Cover image for Behringer
Logo

Behringer

Part of Music Tribe
Is this your company?

Behringer

Add a Review

Behringer Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 29 of over 29 reviews
1.7
7% Recommend to a Friend
Behringer Founder & CEO Uli Behringer
8% Approve of CEO

Found 29 of over 29 reviews

1.7
7%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
Behringer Founder & CEO Uli Behringer
Uli Behringer
12 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people I worked with are great people who made it a friendly place to work.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Cool place

    Jun 29, 2011 -  in Bothell, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Been here for about 3 years and it's a really cool place. Always loved to work in the music industry and boy, this company is happening. The people are really nice and the team spirit great. We had some people leaving but I believe this was for the better. With the new management things become much more stable and the our activities in social media cutting edge. I like the CEO's direction and the company is growing over 50% this year. No joke!

    Cons

    While I somewhat agree with other posters that there are lots of policies in place I have to say that I understand why. This is such a fast growing company with 3500 employees and multiple locations it would be impossible to coordinate everything without having clear handshakes and rules in place. It's a very organized and structured company but unless you are organized yourself the place might not be for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Horrible

    Feb 15, 2021 - Sound Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None there were no pros...

    Cons

    Bad, the boss has a narcissistic personality disorder

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Behringer team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pirated products + Pirate culture + crooked leader = Behringer

    Aug 14, 2017 - Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part of working at Behringer was leaving.

    Cons

    Disturbing use of talents. Engineers don't innovate, they reverse engineer as per the instruction of the sociopathic CEO who thinks he is Steve Jobs (he is not). As an engineer, this is not the place you go to innovate and do great things. This is where you go to learn to rip off other companies designs and recreate them using the absolute cheapest parts.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Fear is a weapon...

    Jul 23, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I absolutely made some of the best friends ever!!!.. Above and beyond the daily crap, there was always a laugh, locally, only because we were all in the same sinking boat!!!

    Cons

    Too much control, not enough understanding of business practice's. Counting on your "trusted" people to give you an answer that they have ABSOLUTELY no clue about. The worst is when you are told the truth, you do whatever you have to do to destroy that person's life.... I live by Karma and I know your's is coming...

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    This place is like a penny....worthless and two-faced!

    Jun 27, 2014 - Over IT 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees are pretty cool and very hard working. Most are musicians and have a passion for music.

    Cons

    This place can be classified as a chaotic hell, and the CEO loves the smell of fear and rotting employee corpses. All the negative things that you read on the forums, internet, and on glassdoor are true. It doesn't matter who you are, how amazing you are, or your skill set. You will be set up to fail and become another number. Heed all the warnings and just look for a job elsewhere. Also, the pay is way below average and they might mention the possibility for a raise etc, but I guarantee it will never happen, even if you receive a promotion all you will receive is an "Uli Buck", which can be redeemed for company swag....don't ask, anyways this place is bad! Just run!!!

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    The worst mistake of my life.

    May 1, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really awesome co-workers. The people who work there are great. For the most part. Watch for spies.

    Cons

    Uli Behringer is a sociopath, plain and simple. Seriously, you can't imagine how awful it is to work with this nutcase. Rapid turnover. You might have a job and get fired for no reason weeks later. It happens A LOT.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    I bought the ticket, I took the ride.

    Nov 4, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    With only a couple exceptions, everyone in the Bothell office was great too work with. PTO and Benefits package were generous.

    Cons

    Pay was well below average, I made about $15k a year less than the median salary for my position. Location was also terrible--I had to commute out to office-park hell in the middle of nowhere. A lot has been said about the CEO and Senior Management. Most of it is on the mark. It is a company that is perpetually in transition. Most plans and strategies aren't given a fair chance to play out before Senior Management is urged to change the direction, usually at the prodding of CEO. It's a scatterbrained, chaotic approach--one that hasn't paid off considering the turnover, low morale, and the rumored closure of more than one office. Terms like "Knee-jerk" and "anal-retentive" are in no way an exaggeration and are fairly generous compared to what get thrown around in the office when nobody was listening. People who show initiative get canned the fastest, due to non-conformity with Uli's "vision." Best to keep your head down and quietly get your work done--or as much as you can considering molasses-slow approvals and critical systems (phone, email, etc) being down more often than not. I think the team could have gotten a lot done and made the company a boatload of money had Uli, et al stayed out of the way and let us actually do our work. Quite often I expected the lights to be turned off and the locks changed when I showed up on Monday morning.

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Products, Not-so-good Employer

    Oct 25, 2013 - Senior/Global Position in Bothell, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good products for the price point. Plenty of opportunities for battlefield promotions. Sharpens your firefighting skills.

    Cons

    Paranoia and distrust are rampant, CEO is also the owner, Chairman, Head of R&D, and ridiculously involved in the day-to-day minutia. You've seen the term "knee-jerk reaction" in about a dozen of these reviews, and that is 100% correct. Those decisions led to customer dissatisfaction and lost good will from dealers and distributors. And those fires had to be fought (constantly) by people who were invariably sacrificed to protect the guy who set the fhem. That's what happens when you are accountable to nobody.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Plenty of other opportunities in Seattle

    Apr 12, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Bothell, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone is in the same boat - Decent local team atmosphere

    Cons

    - Micromanaged at all levels (Culture pushed by C-level execs) - All tasks are monitored at all levels - Managers are questioned regularly about their team member's value-add ("why do we even have this person?") - Unclear corporate direction - Employees forcibly silo'd into roles - Processes create dysfunctional environment - Pay is below average - Stress is extremely high across organization - Minimal communication - No cross-organizational synchronization - Cheap is better than good - Fast is better than good - Employees are personally blamed for failures of global process or unclear direction from execs - Dis-jointed groups that work against each other - Focus is on completing tasks, not improving company - Unethical management practices both internally and with business partners - No Stock - No Bonus

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Run For The Hills

    Feb 1, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the employees are very pleasant to work with, but upper management is insane

    Cons

    Salary, Upper Management, Policies, Big Brother Approach, Lack of training on systems, Lack of Communication, Poor Planning, No Bonus Plan, Inability to take a lunch or even go to the restroom without being micromanaged. Maybe the company should implement a hall pass policy so we can eat and go to the restroom in peace! This place was by far the worst place I have ever worked in my entire life!!!!!!! If you see an ad to hire, run for the hills...............You don't want to be sucked into this vortex. You're liable to suffer both physically and mentally if you stay too long. Toxic environment.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Behringer? Share Your Experiences

Behringer logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • (2)
  • Engineer(2)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Behringer Job Seekers Also Viewed

Music Tribe Logo
Music Tribe

2.6

369 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 29 Behringer reviews submitted anonymously by Behringer employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Behringer is right for you.