BHLDN Reviews | Glassdoor

BHLDN Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
0 Ratings
  1. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at BHLDN part-time

      Pros

      I've only just started, but the team is fantastic and there are already opportunities for growth.

      Cons

      It's only part time and I don't have a ton of hours.

      BHLDN2018-07-18
    • "Good job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Stylist in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at BHLDN part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I love this job a lot

      Cons

      Overwhelming job a lot of times

      BHLDN2019-06-13
    • "Overall fun, positive place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Bridal Stylist 

        I worked at BHLDN part-time

        Pros

        Fun place to work and great discount.

        Cons

        Slight lack of communication from HQ to retail.

        BHLDN2019-05-14
      • "Not a good work environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Customer Service Associate & Cashier in New York, NY
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at BHLDN for less than a year

          Pros

          Good employee discount offered for all URBN stores.

          Cons

          Use of iPhones with poor WiFi in place of cash register, was not told about travel compensation until after deadline passed, was worked as a bridesmaid stylist without the training or pay raise.

          BHLDN2019-01-25
        • "Stylist"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at BHLDN full-time

          Pros

          Love to be around the gowns

          Cons

          How they structure our schedules was different.

          BHLDN2018-09-16
        • "Stylist"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Stylist in Philadelphia, PA
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at BHLDN part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Easy way to buffer a full-time job/University classes. Employee discount.

          Cons

          Product quality is inconsistent and home office does not ask for stylist input on what does/doesn't work. No room for growth in a position. No commission. Managerial staff ranges from professional to sorority type cattiness. Issues with performance are not addressed in person and the employee is rarely if ever defended by managers if an issue occurs.

          Advice to Management

          Compensate your staff for the work they are putting in to actually achieve sales, create a baseline for treatment of employees and professionalism, keep treatment equal across the board. Hire an HR department.

          BHLDN2018-05-25
        • Helpful (1)

          "Toxic and discriminatory work environment"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I worked at BHLDN full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The offices have a lot of natural light. That's about it.

          Cons

          Management is abusive, unprofessional, and openly uses favoritism to demean employees. Expectations, rules, and responsibilities are constantly shifting. Managers openly encourage copying other (often smaller, independent) retailers and belittle any original ideas from their creative team (unless you happen to be their personal friend). Complete lack of employee appreciation, professional development, or gratitude of...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Hire professionals, not friends. There is no HR department--why?

          BHLDN2018-05-23
        • "Working at BHLDN"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Stylist 

            I have been working at BHLDN part-time

            Pros

            Working one on one with a bride and bridesmaids, making individuals happy and great managers!

            Cons

            No promotions, compensation or health benefits

            BHLDN2018-01-17
          • "Stylist"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I worked at BHLDN full-time

            Pros

            Aesthetically pleasing environment, tight knit working group of stylist, beautiful product

            Cons

            Inconsistent schedules, not a lot of room for growth, faults in production and marketing

            BHLDN2018-01-09
          • Helpful (1)

            "Great place to work"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I worked at BHLDN part-time

            Pros

            Love being around women, and working one on one with costumers, especially when working in bridal and trying to help the costumer find the best dress.

            Cons

            There's no commission for stylists or associates.

            Advice to Management

            Train up more of your employees.

            BHLDN2017-11-17
          Found 20 reviews