AltaPointe Health Reviews | Glassdoor

AltaPointe Health Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
AltaPointe Health Chief Executive Officer Tuerk Schlesinger (no image)
Tuerk Schlesinger
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping the Mentally Ill in 3 counties(in 7 reviews)

  • "AltaPointe Health Systems is a great place to work(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is not the greatest for behavioral aides (they're the ones who know the consumers best)(in 16 reviews)

  • "Low pay; insurance cost too much(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great company for career minded professionals!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have really enjoyed working at AltaPointe! The benefits package is great, and there is PTO available in the first year! The other reason I love working here is the impact I get to make on people's every day life. AltaPointe truly invests in their employee professional growth. There are ongoing training, and certification opportunities provided, as well as a great peer network to learn from. If you truly have a passion for changing lives, and/or working in the mental health field, this is a cutting edge organization to be part of!

    Cons

    As in any organization, some employees are not as engaged in the mission of the organization as others.

    AltaPointe Health2019-09-27
  2. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employees are great to work with, most people are dedicated to helping the clients we serve.

    Cons

    The pay is low, the benefits are a little pricey , no bonus structure for supervisors but there is one for managers and directors.

    AltaPointe Health2020-03-24
  3. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavioral Aide in Robertsdale, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice and friendly

    Cons

    The pay is really low could be more

    AltaPointe Health2020-02-25
  4. "Pay is the only negative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavioral Aide 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The consumers are wonderful. They are often the best part of the job and have as much to teach you as you have to teach them.

    Cons

    The pay is by far the biggest con. Employees are under-appreciated as well as far underpaid. State rate of pay for a similar job is $15/hr.

    AltaPointe Health2019-12-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Okay so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Daphne, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AltaPointe Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is fair. Company is actually a great company with lots of opportunity. Plenty of training. All the employees are very nice and the attitude of the company is very positive.

    Cons

    Documentation is long and repetitive. Patients can be intimidating. Mainly, I hate all the documentation. Other than that, it is actually a really good company so far.

    Continue reading
    AltaPointe Health2019-10-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    worked good as a team

    Cons

    no increase in salary available over 4 years

    Continue reading
    AltaPointe Health2019-09-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some very good employees who are dedicated to doing their very best at what they do for a living.

    Cons

    Administratively, this place is a mess. Decisions are shrouded in mystery, deception and paranoia. Poor staff development. Supervisors and Directors are not permitted to use their skills and talents in program development. The company “executives” are way too involved in controlling day to day operations. Very little collaboration. All decisions, no matter how trivial....are made by executive leaders, period. If you’re looking for a place that fosters professional growth, forget it.

    Continue reading
    AltaPointe Health2019-09-05

    AltaPointe Health Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Please contact our Employee Relations Manager to share the details of your experience with us, 660-2370.

    Continue reading
  8. "The pay is okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admission Unit Clerk in Mobile, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You make your own schedule and they give Christmas bonuses.

    Cons

    Being disrespected by patients of course. Can't hit consumer back when being attacked.

    AltaPointe Health2019-08-30

    AltaPointe Health Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Working in a psychiatric hospital setting can be difficult and it is not right for everyone, but it is a very rewarding career!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great staff and teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AltaPointe Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its a great company to work for, they recognize family and health problems

    Cons

    poor wages, the case managers get low 20k's

    Continue reading
    AltaPointe Health2019-08-08

    AltaPointe Health Response

    August 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review and allowing us to be a part of your career path. We are always updating salaries to remain competitive in our region, we wish you the best!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AltaPointe Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with.

    Cons

    The pay is the greatest con.

    AltaPointe Health2019-06-26

    AltaPointe Health Response

    July 1, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
Found 103 reviews