due to silly issues (manager was very specific about how things need to be done THEIR way.

    My manager was a great person and worker for the company, but do not think they fit the role to be an actual manager.

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Jan 19, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for the feedback. No doubt your positive attitude permeates throughout Zebra Nation!

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid Alpharetta.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Alpharetta, GA
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zebra Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay and Good benefits.

    Cons

    Avoid Alpharetta office at all costs. Culture is the worst I've ever seen. There is massive turnover due to a new Director brought in last year who is not qualified for the position. Executives are doing nothing while employees and even contractors are running away. There is no HR in the building and verbal abuse is rampant, lawsuit just waiting to happen.

    Advice to Management

    SVP needs to get involved quickly, being out of sight and out of mind does not excuse what is going on. Director is not qualified for this position nor any other management position.

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Jan 26, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Zebra is committed to an honest, ethical workplace; free from abusive behavior. Every employee is responsible for reading, understanding and complying with the Zebra Business Code of Conduct. If you... More


  9. "Good old boy management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zebra Technologies full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Decent benefits and quality products.

    Cons

    Zebra hires people with low wages and in return has people that are clueless as how to do their job. Very political, and no room for growth. The upper management is barely there to understand the issues and then firefighting, finger pointing and micromanagement style begins. Directors who’ve been there for too long and just take care of each other instead of making any real positive change.

    Advice to Management

    Get off your chairs and correct the issues from the top.

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Feb 1, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Our culture and its development is truly a work in progress. We appreciate your feedback as we recognize where we excel and where improvement may be needed. While you indicated you are a former... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Zebra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Engineering in Holtsville, NY
    Current Employee - Vice President Engineering in Holtsville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zebra Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    excellent benefits, good growth strategy for the company, positive direction regarding technology innovation

    Cons

    still some legacy thinking that is too prevalent

    Advice to Management

    be more concerned with attracting new talent than catering to the old guard

    Zebra Technologies Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We strive to be the worlds best employer and we can only do that with leaders like yourself. We aim to continue the momentum from last May to ensure the mantra... More


Showing 354 of 416 reviews
Reset Filters