Auction Direct Reviews | Glassdoor

Auction Direct Reviews

Updated June 5, 2017
26 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Auction Direct CEO D. Todd Hoagey
D. Todd Hoagey
9 Ratings

26 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Excellent Company To Work For"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Buyer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Auction Direct for nearly nine years. Auction Direct believed in my possibilities when other wouldn't at the time. This company allows you to make to make your position here all it can be. Auction Direct recognizes and rewards a strong work ethic. It is little tolerance for those that don't care or for those who are not eager to show their worth and grow. What company has time for that?

    Cons

    It's a small company - so there can be challenges at times. Of course, this is also a positive in many ways. Communication is the key to overcome any issue and this company promotes open communication!

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to be smarter in decision making. You're on the RIGHT TRACK!

    Auction Direct Response

    Apr 26, 2017 – Human Resource Director

    Thank you for chiming in. This means a lot coming from a tenured employee.


  2. "Great Place to Work!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDC Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - BDC Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I've been with the company for two years and can not see myself as working anyplace else! My fellow employees are like family and management has been nothing but encouraging and supportive in both my professional and person al life.

    Like myself I have seen many people start at entry level positions and are groomed into management positions. Great place to come for advancement, job satisfaction and the wonderful feeling of truly helping people.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Auction Direct Response

    May 1, 2017 – Human Resource Director

    Auction Direct has a unique culture and customer focused sales process. We prefer to promote from within as a means of developing people, and to ensure our culture is preserved and championed by our ... More


  3. "Sales Associate/ Consultant position"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The Process at Auction Direct USA makes the job of a sales person very efficient. Knowing that I can focus on really helping a customer and not having to worry about price negotiation improves my quality of customer service. Talk about a company that allows the sales associate to self advertise their brand and drum up self business. Sales Associates write their own pay checks. Think about it! The GM takes ownership of the orientation of new hires. Hand on GM

    Cons

    My experience working for a company like Auction Direct is that we are one big family. We have to deal with the super ego, egocentric, or family member who likes to shout at everyone.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to management. I will focus my attention on sales.

    Auction Direct Response

    Apr 26, 2017 – Human Resource Director

    Great to hear from our "family" down south! Personnel in all departments help train new sales hires - so they understand what they need to do and how their actions affect their co-workers ... More


  4. "Used Auto Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Victor, NY
    Current Employee - Sales in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They offer a great pay plan per unit. Friendly work environment. Benefit of working your own leads rather than outside company.

    Cons

    There is very little training for their first time hires. You get thrown to the Wolves and see if you can fend for yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Give sales employees more opportunity to develop skills. Advance social media presence.

    Auction Direct Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Human Resource Director

    Thank you for your feedback! We are currently formalizing our new hire training program as well as expanding our on-going sales training opportunities. The Auction Direct Academy, comprised of ... More


  5. "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Victor, NY
    Current Employee - Sales in Victor, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None everything sucked and poor management

    Cons

    Everything from hours to management, they don't even have training

    Auction Direct Response

    Apr 26, 2017 – Human Resource Director

    I'm sorry to hear our sales position and environment weren't a match for you. A good fit is essential for success in any company.


  6. "Best Place I have Ever Worked"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Pay is great if you can understand how to make the system work for you and don't mind working hard. Managers are all knowledgeable in getting deals bought and coaching closing techniques. Alan, the General Manager, is the most stand-up guy I've had the pleasure of working for. If you work hard and produce, they work with you on schedule changes, doctor's appointments and sick days. No hassle/no haggle atmosphere takes 90%of the difficulty out of the sales process. They want you concentrated on HAPPY customers, not just SOLD customers.

    Cons

    Long hours, need to manage time well or you won't succeed. Survival of the fittest as they hire on during peak season and cut the failing employees in the down season. Job is demanding and you have to keep your spirits up and follow the process with all customers no matter what else is going on in your life. If you can't compartmentalize, this is NOT the job for you. If you can't take rejection, don't do this.

    Advice to Management

    Barely any. They give out great spiffs, have fun competitions and have engaging company activities like holiday parties and fund raising events for charity.


  7. "Receptionist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours, most everyone is friendly, good starting pay for position, no micro managing, very laid back atmosphere, promoted from within.

    Cons

    Definitely not enough money to live off of. The guys can be perverts, taking time off can be a bit hard b/c it is just 2 of you. The job can be extremely unproductive. Expected to sit all/ most of the day. The hours given limit your breaks. It is best not to take a break at all. If you do, it will cut into you regular hrs. Not a lot of opportunity for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Consider gettin an on call receptionist. Adjust shifts for valid break times that won't cut into regular pay.


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesperson in Victor, NY
    Current Employee - Salesperson in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have been with Auction Direct for over 5 1/2 years it is not run like a regular car dealership but more like a regular business. People are treated fairly and with respect and you have the ability to make a lot of money working here. You kind of control what you make based on the effort you put in. Benefits are good people are friendly and I have worked side by side with the same people for a long time. Coming from traditional car dealerships this atmosphere is so much better I could never go back to a traditional dealer.

    Cons

    You have to work every other Sunday other then that nothing

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing thanks for the parties and events you have throughout the year !!!

    Auction Direct Response

    Mar 22, 2016 – Human Resource Director

    Thanks for your thoughtful review and highlighting that our atmosphere is the complete opposite that of a traditional dealer!


  9. "Great Place To Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Largest inventory of used vehicles under one roof makes it a very easy place to sell. Started with no sales experience and have been here going on 4 years now and I love it.

    Cons

    Every job has there ups and downs. But at the end of the day there are far more ups than downs.


  10. "Great Place to Work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Victor, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction Direct (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Energetic atmosphere with fun and friendly staff! Feel welcome right when hired. Company always looking to improve...now offer CPO used cars - easy to sell! Lots of fun events and awards. Promote from within. Employee discounts on vehicles for friends and family members.

    Cons

    May be a far drive for those who live on west side of city - but worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the recognition and appreciation - we work hard!

    Auction Direct Response

    Mar 18, 2016 – Human Resource Director

    Thank you for your positive review! Our dealerships are full of friendly people who make our new hires feel welcome - it is part of our culture and why we succeed. Our general managers understand ... More


Showing 26 of 26 reviews
Reset Filters