phs Group Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
phs Group CEO David Taylor-Smith
David Taylor-Smith
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch in the Caerphilly canteen(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good support, great people, and willing to listen to ideas(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office location means lower wages than in city location(in 6 reviews)

  • "I would have to say that I have enjoyed every minute so no cons(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Marketing and Admin Intern"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at phs Group full-time

    Pros

    If you want to see hard work, loyalty and perseverance, look no further than the employees of PHS Group. I am from Caerphilly, South Wales, where the head office is based, and did work experience there when I was 16, again when I was 18 and then a further two more times as an administration and marketing intern at ages 19 and 20. They were flexible, supportive and encouraged me to explore a diverse range of activities within the company. I was first introduced to PHS through my mum, who is their longest serving employee having worked there an incredible 43 years. She is emblematic of the loyal and hardworking culture at PHS, as well as the dedication to the progeny of the company. I’ve grown up knowing many of the head office employees, who are all lovely individuals and care genuinely about the company’s prosperity. I have been lucky to have such role models in my working life. After working at PHS that first summer, the experience and expertise I gained there made me a better administrator, organiser and increased my confidence when liaising with staff and clients alike. In addition, I have always been paid fairly for my work and that income assisted me in financing my expenses during university. In 2014 I left Wales to pursue my undergraduate degree at an Ivy League University in America, where I secured two campus jobs using my experience at PHS to bolster my application. Even now as I look for post-graduate employment, I am frequently asked in interviews about PHS and the skills I gained in data analysis, marketing and general administration.

    Cons

    None, I had a very positive experience.

    Continue reading
    phs Group2018-06-16

    phs Group Response

    June 18, 2018Mark - phs team

    Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear that you had such a great experience in phs which sounds like has helped in your working life. It's so good to hear this. Hopefully your review will go someway in helping others with their decision making to join us. We will make sure we pass on your feedback to management. We wish you all the best in your future and hope you'll keep sharing your positive phs experience. Thanks again.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Over worked being pushed too hard"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    None as they just push and push for more productivity and less respect for the employee

    Cons

    360 routing system is rubbish, new CEO is pushing service drivers too hard to cover too much productivity we are all exhausted and heading towards burnout.

    Continue reading
    phs Group2019-03-24

    phs Group Response

    March 27, 2019People Team

    Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. We are disappointed to read your comments and that you felt you couldn't think of any pros of working at phs. We have forwarded your comments through to the senior management team. Thanks again for your comments

  3. Helpful (1)

    "paralegal"

    2.0
     

    I worked at phs Group

    Pros

    paid overtime was a benefit

    Cons

    management was horrible and poorly operated

    phs Group2016-07-08
  4. "Nutritionist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nutri 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at phs Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, easy working environment, good commute

    Cons

    Micromanagement, disorganized at times, nonequal treatment

    Continue reading
    phs Group2016-03-15
  5. "lvn"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    LVN in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at phs Group

    Pros

    Great learning tool lots of walking

    Cons

    Hmmm ill keep my mouth shut

    phs Group2016-02-08
  6. "Workhorse"

    3.0
     

    I worked at phs Group

    Pros

    Awesome people to work at my location

    Cons

    Crazy hours and sometimes no appreciation

    phs Group2015-12-17
  7. "UW review"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at phs Group

    Pros

    The company has a great culture.

    Cons

    Pay is low for volume of work and pay

    phs Group2015-11-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "HR Generalist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Fairfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at phs Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hard-working employees, strong will, willing to learn and grow

    Cons

    Poor communications, need additional training on proper communications and how to treat employees fairly

    Continue reading
    phs Group2015-05-13
  9. "Review."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telephone Account Manager in Tamworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Management tend to leave you to it a lot of the time. You find that your team support you more than the managers.

    phs Group2020-03-11

    phs Group Response

    April 3, 2020People Team

    Hi, thanks for the review. I agree that the people at phs are lovely. That's what makes our culture and atmosphere so amazing. Sorry to hear that you dont feel supported by your manager, this is something I will follow up and cascade to the senior management team. Stay safe.

  10. "Positive Sales Culture + Great Learning and Development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Consultant in Tamworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at phs Group full-time

    Pros

    - encouraging leaders, frequent interaction from CEO down to line-managers - consistent incentives, financial rewards and out of work activities - flexible work arrangements (within reason, e.g childcare, doctors apts.) - strong L&D, training updates and products knowledge frequently refreshed

    Cons

    - low turnover of staff, hampering opportunities to progress - inconsistency with data - admin can be time consuming and detract from sales

    Continue reading
    phs Group2020-02-18

    phs Group Response

    April 3, 2020People Team

    Hi, thanks for leaving a 5 star review. Yes our CEO does communicate with all level at phs Group and specialist divisions to ensure everyone keeps up to date with new initiatives. That's whats makes us an amazing company to work for. Our L&D team are always working very hard to ensure we have the right training needs in the right place at the right time to enhance phs group. Thanks again for the review. Stay safe.

Found 160 reviews