AutoVitals Reviews | Glassdoor

AutoVitals Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
AutoVitals CEO Uwe Kleinschmidt (no image)
Uwe Kleinschmidt
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative and great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoVitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Love the people that work at AutoVitals and everyone is hard working and dedicated to the craft. -Leading the automotive industry move into the 21st century by going digital. Lot's of hurdles to pass, but it hasn't stopped us from innovating or allowing other companies to catch up. - Cutting edge. No time to stop innovation and stop growing. - Leadership cares and is willing to work with you to improve and... grow as a person.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are times when you will have to work long hours to get projects done. But once they are done...you feel accomplished.

    AutoVitals2018-12-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good starter job but don't stay long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AutoVitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Learn a lot quickly - Starting to adopt current industry tools (Slack, Asana) - Coworkers are good people

    Cons

    - Bad company culture, starts at the top with CEO - Micromanagement by managers and CEO - Lots of employee turnover - Unstable product - No raise structure and bad bonus structure - Office is OK - No full time HR professional

    Advice to Management

    Less micromanagement, trust your employees to do their job. Respect your employees as people by not berating them in public or private. Work to build a system that shows employee valuation through salary increase or an effective bonus structure.

    AutoVitals2019-08-21
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoVitals full-time

    Pros

    Progressive, leading edge technology, opportunity to work remotely, listens and reacts to customer issues, employee focused

    Cons

    none identified at this time

    AutoVitals2018-11-09
  4. "Happy to be part of team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Advisor in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoVitals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to work remove and flexible. Very fast pace with lots of change. This keeps things interesting and no repetitive. Ability to promote within and advance. Excited to see where this start up company will go.

    Cons

    If you cannot adapt to change and not willing to charter the unknown, this is not the place for you. Too many interns/college grads hired that are not there to help the company grown or improve but there simply for a project and/or pay check.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path we are headed today. Hiring the right employees that can embrace change is the key. I would suggest listening a bit more to your current employees and a bit more hands on training for customer facing staff would be amazing. However, I'm happy and excited to be apart of the Avators!

    AutoVitals2018-09-13
  5. Helpful (14)

    "GARBAGE COMPANY PSYCHO CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AutoVitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free muffins sometimes and dogs in office

    Cons

    CEO IS INSANE and berates all of his employees constantly The pay is about half of what normal companies provide Management is unfortunately super inexperienced has no idea what they are doing

    Advice to Management

    Go to the board and fire the CEO

    AutoVitals2018-08-14
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Goleta, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoVitals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility - ability to work from home. great experience in sales, but this is not a job with longevity--the vast majority of sales people are out before a year.

    Cons

    some would say, hostile work environment. i think everyone has respect for Uwe, the CEO, but he can be a tyrant. communicating on the same level can be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    the company is on a good track, invest more to make a less klunky product and it will be easier to sell and retention won't be an issue. find better ways to reward valuable employees. better benefits package! less mandatory meetings about nothing.

    AutoVitals2018-06-22
  7. Helpful (6)

    "If you've worked at a start up, you'd know the game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoVitals full-time

    Pros

    Has the exciting things that a start up would have: Food and snacks in the kitchen Brewery to go to around the corner Lax environment and co-workers Dog friendly Team bonding activities Fairly quick advancement in position (if you do your job and go above and beyond) Good benefits

    Cons

    Has the typical downsides of a start up: Needs improvement on organization Needs improvement on management or people being put on management Needs improvement in processes Needs improvement in support If you want something changed, you really need to step up to make that happen and not just complain about it (This is not necessarily a con, it's more of a comment, but at the same time, it shouldn't be that... hard to be heard by management)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more, not just hear them. Practice our core values more. We have a good mission statement and core values , but these need to be applied habitually, not just conceptually. "75% of workers who voluntarily left their jobs did so because of their bosses and not the position or pay itself." -The Gallup

    AutoVitals2018-04-17
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AutoVitals part-time

    Pros

    Low accountability, moves very slowly

    Cons

    Regressive management, not individually motivational

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on marketing and more on the product + support

    AutoVitals2017-10-26

    AutoVitals Response

    November 8, 2017AV Culture Team

    Thank you for your feedback. It doesn't seem you and AutoVitals were a great match to start If, low accountability and moving slow are considered pros. One of our 4 core values is accountability, we stress this crucial aspect of our business and team. As far as moving slow, we have ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (9)

    ""One step forward, but three steps back""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoVitals full-time

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to learn new skills and transition into different roles "Unlimited" PTO Snacks and catered meals Dog friendly Web Presence Team! Amazing employees (present and past)

    Cons

    -CEO & Management run the company as a dictatorship - lack of employee inclusion and input -No formal HR -Employees undervalued & underpaid -Core Values & Company Culture do not have anything to do with internal empathy and employee appreciation -Division amongst departments. -Lack of internal training - new hires -Lack of transparency -Lack of system stability -Not many Holidays off (3)

    Advice to Management

    -When employees have concerns/issues they are reaching out for help and do not always have a solution. Work with them to find a solution. - Value & Award the talent you do have. -Clearly define management and employee roles, duties, responsibilities, and expectations -Hire an HR specialist/department

    AutoVitals2017-09-20

    AutoVitals Response

    November 8, 2017AV Culture Team

    Thank you for your feedback, We agree that our employees are awesome and are very sorry our attempts to show appreciation to them are not seen by all. At AutoVitals hard work and persistence is always rewarded and appreciated. We don't hand out or give salaries, people earn them based ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Great for an internship, but don't make it a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoVitals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic opportunity for someone looking to get their feet wet, especially if you are interested in software development or technology. They often hire interns or temp employees to work as support for different departments with some opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Company culture of finger-pointing and intimidation, and the management is a complete mess. It's difficult to find documentation on important company information or even get clear answers at times.

    Advice to Management

    Everybody needs to be on the same page if the company is going to be successful.

    AutoVitals2017-09-21

    AutoVitals Response

    November 8, 2017AV Culture Team

    Thank you for your feedback, We agree that everybody needs to be in the same book, but many people operate in many roles as you know and some don't always overlap so not in all cases are we on the same page. Alignment with your manager is a critical successfactor and that is a two ...

    Show More
Found 33 reviews