Bertelsmann Reviews | Glassdoor

Bertelsmann Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Bertelsmann CEO Thomas Rabe
Thomas Rabe
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "bige Kultur, langsame Entscheidungsprozesse, sehr politisch(in 4 reviews)

  • "Not sure if this is a con, but if you want to advance, it is very helpful to learn the German language(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good values, stable work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Director of Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bertelsmann full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, generous benefits, great work-life balance, global opportunities, profitable company

    Cons

    Like most media companies of its size, it can be slow moving and political

    Bertelsmann2019-07-31
  2. "Great Benefits, but that's it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Westminster, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bertelsmann full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The heath insurance is amazing, employer-paid life insurance, people are nice.

    Cons

    Pay is well below market value, no flexibility, management does not care nor do they communicate with you.

    Continue reading
    Bertelsmann2019-07-10
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Tax Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bertelsmann full-time

    Pros

    Salary was good. Lication and perks were okay for me.

    Cons

    I was fired after I disclose to manager that I was pregnant. I only work there for 2 months and they fired me.

    Bertelsmann2018-06-18
  5. "Great first job out of college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, M&A in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bertelsmann full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is good visibility to top management. The work is intellectually stimulating. The colleagues are very nice and you have a good team spirit.

    Cons

    Personnel development could be better, the slogan is „create your own career“, which is very fitting. You need to make sure that your career is on track by yourself.

    Continue reading
    Bertelsmann2017-12-25
  6. "Tax Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bertelsmann full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, Lots of vacation time and one work from home day per week.

    Cons

    I have no cons currently.

    Bertelsmann2017-11-30
  7. "Venture Capital Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Bertelsmann

    Pros

    Bertelsmann promotes flat hierarchies and a very entreprenuerial working culture

    Cons

    Responsibilities given to interns were not satisfiable

    Bertelsmann2017-11-22
  8. "Static Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bertelsmann full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are still decent, albeit declining, pretty stable environment

    Cons

    Uninspired, tranquil outpost of HQ located in Germany

    Bertelsmann2017-10-26
  9. "One of the best, anywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bertelsmann full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Outstanding opportunities, culture is second to none. Was always proud to be an employee. Wonderful experiences with a variety of cultures and industries.

    Cons

    Not sure if this is a con, but if you want to advance, it is very helpful to learn the German language.

    Continue reading
    Bertelsmann2017-01-14
  10. "Prod Markt. & Distrib. University before 2011/No choice listed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bertelsmann full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not great pay, but you learn about several industries interaction: media, retail, and entertainment. It is a databank of rich info off what sells and doesn't, and perhaps, why. You can connect with many more successful networks and schmooze to migrate up to a better/ (not bigger Company) opportunity. You have lots of entree and invites if you wish to use your clout. I attended functions and openings on my own,/on the company coattails in a way, like a university professor. You have lots of respect- like working for a Major Studio, or ehhhhh ...roadie for a hit band. I'd rather be on a bus in the back seat going somewhere than be in a Bentley parked in a storage yard. Access is everything- unfortunately you must have a few qualities also. It is a great intern op.

    Cons

    No one has stock per se to hit a homer. The pay is not as good as a gov't job or Wall Street Corp. Play. They have volatility, and must diversify, even more for their employees. Rather than make independent spinoffs with the efforts of the BERT. ranks, yet not let them have a piece of the future or pie.

    Continue reading
    Bertelsmann2015-08-28
  11. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bertelsmann full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High Integrity Leadership, work life balance better than most

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Bertelsmann2014-08-12
Found 80 reviews