Amazing.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazing.com Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Amazing.com CEO Matt Clark & Jason Katzenback (no image)
Matt Clark & Jason Katzenback
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are allowed to work from home each Friday unless we have a previously scheduled meeting(in 6 reviews)

  • "It's easy to want to be part of a company that truly is passionate about helping others improve and change their lives(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The communication between management and staff could be better - last-minute changes can sometimes be a challenge to accommodate(in 4 reviews)

  • "The owner let go everyone so coldly, without even as much as personal call or personal email(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "No Complaints, Loving It!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, the office space, the pay.

    Cons

    See Title, I'm overall happy with everything .

    Amazing.com2018-06-03
  2. "Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazing.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people. Good working environment.

    Cons

    No strategy or vision going forward.

    Advice to Management

    Get some management.

    Amazing.com2019-10-06
  3. Helpful (18)

    "Lost Owners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Co-workers are great - Freedom to learn more - Downtown Austin location

    Cons

    - Owners are absent - Owners continue with bad habits that negatively impact the company - Owners are clueless to how their employees truly feel - Owners are inexperienced and refuse to learn and be better - Company has lost mostly all its great talent and leaders - A company that was once 80 strong now has about 18 of us left - Most employees are here just to collect a paycheck

    Advice to Management

    Remove yourselves. Read the reviews since 2016, you are the problem and continue to be the problem that is stopping the company from growing and being successful. You have lost almost all your employees due to bad management and leadership on your part. At this rate, you will be the only ones left.

    Amazing.com2018-08-29
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Loving it so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, work from home Friday's, paid parking spot (which is a must when downtown), fully stocked kitchen, great co-workers, friendly environment, good location, beautiful office, fast-paced, pretty transparent business model, new benefits on the horizon. My favorite thing about working here was also the hardest thing to get used to because it is so unusual in a business environment, and that is... the level of trust and respect the company offers me as a person and the fact that they actually treat me like an adult. I have a start time and an end time, but I don't have to mark every minute, as long as I'm getting my work done, and pulling my weight, if I need an extra hour to go run to a appointment, or I'm sick and shouldn't be at work, but not sick enough to take the day off, I can take those times and flex them around or work from home. It is amazing what it does to moral when you're treated with respect and trust! Granted there could be those that abuse that trust, but those people are dealt with individually and the entire office isn't punished for one person.

    Show More

    Cons

    There aren't too many things I can think of but I'd say the only ones right now are that there is no 401(k) or matching, and that sometimes we don't have really clear direction but are sometimes pulled in several directions with mixed ideas of what exactly is the priority.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you are doing in the current office life and adding extra benefits as you can. Consider a 401(k), even if there is no match, but a match would be even better! Slow down a little and focus in on projects/products a but more.

    Amazing.com2018-05-30
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for me to grow, love the environment I work in, Love the people I work with.

    Cons

    More work reviews or look over accomplishments in the Company for compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Love my managers!

    Amazing.com2018-05-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company with Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time

    Pros

    - Awesome office (bean bag chairs!) - Weekly grocery orders (healthy kitchen initiative) - Funny, awesome people to work with who feel like family - Super flexible schedule - Understanding managers who work with you - Interesting projects/product, have learned a lot of new skills - Work from home on Fridays - Nice work equipment (macbooks!) - Rooftop access and FREE DOWNTOWN PARKING! - Passionate CEOs who... want to help people improve their lives Overall a really chill, flexible place to work with great people who make me enjoy coming to work every day. The people here are interested in constantly improving and it shows in what they do. They've recently implemented monthly and quarterly work lunches/events to bring everyone together during company time and I think that's just really awesome and shows they care about their people. My managers are incredibly understanding and work with me whenever anything arises (personally or professionally). It feels good to have good support here. So many people here are just a pleasure to get to know and work with. It's easy to want to be part of a company that truly is passionate about helping others improve and change their lives. It's inspiring.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a start up, sometimes things can be chaotic and decisions made on the fly without the proper communication to help all departments get on the same page, but it is something that is being worked on and management is aware of. That being said, there is also something fun and exciting about making decisions on the fly as they are constantly testing out what works and what doesn't. That's what life is about and I'm... happy to support innovative ideas and help just make them work. It inspires me to take action in my own life as I get to see how it's done here. Career opportunities are lacking, I'm not sure what my options are to grow/expand. I would like to do more for the company, but feel stuck in my current position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just continue to consistently get feedback from all employees and get to know everyone. Constant, never ending improvement. Lean out processes to make things efficient via lean manufacturing. Meet with employees, even those you don't normally do, to get fresh ideas or understand processes from all levels that will help lean it out. Better communication between departments and all levels of employees when rolling out... updates or new products. Overall, great place to work and I'm happy to be here. Love the direction the company is going and looking forward to seeing how it manifests.

    Show More
    Amazing.com2018-06-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Exciting and Fast Moving Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is really fast moving and the next 6 months look especially exciting with our main product continuing to grow and improve and many improvements planned for the other company assets Working here is never dull and it is intellectually stimulating. The workforce is a very tight knit unit and this evokes a truly family feel to working there. Never worked somewhere where everyone is so friendly and... helpful and this comes from the top down. The office itself is fantastic with the chance to work all together in communal areas or when required rooms you can go to work alone which for me is important

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing I can think of is sometimes there can be a lack of communication. However with new hiring plans recently announced I am sure this will soon become a thing of the past

    Amazing.com2018-05-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to be a part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazing.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We have a great work culture, they provide fun work events, food/drinks and parking for employees. The office has a fun vibe as everyone gets along! We also have the opportunity to work from home on Friday's :) We change lives with what we do and I am happy to be a part of this!

    Cons

    Communication within the company can improve

    Amazing.com2018-06-01
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Leadership Has Zero Clue. Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amazing.com full-time

    Pros

    I did work on some interesting projects I liked. However they were always "canceled" before completion.

    Cons

    First off, look at the dates of many of the positive reviews. 5 on May 27th 2017... doesn't that strike you as odd? For sure fake or at least begged for, from higher ups at the company. Then 4 positives all on July 16th, with July 21st and 29th all positive as well. Very very odd and unnatural. So let that sink in for a few minutes and then ask yourself if this really is the type of company you want to work... for, and trust, with your career. I worked for Amazing and all I can say is the entire time I was there, I had no clue what I should have been working on. Everyday it was something different without the prior project never getting completed. Every day I had no direction or leadership. Just new marching orders that never included resources or understanding behind it. Vague emails and no introductions to other team members left me feeling like I got thrown in the middle of the ocean. While I am very proactive and a self starter, I was handicapped coming into the company only knowing maybe 4 people's email addresses and phone numbers. Emails and calls would go unanswered for weeks even with multiple follow-ups. Then out of the air I would get pretty rude emails about why something wasn't done and then I would show them my prior emails and documentation and how they never got back to me, but somehow it was still my fault. It actually become a running joke between me and my spouse. Then one of the owners fired just about everyone. When I mean just about, what I mean is the people left over were their personal assistants, the chef for the company, etc. You know, the big decisions makers that helped the company make a lot of profit years prior. After letting go of everyone via a templated email, the company changed direction and soon after was having a contest to give away a BMW to customers of it's product, which at the time was a rip of uDemy and similar type training platforms. The owner let go everyone so coldly, without even as much as personal call or personal email. People that had families to feed, student debt to pay for, car payments and medical needs, extended family members that relied on them... but they just let them all go without even a personal touch. I didn't get any form of severance myself. Just dropped without notice and no more pay. Luckily I was able to beg a former employer to pick me back up so I could make my rent the next month. Any one reading this, I beg you to stay away from this company. A leopard doesn't change it's spots just because they "changed direction" and got in some new staff. The owners like to tout online how successful they are and have these years of business behind them to sell their training product. But actions speak louder than words.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Throw out the owners/founders.

    Amazing.com2018-05-16
  10. Helpful (5)

    "A fast work environment that is rewarding for the right kind of person."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazing.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's hard to describe the work environment of Amazing.com. It's very top-heavy and driven almost entirely by the two founders. They are very fast movers and new products are created / sold / iterated upon very quickly. But that's what makes it so exciting and fun. You don't have a million middle managers slowing down every process and bugging you for pointless stuff all day. Matt and Jason will pass a task down... to you and you need to do it quick! That fast paced environment combined with the many perks Amazing.com offers made it feel like a mini Wolf of Wall Street type situation. People running around all the time building stuff, putting out fires, negotiating new products & deals, etc. If your typical day is "get up, stroll into work when I feel like it, and browse Facebook for a few hours" then this isn't the company for you. If you want to feel challenged every day, this is the place to be. I've worked for a lot of companies in Austin and I have yet to work for leadership that I respect anywhere near how much I respect Matt and Jason. If enjoy working hard under some very guided leadership, then Amazing.com is a great place to work. Though I have parted ways with the Amazing.com crew, I think it is telling that I would absolutely work with them if the right opportunity ever came up.

    Show More

    Cons

    The work/life balance here can be rough at times as they expect a lot out of their employees. I ended up getting very sick towards the end of my time there because I didn't have much time to take care of myself or go to doctors. When I finally did take some time to go to appointments for what doctors thought was cancer, I was laid off the next Monday after Christmas with no warning by the new COO Amazing.com had... hired. You may be wondering, "how could you possibly write a good review for this company after that?" I was let go with a good severance package, they continued my insurance for several months so that I could heal properly, they filled out the proper paperwork so I could have unemployment while I was healing, and that COO was fired just a short while later. I worked with Matt shortly after as an affiliate (though mysteriously cut short by the same new executives who fired me) where they paid me in full for the affiliate work I had done. We continue to be friends despite everything that happened. Amazing.com had some explosive growth and they hired the wrong people to help them guide it. They realized it was a mistake, took corrective action, and have moved past it. Matt and Jason are good people and growing your company 20 fold in the course of a year will expose the cracks in any foundation. Every company makes mistakes. It's how they address them and move forward that matters.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't get tunnel vision and don't let professional BSers worm their way into your company. Believe in yourselves above all else because you're both incredibly talented people! Also, put Lemons in a corner so he can't ruin everyone else's productivity.

    Amazing.com2017-10-12
Found 41 reviews