Acorns Reviews | Glassdoor

Acorns Reviews

Updated May 11, 2018
43 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Noah Kerner
35 Ratings

43 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "The Fintech company that truly leads with heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Empathetic leaders and team
    -Huge vision
    -A mission that drives everything
    -Strong values that basically everyone lives up to
    -Constant momentum
    -Opportunities to grow for anyone that steps up

    Cons

    No big cons that stand out to me and the thing about this place is that when there’s an issue the team is all over it

    Advice to Management

    Just keep growing, listening, learning and staying true to the values and mission. You can’t go wrong if you do that.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Product Management in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Director of Product Management in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Strong leadership & long-term company vision
    Passionate, smart coworkers
    Mission-driving company culture
    Opportunities to grow one's career

    Cons

    Fast-paced environment, which isn't fun for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing towards our ambitious goals!

    Acorns Response

    Mar 13, 2018 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback! We certainly do have ambitious goals and appreciate your contributions in continuously moving us forward.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Outstanding benefits, impressive and incredible team and healthy work environment. Love participating in changing the banking landscape with this company's innovative vision.

    Cons

    My department is going through massive changes and there are a lot of loyal employees who have been with the company for years who are feeling micromanaged. I'm also nervous that the work that we're putting in is/won't be fairly compensated.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the pillars of respect and trust in the employees to know that they'll get the work required done in the most efficient and thorough manner possible without feeling the need to crack the whip of productivity.

    Acorns Response

    Mar 13, 2018 – Acorns People Team

    I appreciate your thoughts. It sounds like we can work on a few adjustments in your department. I'd value your thoughts on how to do this, so please don't hesitate to speak to the People team so that... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Exciting horizon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    Acorns is an amazing place to work at because not only is the growth exponential, the product mission incredibly important, and leadership strong but future is exciting. So many incredible things are on the way that I'm thrilled to be a part of.

    Cons

    My only con I can think of is that there is a lot of process currently on the product side. I'd love if things were a bit more streamlined.

    Advice to Management

    Always keep improving and pushing to be innovative in the fintech space. Ive talked 1 on 1 with most of the C level team and they're all fantastic.

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate and share your excitement. There are many exciting things to come. Please let us know your thoughts on how we can streamline process. As with many growing companies, sometimes product... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing team filled with hardworking/dedicated people who are committed to our customers

    Cons

    Some processes could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. They're all great people :)

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for the positive review! We'd love to hear more about which processes could use improvement. The next time we run a survey, let us know your thoughts.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Strong mission
    - Driven people
    - Really flexible
    - Open culture

    Cons

    - Process isn't fully optimized yet
    - A few legacy people

    Advice to Management

    Some scaling problems as the company grows could be helped if we:

    - Define team functions more clearly
    - Increase cross functional collaboration
    - Hire better UX/UI people (or give Product more say). It seems like final product decisions are weighed more on tenure than value

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your thoughts. We value your feedback and appreciate the detailed recommendations. We will review and see how we work on these different areas.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "A family away from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    I love the culture here. Everybody is brilliant and passionate about what they are working on.

    Cons

    Lots of hours are encouraged

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate the feedback and are glad you're enjoying your experience. It takes a lot of work from the whole team to accomplish our big goals. If you have any specific concerns, I encourage you to... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Killer place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Fairly diverse/inclusive team, but could use some work.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more female engineers

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate the feedback. Diversity is top of mind for us. We will continue to push in this area and supporters like you will help us accomplish our goals.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "People first culture with great leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    An amazing place to work for!

    Cons

    None.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Acorns Response

    Dec 12, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for your feedback!


  10. "Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast growing organizations create lots of opportunities for people to move up. You see it over and over again at Acorns where someone starts in customer service and moves to marketing or data analytics. Very cool!

    Cons

    Irvine weather is too nice to stay inside. Need more places to plug in and work outside the building.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing: helping people save and invest helps employees grow and prosper.


Showing 43 of 44 reviews
Reset Filters