Acumen Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Acumen Solutions Reviews

Updated December 7, 2017
132 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Acumen Solutions President and CEO David V. Joubran
David V. Joubran
98 Ratings

132 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • They have and excellent work-life balance (in 16 reviews)

  • Really great people from the very top and continuing down to the lowest levels (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • People Managers: The People Manager program is terrible (in 9 reviews)

  • People Manager program sucks especially if your people manager is a Jerk (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Helpful
    Great environment
    A lot of growth potential

    Cons

    Consulting can be slow from time to time


  2. "Growing Consulting Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Access to Senior Leadership
    Opportunities for advancement
    Good culture

    Cons

    Compensation is below market relative to larger competitors

  3. "Its like Hotel California - You can check out any time, but you can never leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Solutions full-time

    Pros

    They have some nice benefits

    Cons

    Bad Management.
    People manager could be a disaster if your PM is horrible.
    Company forces employees to get certified, take internal training, do pro bono work in addition to 40 hours of billable client work.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees once in a while.
    Humble yourself

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Dec 8, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Hi. We are disappointed to hear this feedback. We believe in providing trainings and assisting our team in getting certified to provide career growth and become stronger consultants, including... More


  4. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Salesforce Business Analyst
    Current Employee - Senior Salesforce Business Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Acumen has great working environment !!!

    Cons

    Don't have any to share !!!

    Advice to Management

    Keeping doing what works

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for an excellent review! Happy to have you on the team!


  5. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Solutions full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with if you are lucky to work on the right project with the right account team .

    Cons

    Don't have too much to share .

    Advice to Management

    keep the good works

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Nov 14, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the positive review! We are happy you are here!


  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Solutions full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Strong leadership, growth oriented, community focus. Impressive for a consulting company

    Cons

    Continue to work on getting remote employees feeling like they are part of the organization.

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the input! We are always working to improve our remote policy!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Get assigned to a public sector project!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Solutions full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people to work with if you are lucky to work on the right project with the right account team . I was lucky to work on Public Sector projects. public Amazing corporate care team! Events such as AcuProm, project team building events and family outings build trust and teamwork.

    Cons

    People Mgr program is a failure and HR is doing nothing to fix it. Referrals used to be big source of hiring but recruiting team doesn't provide a consistent positive experience during the recruiting process. Other than Public Sector Practice I won't advice to work in any other group! Executive team is on cruise mode and I believe they don't get pushed hard enough by the CEO hence leading to a complacent attitude.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people not just by saying at all hands but by actions as well. Advice to CEO - think about doing a refresh on your direct report executive team to get some new perspective and sense of strategic thinking! What worked in 2008 won't work in 2017-18.

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Hi, so sorry to hear you had a negative experience. We would love to talk more if you are open to it, so we can improve. Feel free to reach out to HR at hr@acumensolutions.com

  8. "Great Work Environment with some Drawbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cleveland, OH
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Solutions full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work environment is fantastic. Very social group, and casual office. People are very collaborative even when working on different projects.

    Cons

    Still a consultancy, and there are some opaque paths to growth through sales. Development team often feels underappreciated by the company as a whole.

    Advice to Management

    Align growth paths more closely between sales and technical teams.

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for the feedback! We will pass it along!


  9. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Work culture is brilliant, everyone is extremely approachable and helpful. The recruiting process was great and Rachel in particular was a pleasure to work with. Tons of opportunities to grow your career.

    Cons

    I have only been working at Acumen for a few months but no cons so far!

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the culture as the company grows.

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you! We are happy to have you!


  10. "CII"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Corporate Care staff is great!

    Cons

    Very clicky.
    Remote employees are disconnected.
    Management takes all credit for positives and no credit for negative outcomes.
    Management does not scope projects well.

    Acumen Solutions Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your candid feedback. We are working to improve our remote process.


Showing 132 of 134 reviews
Reset Filters