Acorns Reviews | Glassdoor

Acorns Reviews

Updated September 12, 2017
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Noah Kerner
22 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Professional Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Culture is great. Management is aware and responsive. Great atmosphere, couldn't ask for a better place to be employed. Free snacks, coffee, soda, and weekly lunch? Amazing! Benefits are also excellent. Definitely competitive with the like of Amazon.

    Cons

    No significant cons. Maybe could offer commuter benefits to include toll roads reimbursement. Other than that I'm very satisfied. I've seen worst processes from older companies that are very archaic and Acorns really stands out on pivoting with the times.

    Acorns Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We appreciate your thoughts! Our goal is to continuously improve and provide the best place to work for our team. We're happy you're having a great experience and your suggestions are noted!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Finally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Smart people, creative culture, transparent, constant innovation, accessible leadership, work/life supportive, committed to the mission

    Cons

    I've worked in a few places. No place is perfect, but there are no cons worth noting. I'm lucky to be here.

    Acorns Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to provide us feedback. We're lucky to have you!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Passion and Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    Working here has been amazing. I have never been part of a company with such a great mission and have our customers best interest. Its rewarding to know that everything you do here is to make the life of our customers better.

    The amount of people here who are passionate about our mission is insane. A lot of extremely talented people all with the same goal in mind. Its truly refreshing.

    Cons

    No real cons here. With a lot of growth and goals there is always something to do. We keep pushing to make the best product ever. This means its a lot of work some times but I dont think thats a con.

    Acorns Response

    Aug 24, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thank you for your comments. We truly have a great, passionate team and we're glad that you are part of it. Thanks for your work in continuing to push us forward.


  4. "Mission first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    It's hard to express the importance of what we are doing here at Acorns and it's hard to explain how meaningful it is to come into work every day and feel that motivation. Everything I've done before it has felt more like a job.

    Cons

    All of the issues - and of course there are issue - are relatively small in the face of the mission.

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving home the mission in every way possible - to the team, users, and the world at large.

    Acorns Response

    Aug 24, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Your feedback is appreciated! It means a lot when you say this is more than a job for you. We feel the same way and we look forward to fulfilling the mission with your help!


  5. Helpful (6)

    "Growing into a mighty company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acorns full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I learned a ton both from the work and the team. Reflecting back on my time at the company, I realize it was the best job I've had thus far. I left for a more traditional gig but I miss the open, collaborative environment and the sense of purpose that the company and product stand for.

    Cons

    At the time I was looking for something more traditional and "stable" but Acorns manages to keep growing into a company while keeping the startup thing alive. There were some process issues. Sometimes communication wasn't clear.

    Advice to Management

    Stay scrappy while you grow up. It's what made the place awesome. Keep hiring great people. I hear that the company has brought in lots of great new people. Don't ever forget about the people there who've helped get you where you are. Keep the purpose alive. Don't mess it up.!!!

    Acorns Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience with us. We always appreciate those who reflect back and continue to help us grow. We are building a great company with a great team. Keeping... More


  6. Helpful (7)

    "Proud to be a part of this team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    - Great, passionate team
    - Open, inviting culture
    - Sense of purpose
    - Great product
    - Challenging work
    - Opportunities for growth
    - Good benefits for a startup

    Cons

    - No 401K match (though they do offer one)
    - Open layout can be distracting
    - Lots of growth, which is good, but also sometimes pretty demanding

    Advice to Management

    Today, it feels like everyone has a voice. I hope we maintain that culture as we continue to grow.

    Acorns Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I'm really happy to hear you say everyone has a voice. It's a critical part of our success and we will undoubtedly work hard to keep that at the core of our... More


  7. Helpful (8)

    "Growing Mighty Oaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    The pros of working at Acorns are numerous:

    -A product that is actually helping people take control of their financial well-being.
    -A team that truly believes and embodies our mission and values.
    -A culture that embraces innovation, openness, and a people-first mentality.
    -A group of individuals who are willing and able to help one another grow in their careers.

    Acorns is unique in that they put their team members first. There is a visible push towards continued feedback and transparency, focused on making Acorns the best possible work environment. The people here seem to genuinely connect on a personal level, and care about one another’s aspirations and career growth.

    There is also plenty of food and coffee to keep everyone happy.

    Acorns is truly a great place to work, especially after having experienced other companies whose work environments and cultures simply do not compare. We are definitely on our way to growing mighty oaks.

    Cons

    There really aren't any.

    Advice to Management

    As we grow, we should definitely try our best to build and maintain the culture that already exists at Acorns.

    Acorns Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    We're grateful for your comments. We are always making efforts to improve - individual growth, transparency and constant improvement are areas we're care deeply about. I'm happy to hear that you see... More

  8. Helpful (10)

    "ACORNS is a GPTW!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have been with the company for a few years and have seen the start-up ups and downs. But it is really about what we are doing, we offer investing to anyone!
    I come to work everyday for several reasons.
    With over 100 employees now, I work with the bestest group of people ever! They inspire me to achieve more!
    You definitely can't starve while working at Acorns...from the snacks, cold brew coffee and weekly lunches. You can always find something to eat!
    We travel on scooters from one side of the office to the other.
    The work environment is positive and creative!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons for working at Acorns.

    Acorns Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for the feedback! We agree that we have the best team in the industry! Thanks for your dedication and for making Acorns a great place to work.


  9. Helpful (9)

    "We're building something that actually matters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    Amazing opportunity to build products that actually matter and can materially and positively impact people's lives. There are way too many useless 'empty calorie' apps out there, but we're helping people achieve financial wellness. Even a few years in, we're just getting started on tackling financial wellness for the up-and-coming. It's very exciting to see the current growth trajectory (already helping millions of Americans!) and product roadmap we've got scoped out for the next 10 years (yes, 10 years!).

    Cons

    The mission is huge, so there's a lot to get done in not enough time. If you believe in the mission, you'll be energized. If you think financial wellness is not a worthwhile cause, then this may not be the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep us rallied around the mission through meaningful work and transparency. We're all in this together.

    Acorns Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. You're right that there is a lot to tackle and we're all in this together. As you mentioned, the mission is huge. We're a mission driven company and... More


  10. Helpful (13)

    "Best Company I've Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acorns full-time

    Pros

    After working for Acorns for two years, I can easily say it's the best company I've worked for.

    I've worked for a number of startups over my career. I've seen it all. I've been through high-stage growth, re-org after re-org, new CEO's, as well as successes and failure at the product level.

    This is what I've learned:
    1. You have to have an exceptional product.
    2. You need leaders you trust.
    3. You have to have buy-in support for what you can do and bring to the company.
    4. You need to work with people who ask you to be better.

    Acorns checks all of these boxes and then some.

    Our leaders understand the world isn't waiting for us. We're creating a new world. A bold statement, but truly, prior to Acorns - No product like this existed. Our Executive team understands the impact of this product not only in tech and finance, but within our customer's lives. Our leaders have gone through acquisitions, sold companies, built amazing products, cultivated empowering environments. I trust them in their decisions.

    Our people care about one another, our mission and our customers. That passion is tangible from the moment you speak with any employee. Our environment can be stressful at times, but always it's that good type of stress that challenges you to be better. The mixture of freedom and accountability we've struck creates an environment full of opportunities. There is nothing but yourself standing in the way of achieving your goals. Employees who know what they want to achieve and are willing to work to accomplish it, find this environment to be ripe for growth and development.

    Cons

    Trials exist at any company that's trying to make their mark. You're going to make mistakes, but hopefully you learn from them. As a relatively young company, we can experience a degree of uncertainty and change in regard to the day to day activities and objectives we're working toward.

    Advice to Management

    --

    Acorns Response

    Feb 17, 2017 – Acorns People Team

    Thanks for the great feedback! It's so reassuring to hear that our team not only understands what we're trying to do, but also shares the same passion and drive that we do. We're happy you are with... More


Showing 29 of 29 reviews
Reset Filters