Avantor Reviews | Glassdoor

Avantor Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
32%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Avantor Chief Executive Officer Michael Stubblefield
Michael Stubblefield
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "They produce ultra high purity chemicals for lots of big business(in 6 reviews)

  • "The people who are remaining are great people(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Leadership from the executives and upper management is lacking(in 13 reviews)

  • "The first issue is that Avantor/VWR pays considerably less than other companies for the same kind of work (i(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great organization to be apart of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avantor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance and room for lateral growth

    Cons

    Internal support logistics can be a little clunky

    Avantor2019-11-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "ALL AROUND POOR MANAGEMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avantor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A handful of friendly, productive coworkers.

    Cons

    Irresponsible, incompetent Managers/Lead. Despite social distancing and safe practice signage at every entry point, restroom, elevator, lobby, staircase, break area, office space, etc., and receiving constant awareness emails at our work location (A customer site), our management team decided to call us together in a small room for a Quarterly Meeting. When questioned by associates about this being a bad idea, management went ahead and conducted the meeting anyways. Not a single bit of information from the meeting was vital. Most was a repeat from a previous quarterly meeting,; and had there been any important information to pass along we all have multiple email accounts, and can receive text messages through our company issued phones. We sat side by side while they served pizza during a pandemic, despite all the warning signs.

    Continue reading
    Avantor2020-04-01
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Disappointed employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Radnor, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avantor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    too disappointed to think right now

    Cons

    I have been working for VWR Avantor for several years. Since we are acquired by Avantor, we are all told that safety is the most critical factor in this company. For example, put lid when drink coffee or have several safety minutes before each meeting. All of these make sense. However, when the corona-virus pandemic comes that real safety issues rise, this great company issue an HR policy that requires any eligible employee to apply for work from home with two levels managers' approval process. Please remember this policy is under the circumstance of most pharma companies encourage their employee to work from home , Gov declared a national emergency and employee safety is the MOST critical thing. Do they really mean safety is most important?

    Avantor2020-03-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "My opinion on them isn't fully formed yet."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Buyer 

    I have been working at Avantor part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are very clear about what the goals are.

    Cons

    They may be overly driven by metrics.

    Avantor2020-02-08
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Radnor, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avantor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Terrible work culture - even though the corporate values are touted every chance they get. Those are values that exist on paper and in marketing materials -- I have never seen them in action. They instituted an employee recognition/rewards program....yet no one is ever allowed to give an award with "points", so it is just a bunch of Thank You notes for show. The really hilarious aprt of that is the senior level executives giving each other awards. So totally tone-deaf it is not even funny. Below market pay, and some of the worst PTO I have ever seen - small amount considering it is just a bucket of time, not vacation and then seperate sick days. So people usually come to work sick because they would rather use those days for vacation. If you are home sick, you really are just working remote. Really, you are just working remote even if on vacation -- actually told how often per vacation day you must check in/check your email. They do whatever they can to not give any pay raises, but are hiring new executives all the time. The turnover in my department has been crazy, it is bascially a revolving door of people to the point I don't even bother to remember the names of anyone, they probably won't be here in a couple months.

    Avantor2020-02-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avantor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good and a lot of overtime

    Cons

    Management was not up to par

    Avantor2020-01-25
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - QA Analyst 

    I worked at Avantor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. Balance work life

    Cons

    The company is going through cultural change, and finding their way as an organization

    Avantor2020-01-02
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Horrible Culture and constant off shore to save a buck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Radnor, PA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avantor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Radnor is a nice location

    Cons

    They have off shored every outfit Environment of constant stress versus work strain Do more for less Management wouldn’t know you if you stumbled across their feet

    Continue reading
    Avantor2020-01-02
  9. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avantor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers/ management, Opportunities for growth within the company

    Cons

    Compensation structure for sales team could be improved.

    Avantor2019-11-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "So far so good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Services Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avantor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have several supportive team members, and my supervisor has gone above and beyond in helping me get up and running.

    Cons

    I do feel like my pay is on the lower end of acceptable.

    Avantor2019-11-14
Found 165 reviews