Avnet Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Avnet CEO William Amelio
William Amelio
169 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is leading the sheep to the slaughter house(in 29 reviews)

  • "A bit of a "boys club", similar to alot of older tech companies(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avnet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a diversified culture

    Cons

    I really dont see and cons

    Avnet2020-03-06

    Avnet Response

    April 17, 2020Avnet Representative

    Thanks so much for leaving us this great review. We’re happy to know that you’re enjoying your time with us, and hope that it only continues to get better from here.

  2. "Overall good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avnet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offers pension plan (instead of 401k match)

    Cons

    Extremely large company, so many VPs

    Avnet2020-05-28
  3. "Good company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - FAE 

    I worked at Avnet full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn everyday. Collaborative Environment

    Cons

    Many layoffs of good people.

    Avnet2020-05-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Long Hours and Low Pay."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avnet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Co-workers * Flexible Schedule *Bill Amelio has been doing great despite the circumstances.

    Cons

    * Empty promises. As a contractor, if they see you work well, they will increase the workload, expect you to fill in bigger roles, while remaining under contract with the same compensation. * Company doesn't look too promising... lost Texas Instruments, did not meet Q4 expectations . Lots of layoffs without replacements, if anything, you are expected to fill in for those former roles, again, without any compensation. * Previous manager expected me to work for another role, with much more responsibilities, while remaining under the same contract. As mentioned before, increased workload, forced to work overtime, and still complained about my work getting delayed. Again, this goes back to roles not being replaced. * Not open to changes to improve efficiency. "I have been working for 'x' amount of years, so I know I am right" mentality. * Typical older corporate environment, as otherS have mentioned, can get depressing at times if it weren't for a few co-workers. *Constant changes within departments; no career advancement.

    Continue reading
    Avnet2020-05-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Handling of Covid-19"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avnet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really great if you are actively seeking to endanger your life.

    Cons

    Really bad if you are actively seeking to not endanger your life.

    Continue reading
    Avnet2020-05-22
  6. "A 2.7 score says it all! 0 Approval for CEO, looks like some changes need to be made!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Orlando in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avnet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is beautifully decorated......

    Cons

    Where do I even begin? Male dominated company, If you are a female, it will not matter your skillset, your talents, your continuous loyalty or hard work, all that will matter is that you are female. HR is located in a home office, this allows harassment, and discourages employees from coming forward with concerns or complaints. The entire management team needs to be replaced in this location.

    Continue reading
    Avnet2020-05-20
  7. "Logistics warehouse/ shadow of it's former self"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Maintenance Technician in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avnet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and HR department.

    Cons

    Logistics warehouses are on a downhill slide. Upkeep is at a minimum . Decades old lifts/equip in disrepair.

    Continue reading
    Avnet2020-03-04
  8. "Old school corporate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Avnet full-time

    Pros

    The business itself is innovative and offers great services and solutions to its customers

    Cons

    Not a fun place to work for. Culture is lacking.

    Avnet2020-02-13

    Avnet Response

    April 17, 2020Avnet Representative

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us in this review. We appreciate your optimism when it comes to our business and the value we offer our customers. It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t find the Avnet community engaging, as we do try our best to create an energetic culture and spirit of fun in the workplace.

  9. "Company has no work, not making the numbers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avnet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None, company is in failure mode.

    Cons

    Very low esteem in company. Layoffs have started.

    Continue reading
    Avnet2020-02-22

    Avnet Response

    April 17, 2020Avnet Representative

    Thank you for leaving us this review. It’s certainly troubling to hear that you’ve got nothing positive to say about your experience working at Avnet. If you would, please email us at HRNow@Avnet.com so we can better understand your sentiment.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "You're expendable"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Avnet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engaging work, strategy, future of company.

    Cons

    You're expendable. Keep your resume updated.

    Continue reading
    Avnet2020-01-28

    Avnet Response

    March 9, 2020Avnet Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts in this review. We’re glad you found your work engaging while you were here, but are disappointed that you had a negative experience with our talent management process. We’d love to better understand your thoughts on this subject, so please email us at HRNow@avnet.com so we can discuss them further.

Found 794 reviews