ARVO Reviews | Glassdoor

ARVO Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
20%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
ARVO CEO Sally Atherton (no image)
Sally Atherton
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Top of the list association"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Committee Operations in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ARVO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For 26 years I've worked for non-profit medical & allied associations much larger than ARVO, and I’m still amazed at how much value ARVO is able to provide to its nearly 12,000 members around the world. That kind of magic is only possible with a dedicated team of professionals who back one another. The leadership is top-notch, mission-minded & supportive -- with a real open-door policy. The employee benefits package..., too, is progressive and as great as anywhere in the DC-metro region (the 401k match alone is better than any other organization I've seen)!

    Show More

    Cons

    Although generally I consider the staff size a positive (for example, we all know one another, share one floor & fit together in a large conference room), when we near the huge Annual Meeting, I wish we could all clone ourselves. But, annual meetings are hectic no matter where you go.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the hometown feeling alive. The confidence, compassion, enthusiasm and positive feelings around ARVO are awesome!

    ARVO2016-03-10
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Positive Experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ARVO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been here now for over a year and can say that I’m glad I decided to join ARVO. I like my job, my manager and co-workers. The association is well established, respected and financially sound. The leadership overall has been supportive and progressive, open to trying new ideas. Other positives: Benefits are excellent - lots of options Flexible work schedule and now offer... telecommuting up to 2/days a week. Compensation is good, performance bonus opportunity. Support professional development – outside training, and inside like lunch sessions on management and business topics, online courses. Staff recognition awards

    Show More

    Cons

    Support international membership, so sometimes have to be available for evening or early morning conference calls.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support creative approaches and new ideas.

    ARVO2016-03-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good work is recognized and rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ARVO full-time

    Pros

    A solid mission, passionate member leaders and a talented, dedicated, smart staff. Terrific opportunities for advancement for those who have a positive, can-do attitude and are willing to pitch in and give their best wherever they're needed. This is an organization where the leaders (staff and members) work hard and have high expectations for themselves and the rest of the staff. Meeting and exceeding those... expectations brings rewards. The organization itself is fiscally sound and healthy, as is the membership base. Flexible work hours, telecommuting available, excellent benefit package.

    Show More

    Cons

    The organization has been through a significant transition in recent years, as leadership took the necessary but sometimes painful steps to transform "mom and pop" style management to higher, more professional levels. Unfortunately, many staff members were just not up to these higher standards, resulting in a good deal of turnover (and some sour grapes). Because membership is global, this is not always a 9 to 5 job.... This is not the type of organization where you get recognition just for showing up; employees are expected to contribute 100% and take the initiative to support members.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change is not easy -- but keep the focus on the big picture and the mission of this worthwhile organization.

    ARVO2016-02-15
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at ARVO

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Working the Annual Meeting.

    Cons

    READERS! Be rest assured that ANY positive ARVO reviews posted here, are either being posted by one of the upper-level managers, or one of the minions being coerced into doing it by one of the upper-level management staff. They realize their heads are on the chopping block. It is only a matter of time before the Board cannot ignore the HUGE turn-over rate, staff complaints being ignored by HR, and the... unbelievable unethical and unprofessional behavior of the CEO and her co-horts. Word is quickly spreading about this throughout the non-profit community about the terrible condition of the ARVO home office. Terrible shame...

    Show More
    ARVO2016-03-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Does NOT have a real open-door policy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ARVO for more than 3 years

    Pros

    International membership experience. Now allowing 2 days work from home with approval from manager Benefits

    Cons

    No real open door-policy, once you let HR know what is happening and how you are feeling, it's conveyed to your manager. Staff members who have not been appreciated for over 4 years, still going above and beyond; working on vacation to meet deadlines, working on weekends, missing events for kids etc. These employees will talk back and when they do, they are canned. Management love it when we quietly work like... unhappy slaves and not voice our opinion. Employees started being terminated over night with no explanation. The 3 top females practices unethical behavior on a regular basis, from sharing confidential information about other members of staff to spreading unflattering rumors damaging a particular person's reputation. Terrible morale. Lots of nepotism and favoritism. Good luck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Empower and encourage staff members. We are not robots.

    ARVO2016-03-16
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Company/Unethical Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ARVO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and talented members. Solid compensation levels.

    Cons

    The senior management has ruined a once respected and thriving association. There's a lot of favoritism among the senior team, and they really don't give a damn about the real staff who does most of the day to day work. if you "play along" with the senior team's throwing staff under the bus you will be liked; however, if you don't you will be blacklisted and forced out.

    ARVO2016-03-08
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Not true to "current employee""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ARVO

    Pros

    The mission and the work of the company. Great benefits and salary.

    Cons

    The previous ED who served ARVO for over 20 years was a professional, hard working and capable woman who lost her position due to her passing. Her leadership made it possible to work in a stable and calm environment. The sourness of past employees comes from losing that type of management and transitioning to an inadequate one. Stating that the organization was managed in a "mom & pop" shop style is offensive to all... of us that knew and worked with her. It is also a lie.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the criticism and learn from it.

    ARVO2016-02-19
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Yeah... no."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ARVO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had an amazing boss, to whom I look as a mentor and professional coach, if not friend. The people doing all the hard labor -- really getting their hands dirty every day to make ARVO a better association for its members -- they're awesome.

    Cons

    I left on my own accord, like many staff, because hardworking staff are being treated as if they're not valued, even though these worker bees are the ones carrying the association and keeping it alive. The Board was warned, yet they ignored the signs and continue to pretend there isn't a problem in the national office. No one at a higher level seems to care, unless it makes them look better.

    Advice to Management

    Stop believing the lies and look at the intense turnover rate.... At least 34 people have left or been fired in 4 years. Dramatic changes need to happen in order to make things right.

    ARVO2016-02-18
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Upper Management SUCKS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ARVO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Good location -Amazing, hardworking, dedicated coworkers -Great mission

    Cons

    Employee moral is low. -Upper management is filled with controlling, micro managing, lazy females. -Stingy, upper management spend more money on their "business" lunch and retreats than educating and empowering employees. -Employee's pay is low -Favourism and racism I felt at times. -The way they treat the few males coworker pathetic. -Unprofessional, they use employees when they need help and treat them like... dogs when they don't need them. -They fire people on the spot, one day you're here one day you're not. -Long hours, don't approve overtime. -They don't lead by example. -They only hire their friends and old coworkers. -Upper management is never there to help, always telecommuting -When people quit they don't hire people, they distribute the work to current employees+ their current work. Its hard to use your earnedvacation and sick time. No personal life. Upper management text you from their home to check up on you, they also text you when you are off the clock and on weekends for work related. Spend more time in useless meetings than actually doing work. When people quit they make up reasons and write up innocent employees, they need to find someone to blame rather than accepting that the company sucks and people leave because they HATE the management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lead the company ethically, morally and be fair. Clean up management and hire directors that are human, not robots that don't even greet you unless they need something.

    ARVO2015-10-14
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Worked at ARVO Full Time over 10 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ARVO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ARVO was a great non-profit association to work for with great benefits and good morale.

    Cons

    Everything changed at ARVO once new management took over 3 years ago. Employees started being terminated over night with no explanation.

    Advice to Management

    The board needs to take a look at current management and make some drastic changes.

    ARVO2014-11-17
Found 21 reviews
</>Embed