Acorns Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Acorns Reviews

Updated December 10, 2017
39 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Noah Kerner
32 Ratings

39 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing team filled with hardworking/dedicated people who are committed to our customers

    Cons

    Some processes could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. They're all great people :)

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for the positive review! We'd love to hear more about which processes could use improvement. The next time we run a survey, let us know your thoughts.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Strong mission
    - Driven people
    - Really flexible
    - Open culture

    Cons

    - Process isn't fully optimized yet
    - A few legacy people

    Advice to Management

    Some scaling problems as the company grows could be helped if we:

    - Define team functions more clearly
    - Increase cross functional collaboration
    - Hire better UX/UI people (or give Product more say). It seems like final product decisions are weighed more on tenure than value

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your thoughts. We value your feedback and appreciate the detailed recommendations. We will review and see how we work on these different areas.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting horizon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    Acorns is an amazing place to work at because not only is the growth exponential, the product mission incredibly important, and leadership strong but future is exciting. So many incredible things are on the way that I'm thrilled to be a part of.

    Cons

    My only con I can think of is that there is a lot of process currently on the product side. I'd love if things were a bit more streamlined.

    Advice to Management

    Always keep improving and pushing to be innovative in the fintech space. Ive talked 1 on 1 with most of the C level team and they're all fantastic.

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate and share your excitement. There are many exciting things to come. Please let us know your thoughts on how we can streamline process. As with many growing companies, sometimes product... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "A family away from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    I love the culture here. Everybody is brilliant and passionate about what they are working on.

    Cons

    Lots of hours are encouraged

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate the feedback and are glad you're enjoying your experience. It takes a lot of work from the whole team to accomplish our big goals. If you have any specific concerns, I encourage you to... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "People first culture with great leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    An amazing place to work for!

    Cons

    None.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for your feedback!


  6. "Killer place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Fairly diverse/inclusive team, but could use some work.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more female engineers

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate the feedback. Diversity is top of mind for us. We will continue to push in this area and supporters like you will help us accomplish our goals.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Acorns is an absolutely wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The product is awesome! Management is great as well! They have created an environment that is so helpful for the employee to be comfortable and work efficiently

    Cons

    None. There is not much I can say that is a negative. Obviously it’s a young company and is learning, but nothin of any concern

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! The environment you have created motivates me to work to the best of my abilities every day

    Acorns Response

    Nov 14, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We're happy to see your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "The best in the OC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    Acorns is an awesome company that does care about its customers and employees. It has a clear mission to improve the lives and financial health of the up-and-coming.

    There are plenty of opportunities for growth and career development within the company. Employees have a voice and senior management appreciate everyone's feedback.

    There are many very smart people here you can learn from, and Acorns has a world class engineering organization.

    Cons

    Getting promoted to high level positions is very hard.

    Advice to Management

    Don't put too much emphasis on pedigree when searching candidates for certain high level positions. Working for a big name company does not necessarily equals to superior skills or experience. You may already have the right people right in front of your eyes without you even realizing it.

    Empower, recognize. trust and believe in existing employees that already proven to be successful leaders and give them the opportunity first before recruiting from outside.

    Acorns Response

    Oct 22, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thank you for your candid thoughts. We continually want to focus on developing our talented team and we're committed to providing opportunities to grow. Your feedback is important and we'll do a... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Grow with Acorns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity:

    As a growing company, Acorns offers you the opportunity to be versatile and creative in the way you impact the company. You just need to be able to recognize your opportunities - there are plenty.

    I'm continually stoked to see so many of our customer support agents are not only given the opportunity to grow within the department but are also given the chance to earn a promotion into other departments. It's nice to see that the company invests in their own employees.

    Culture:

    I am also stoked on the relationships I have made with my coworkers. It's easy to wake up and head to "work" when you enjoy working with your peers. The energy they bring is contagious and relentless. I feel privileged to work amongst such talented, intelligent, and ambitious people.

    Cons

    Growing Pains:

    Sometimes we're so focused on the big picture, we don't take time to take care of the little things. Fortunately, we have used these instances as an opportunity to learn and develop.

    Execution:

    With the type of talent we have, I believe we can execute more efficiently. We're getting better though.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take risks so that we innovate and transcend the market space we are in.

    Acorns Response

    Oct 22, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate your comments. With the amazing team and mission, it is easy to get up each day and look forward to work. We are rapidly growing and tackling many priorities, so while there can be... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best culture ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Current Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Culture, perks, career advancement within the company, smart people, great Office management/HR

    Cons

    no cons really so far


Showing 39 of 39 reviews
Reset Filters