uTest Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
93%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
uTest CEO & Co-Founder Doron Reuveni (no image)
Doron Reuveni
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunities to connect with professional testers(in 13 reviews)

  • "You can work from home and make a good money(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "This situation could be avoided if some project managers take time to explain more what the testers are supposed to do(in 14 reviews)

  • "There were no cons during my employment(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Testing"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at uTest part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, reliable, helpful, opportunity, completely satisfied.

    Cons

    No cons that I can share

    uTest2020-02-26
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Earn some pocket money!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tester in Corona, CA

    I have been working at uTest part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good way to earn some extra cash Opportunity to work on several projects Not get bored with one project since there are a variety of projects

    Cons

    Cant be full-time job since salary will not be enough.

    uTest2019-04-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to start career as a QA tester"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software QA Tester in Cary, NC

    I have been working at uTest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Utest community is very friendly.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great, and sometimes it takes long time to get approved for your work.

    uTest2019-03-26
  4. "I liked my job in uTest, but i should comeback to NY"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Analyst in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at uTest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best friendly team, Strong organization

    Cons

    They can't relocate! I didn't like developers there. They were making mistakes in very simple code, which even I can fix this source code.

    uTest2019-02-17
  5. "Solid Company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Software QA Tester 

    I worked at uTest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is solid, platform is easy to understand, you can pick up valuable skills, and fellow workers are very nice

    Cons

    Better communication with higher-ups, sometimes it could be hard to reach them

    Continue reading
    uTest2019-02-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "good starting point for a QA beginner"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tester in Framingham, MA

    I have been working at uTest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can manage working load An interesting community

    Cons

    not many opportunities for professional grow

    uTest2019-01-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Tester"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at uTest part-time

    Pros

    Some programs have nice residual-like income. You get paid for not doing much at all. Can work from anywhere in the world Steady stream of test usually, even though you may not be qualified for them

    Cons

    They don't care about paying on time. For instance, if a pay date falls on the weekend most NORMAL and COURTEOUS companies will pay the Friday before to ensure they keep their word about your pay date. Not Utest. I was told I would be paid today, just checked my Paypal nothing. The Utest platform only says pending for my payment. That is UNACCEPTABLE. Grow up Utest. I should be paid when you say that I will be paid.

    uTest2018-09-17
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Good community; Sloppy Team Leads, Very Low Pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tester in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at uTest part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good documentation - Active community - A few interesting projects

    Cons

    - Very Low Pay whether your followign a test case or exploratory tests - Stay away from exploratory testing! The hours you spent does NOT compensate for the ULTRA LOW PAY and; - You're at the mercy of some test managers or team leads who are very sloppy and subjective. I have had many disputes with either role in the business and technical aspect of a bug.

    Continue reading
    uTest2018-09-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Software Tester"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at uTest

    Pros

    You can work remotely from home. You can learn new things.

    Cons

    There is nothing to write.

    uTest2018-08-31
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Good concept but badly organized"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Tester 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at uTest part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible timings. Some times you get interesting and challenging test cycles.

    Cons

    Many times no clear instructions in the overview. After you spend lot of time testing and find bugs, they get rejected as they were known issues to the client but they never attached the known issues lists to test cycle. No value for testers time and their efforts. Testers are taken for granted. Client who evaluates the issues is not informed clearly about utest rating policy and many times the WAD bugs gets rejected with different reasons. Many times when you are half way through your testing, they inform you that the links are wrong or devices are not in scope. All your effort is wasted. It's very challenging for the testers to remain motivated with utest as the management attitude is not reasonable towards testers.

    Continue reading
    uTest2018-08-28
Found 93 reviews