Biogen Reviews | Glassdoor

Biogen Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Biogen CEO Michel Vounatsos
Michel Vounatsos
128 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance went down hill with the new management(in 47 reviews)

  • "Too much focus on the Biogen Elements, most cases hypocritical, values not in the DNA of the upper management(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "I've felt supported from day 1 here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From day 1, I've felt supported at Biogen. The benefits are great (401k match, tuition reimbursement, employee stock purchase plan, medical, free parking). There are constantly activities around campus - either educational or charitable or for just general socialization. The leadership team is strong and given the current path of our alzheimer's research it's a very exciting time to be a part of the team. Also, onboarding and IT support has been incredible here compared to other companies I've been at.

    Cons

    General cons related to being a larger organization: lots of stakeholders, approvals needed, can be slow-moving.

    Continue reading
    Biogen2020-03-03
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesman in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Biogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the benefits and time spent with company

    Cons

    Cons would be management can be difficult

    Continue reading
    Biogen2020-04-01
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Biogen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, Collaborative Environment, Great Teams

    Cons

    Biogen is a great place to work

    Biogen2020-03-30
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Associate in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Biogen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Biogen has great benefits, the pay is competitive, and the environment is friendly overall

    Cons

    Sometimes seems as though manufacturing gets the short end of the stick

    Biogen2020-03-12
  5. "Racism, Office Politics, Big Egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Biogen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind co-workers, fun social events, decent healthcare, good 401K matching.

    Cons

    Manager made racist comments during lunch "in confidence", criticized co-worker's looks, admitted to have a racial bias, actively stifled career development and advancement, vindictive personality.

    Continue reading
    Biogen2020-03-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great coworkers but hard to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hard working coworkers, great managers, good work-life balance

    Cons

    The higher ups do not care about the employee survey and they rarely hire from within for positions. I applied for a position I was qualified for within the company and did not even get a chance to interview because they wanted to go with an external candidate.

    Biogen2020-03-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good pay, gaps in leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits for more senior employees

    Cons

    Difficult to advance Leadership seems more concerned with EPS and not making the wrong decision than setting the company up for long term success Everything hangs on aducanumab Very difficult to move up in technical roles Entry level pay raises are small

    Continue reading
    Biogen2020-03-23
  8. "Wonderful company, great culture, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Biogen

    Pros

    The pay here is very competitive. The culture here is also amazing. I came from a nearby pharmaceutical company that was horribly negative, but Biogen cares about its employees and it’s patients. The benefits are unlike anything I’ve seen before. The 401K match is amazing, there is education assistance, there’s a concierge for your use, annual bonus with multipliers, etc. I feel as though i am professionally developed and financially supported by being here which is important to me as a young professional.

    Cons

    The work politics shows in some groups and it’s a big place so hard to network and show your face.

    Continue reading
    Biogen2020-02-28
  9. "Fantastic Pharmaceutical Company for Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture, great lab settings and friendly co-workers

    Cons

    Somewhat difficult to move up the ladder

    Biogen2020-02-14
  10. "I worked at Biogen as a Biostatistician intern for 3 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Bio Statistician in Cambridge, MA

    I worked at Biogen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee benefits, good gym

    Cons

    salary is not that competitive

    Biogen2020-02-07
Found 872 reviews