Ascend Performance Materials Reviews | Glassdoor

Ascend Performance Materials Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Ascend Performance Materials President and CEO  Phil McDivitt
Phil McDivitt
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people and a nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are great. We do things to improve the community around us and it is nice to have an employers who encourages you to make an impact.

    Cons

    No 9/80, long hours, aging plants.

    Continue reading
    Ascend Performance Materials2019-12-09
  2. "Management puts on a good front"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 year pay scale with decent pay.

    Cons

    There is no rotating shift work, just expect to work everyday. Management from the lowest to highest level makes it seem like they care, but will not listen to any opinions, concerns, questions etc. The facility is old and run down. My greatest memory from my career at ascend was badging out for the last time

    Ascend Performance Materials2020-01-06

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    January 10, 2020Director, Global Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear this about your experience at Ascend. We value all of our current and former employees%E2%80%99 feedback. I would be happy to speak with you personally to learn more about what specifically was not positive during your time here and how we can improve. You can contact me directly ajahn@ascendmaterials.com. We wish you the best. %E2%80%93Alison Jahn, VP Communications & Culture Leader

    Continue reading
  3. "Truly great place to work and build a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun coworkers, forward thinking, great leadership, excellent benefits, community outreach focused, lives their values, develops people, family feel, truly cares about you

    Cons

    Some underdeveloped processes, old school mentality on some things like flexible work arrangements, downtown Houston, so commute can be a bear at times

    Continue reading
    Ascend Performance Materials2019-12-06
  4. "One Ascend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Our Values...One Ascend, Ascend lives this principal from the top down. We Care, not just a phrase but a lifestyle at work and at home. Customer-Focused, we succeed together. Better everyday, at work and at home. Agile, solutions focused mindset At Ascend we live our values together, everyday.

    Cons

    None as far as I can see

    Continue reading
    Ascend Performance Materials2019-12-05

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    January 10, 2020Director, Global Communications

    Thanks for the feedback! #OneAscend

    Continue reading
  5. "Love the company, bright future ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This is hands down the best company I have every worked for (since '91). We sell a quality product in high demand and Ascend's senior leadership is solid from Phil on down. Ascend invests in our prof. development and is steadily increasing benefits, e.g. paid parking or metro pass, very good health insurance, dollar-for-dollar match on the 401k, etc. What I look for in a company and find at Ascend is the opportunity to be challenged and make a difference. We work hard and expectations are high so it is not for everyone, but compensation is more than fair.

    Cons

    Huge projects amp up the stress level and you might work some late nights, but this is offset by insane prof. growth and experience and very fair compensation

    Continue reading
    Ascend Performance Materials2019-11-18

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    January 10, 2020Director, Global Communications

    thanks for the feedback! #bettereveryday

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not Providing a Reason to Stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HQ Worker in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good opportunities to get experience -Able to see direct impacts of a job well done -Good vacation and 401k

    Cons

    -Limited growth opportunities outside of HR -Rampant cronyism among the upper ranks -No 9/80s, no formal work from home -Base salary is on the low side and depends on high bonuses to match market

    Continue reading
    Ascend Performance Materials2019-11-26

    Ascend Performance Materials Response

    December 3, 2019Director, Global Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. As you know, we value getting better every day. We always appreciate hearing from colleagues %E2%80%93 even when the feedback is less than positive. You%E2%80%99re right that we don%E2%80%99t have formal structures for 9/80 workweeks or working from home, but we do allow leaders and employees to work together to find the right approach to flexibility. I do have to disagree with one point of your review, however: Ascend is invested in growth opportunities for employees. We%E2%80%99ve promoted or moved internally more than 275 employees in the past year, including offering increased responsibilities, developmental assignments and more throughout the company. Also, our turnover rate is 6\% %E2%80%93 much less than the U.S. average of 10\%. Again, thanks for the feedback. I have an open door policy, as do all of our leaders. I%E2%80%99d love to speak with you further. -Ally Jahn, VP Communications, Culture Leader

    Continue reading
  7. "Overworked and Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are genuinely caring.

    Cons

    The constant turnover in the management/leadership ranks is overwhelming. The company is understaffed at all levels. If you are hired to do one job, you should be prepared to do at least two additional full-time employee jobs. Pay is all over the place because HR simply pulls a number out of a hat—no rhyme or reason. There is no work/life balance—it is all work, all the time, around the clock. Opportunities for advancement are non-existent unless you are a member of the good ‘ole boys club.

    Continue reading
    Ascend Performance Materials2019-11-23
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineering Co-Op 

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time

    Pros

    Pretty good place to work

    Cons

    A lot of things are disorganized

    Ascend Performance Materials2019-11-08
  9. "Love the culture and leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People love working here, there is a great work culture, and the leadership is extremely invested in the development of its employees. Lots of leadership programs for emerging talent as well as senior leaders.I love the Ascend Cares foundation and all the great community partnerships we have in place and the many opportunities to volunteer and give back as a company. This increases camaraderie and company pride. When I travel to the plants, I hear the same thing from those employees. They love what they do and who they get to do it with. Knowing this company truly lives and breathes it's values and they are not just something on the wall/website makes me feel good about recruiting candidates into this organization.

    Cons

    I have to park across the street cause the main garage is full.

    Ascend Performance Materials2019-11-01
  10. "Growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascend Performance Materials full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've seen Ascend's culture improve tremendously over the past few years. It's nice to be in a place that is investing with a long-term view of the business.

    Cons

    We still have a ways to go. The company is "new" but the plants have been around for decades.

    Ascend Performance Materials2019-10-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 157 reviews