ASCENT Reviews | Glassdoor

ASCENT Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
ASCENT CEO  (no image)
0 Ratings
  1. "Ascent is AWESOME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ASCENT full-time

    Pros

    Responsive and have a good client base. Michael and LaReesa are stellar advocates!

    Cons

    Havent worked with them for very long so none at the moment. Thanks

    ASCENT2019-04-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "On the Bubble...ALL THE TIME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporting Analyst in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ASCENT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hands down THE Best manager I have ever worked for. Salt of the Earth, never gets angry but does offer encouragement all the time. IT industry needs more people like him.

    Cons

    Pay is less than market average. Without a doubt, this is a service oriented business. I really enjoyed the time I spent when employed here but the writing was on the wall for me, I just don't fit in at this company. If you come from a Help Desk environment then you may be OK. Everything you do, minute by minute has to be entered into a timesheet. My manager said I needed to carry a tablet, pencil, and... stopwatch with me at all times. Your timesheet needs to reflect minute by minute entries. So if someone calls you, start your stopwatch and record the number of minutes you are on the phone, with who, and most importantly...The Job Number. What's a Job Number? Well, each help desk ticket has a job number and you need to record the time you spend working on that ticket. Here's the tough part, when you enter the time into your timesheet you need to enter it as billable time. Therefore anytime someone talks to you it has to be billable time. The client on the phone has to pay the bill, the time spent talking to you. Well, if you're like me, I walk into the office in the morning and say "Good Morning, how are you doing today?" to my fellow coworkers. They answer back and now I just wasted 10 minutes with no job number to bill to. Later I need a cup of coffee, go to the bathroom, answering inter office emails, and other little non billable things that adds up to 10 minutes here and 10 minutes there and no place to put them on my timesheet because I don't have a job number. By the end of the day I'm 42 minutes short. The company does not like "water cooler chatter". You should not be talking to fellow employees. Even if you want to share expertise, if you don't have a job number, it is not allowed. When I call a fellow employee on the phone, the first thing they ask for is a job number. If you don't have one they hang up. At the end of the month a report is generated, how much did you bill and how much does it cost to have you as an employee. A profitability report. This determines if you will stay with the company or leave. If you like daily pressure, you will be OK here. I was only going to give this place one star because of the high pressure and low pay but the manager earned them another star for being a positive person.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Things like expertise should be quantified in your profitability report. Otherwise, you will end up mindless diligent timesheet worker bees and worker bees with expertise with fly away.

    ASCENT2018-10-31
  3. "Junior sql developer for etl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at ASCENT

    Pros

    Not much to add here because it was a contract but they provide 401k

    Cons

    The health benefits were slightly higher than usual

    ASCENT2018-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Contract Employee at Genentech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at ASCENT for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and that’s it.

    Cons

    Everything. They call/email you multiple times in a day to get what they want from you, and once you do it, they never get back to you about your questions on time. They tell you “I will definitely figure it out for you” and will never get back to you or just simply ignore you. Terrible management for their contract employees. Medical insurance plans also SUCK. Would not recommend if you ever see Ascent hiring for... contractors.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more responsive and respectful.

    ASCENT2018-09-14
  5. "Bioprocess technician for Genentech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Bioprocess Technician in Vacaville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASCENT for less than a year

    Pros

    Set up with large companies to work for that you wouldn't be looked at otherwise.

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits and no actual confirmation that you'll get hired on permanently for the company you're working at.

    ASCENT2017-08-29
  6. "Contract Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Vertriebsmanager in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends

    I worked at ASCENT for more than a year

    Pros

    I was an employee of Ascent in order to be a contractor of another company. My experience with Ascent was fantastic, my account manager was highly knowledgeable, knew all the employment laws, helped me to smoothly and efficiently onboard to both Ascent and the company I was working for (which had a lot of internal rules and regulations which made things very difficult). My account manager checked in with me to... ensure I was being treated well at the company I was working for, and she answered any questions I had. Also, Ascent has an excellent onboarding meeting with new hires, introducing us to the company and explaining their company values (which was far better than the company I was actually doing the work for). When the assignment ended, Ascent was there to explain the process and ensure that this went smoothly as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons about Ascent. I only wish that the company I was doing the work for was as professional, organized and efficient as Ascent was.

    Advice to Management

    My account manager was fantastic, keep hiring great people, keep treating employees as well as I was treated. My hats off to Ascent for a very positive experience, I would highly recommend you to others.

    ASCENT2016-03-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible Benefits. Avoid at all costs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at ASCENT for more than a year

    Pros

    Recruiter was very nice. That's about it.

    Cons

    Basically all this company did was tell me about a mass interviewthat only horescontractors so not to have to give benefits to the lowly IT workers. IF I went throught another third party I would have decent PTO and insurance. The benefits here are beyong bad. NO PAID TIME OFF! NO SICK! Healyh benefits are not affordable. 500 A MONTH FOR THE WORST PLAN AVIALBLE ON THE STATE EXCHANGE! doesn't cover anything either.... The realities of America

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    GIVE PAID TIME OFF! GIVE DECENT INSURANCE!

    ASCENT2015-12-11
  8. "Project Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Project Finance in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ASCENT for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, they were very welcoming and allowed me to obtain a great experience with them. Work hours were good and they taught me a lot.

    Cons

    Some of the workers weren't very friendly in terms of the job, had to work with a couple of people who didn't want to help that much.

    ASCENT2015-07-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Subject Matter Expertise across all Healthcare Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ASCENT

    Pros

    Experts in the field of HIT

    Cons

    Just starting to get the word out.

    ASCENT2013-11-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ASCENT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, opportunity to move up, overall I would recommend people to work here.

    Cons

    Poor management that plays favorites

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fairly

    ASCENT2013-10-17
Found 14 reviews