Altegris Reviews | Glassdoor

Altegris Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Martin Beaulieu
2 Ratings
  1. "Operations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Altegris for less than a year

    Pros

    small company lots of company culture

    Cons

    small team, workload can get heavy and individual merit is overlooked

    Altegris2018-08-28
  2. "Great leadership, team, and career advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altegris full-time

    Pros

    Strong corporate culture with a genuine hard working ethos. Altegris offers a dynamic work atmosphere with a thoughtful and talented employee base. Meritocracy is a priority as hard work, positive attitudes, creativity, and consistent efforts are rewarded.

    Cons

    Fluid environment where change and progress are constant. Flexibility and the desire for goal based outcomes is necessary for any prospective candidate.

    Altegris2018-02-10

    Altegris Response

    February 26, 2018Head of HR

    Thank you for your recognition of our talented employees. Talent takes many forms at Altegris, and we work hard to celebrate success for our staff in all their varied roles.

  3. "Cool Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altegris full-time

    Pros

    The company has a fantastic location in San Diego. They provide employees with good benefits and the culture and values are kept in good standards.

    Cons

    Although a great location to work, parking is not provided for employees. Parking permits may be provided once a month for a fee.

    Altegris2018-02-08

    Altegris Response

    February 26, 2018Head of HR

    We are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our benefits program and our company culture. We are continually making efforts to provide the best possible flexibility and working environment for our employees. Thank you for letting us know!

  4. "Awesome people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Altegris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone has a great attitude and is willing to jump in and help out, answer questions, and there is always someone to mentor you on projects. The location cannot be beaten! The NEW management excels at being approachable and responsive.

    Cons

    Traffic getting to the office

    Advice to Management

    The CEO is doing an excellent job, along with his leadership team. New CEO Martin Beaulieu

    Altegris2017-10-26

    Altegris Response

    December 15, 2017Head of HR

    We are delighted to hear that your experience at Altegris has been positive under the new leadership team. Thank you for letting us know!

  5. "Dishonest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Specialist in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altegris

    Pros

    Associates are good to work with. Location of the office is great.

    Cons

    Management is absent. No one wants to take responsibility or lead.

    Altegris2017-11-24

    Altegris Response

    December 15, 2017Head of HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you feel management was not engaged during your time with Altegris. We strive to ensure that our employees feel supported, but also empowered to help make the decisions that are best for our business. We encourage you to contact HR ...

    Show More
  6. "Great Oppotunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Altegris for more than a year

    Pros

    My first internship was here and they treated me great. Had little previous work experience so got a lot of training. Supervisors were friendly, higher ups open to networking, and lots of opportunities to jump on new projects.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work got boring or repetitive, but this was expected with a base level internship.

    Altegris2017-04-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "something needs to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Altegris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -smart,dedicated employees -great view of the ocean -decent employee benefits

    Cons

    -certain departments are very understaffed and overworked, expectations aren't at all reasonable given these circumstances -high turnover -poor work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    -Hire more people and/or better compensate employees who are taking on additional responsibilities following multiple employee resignations

    Altegris2016-07-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "All about the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Altegris full-time

      Pros

      The compensation is above industry standards. The office location is beautiful. The patio is available for employees at lunch or break and offers a nice ocean view.

      Cons

      Although life/work balance is mentioned repeatedly that is not the case. No concern for the employees as human beings with personal lives. Not employee friendly.

      Altegris2016-03-23
    • "Great place to intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Altegris

      Pros

      Great place to work. Everybody is very friendly and talented. Interns have a wide range of duties and are treated with the utmost respect.

      Cons

      The office is a little quiet and dull but everyone is working very hard.

      Altegris2015-10-25
    • Helpful (4)

      "Don't be fooled by how nice it looks"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Altegris for less than a year

        Pros

        The company has a lot of smart, hardworking people there. The employees are young and enjoyable to work with.

        Cons

        There really isn't a lot of opportunity for promotion at this company unless you are buddies with the head executives. Because of this, there is little motivation to work hard at the company, which I could see in almost every department. Or, some employees were so overworked they were just about ready to leave. The company isn't really doing that well, but they make people jump through hoops to get a job there for them...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Management really needs to consider the needs of their employees and recognize the work that they put into the company everyday. They needs to value each individual based on their contribution to the company's success, not based on how well they can shoot hoops.

        Altegris2015-07-03
      Found 10 reviews