BlueCat Reviews | Glassdoor

BlueCat Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BlueCat CEO Michael Harris
Michael Harris
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely convenient location, especially if one is living on a subway line(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good location (right above York Mills subway station)(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved working with everyone here.

    Cons

    Not one I can think of

    BlueCat2019-08-06
  2. "Fantastic people, culture, attitude, benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone across the management team is passionate and cares about the employees - Everyone in the company actually cares about the customer, always - The people team is great and are always looking for ways to improve - The customers love the technology and the service, cause it is awesome

    Cons

    - Depending on your role and experience, it can be challenging getting up to speed on the technology

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you have been doing as you grow

    BlueCat2019-03-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Well run company with a huge upside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I find this company to be one of the best run in my career, and unlike the thousands of startups that burn through VC cash and unload a truckload of worthless options at new candidates' feet, this company actually: - sells a 'must have' technology at the heart of virtually every strategic IT trend right now: cloud, IoT, Software defined networking... - is entering the smoking hot cybersecurity market with a differentiated...

    Show More

    Cons

    Challenges abound, as they do at any tech company. These include: - There's a log of legacy code/practices/habits lying around this company. You will need to build/re-build business processes that will help it scale - Communication can certainly be streamlined, with better defined ownership. Sometimes overcoming internal and external obstacles to customer success is a challenge. - We need more 'big ideas.' injecting...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Seek solutions to problems from those closest to the problem. Bottom up versus top down - Be more open and transparent. Knowledge is empowering - Celebrate wins! - Stop using Microsoft products. It's 2018.

    BlueCat2018-08-05

    BlueCat Response

    October 26, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you feel valued and invested in! We hope to continue making improvements so we retain key team members like you.

  4. "Business Development and Services Engagement, Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a dynamic place to work that was striving to grow into something bigger.

    Cons

    There was a desire to run "lean" and so there was plenty of things do easily leading to burn out if not managed well.

    Advice to Management

    Consider hiring more quickly to alleviate stress and encourage more strategic thinking.

    BlueCat2018-05-01

    BlueCat Response

    June 8, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    If only hiring the ideal candidate was that easy :) thank you for your feedback!

  5. Helpful (7)

    "Mgmt getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    Current mgmt is getting better Company is expanding

    Cons

    Still a long way to go before it can be considered a good workplace Work/life depends on the team you are in

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work to make up for bad owners i.e. CEO/CTO

    BlueCat2018-02-03

    BlueCat Response

    June 8, 2018Head of Global Recruiting

    We really do appreciate your feedback.

  6. "Much more than I expected...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Investing in it's employees is a top priority at BlueCat. On boarding for new employees is excellent. Fun environment to work. Generous vacation and personal time off. Fast growing company with lots of opportunities.,

    Cons

    No negative experiences to report.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    BlueCat2017-11-20

    BlueCat Response

    November 22, 2017Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for joining us! Glad you love it here.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Potential can be fulfilled in this dynamic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very focused, very engaging, very dynamic, expanding and growing. Provides the tools and training to be successful with a supportive, predominantly flat management structure that enables the various teams. Teams tend to work well together. Board and CEO actively engaged in the business positive manner. Great for those who like to actively participate and engage to become successful.

    Cons

    Necessary changes as the company adjusts to structures and processes that need to change with organizational growth.

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in people resources to support sales, services and support of the customer base for both short and long term growth. Reutilize talent

    BlueCat2017-10-25

    BlueCat Response

    November 22, 2017Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for all the positive comments about our collaborative and engaging culture!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Global Alliances Executive - IBM & AT&T"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Sales & Alliance Executive in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart & Fun group on my team. Great guys at IBM & AT&T.

    Cons

    Managed by email directives vs. conversations in person or on the phone.

    Advice to Management

    No

    BlueCat2017-10-04

    BlueCat Response

    November 22, 2017Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your concerns. This is surprising to hear given all the initiatives we have taken recently to encourage collaboration and transparent, clear conversations about performance. Please feel free to share your concerns directly with the People Team.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture and leadership with a vision for the future."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlueCat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership team is tremendous and looks to collaborate with everyone from the top down. Great strategic vision for the future as the company evolves.

    Cons

    Requires a lot of grit and determination for the long haul. This isn't a bad thing, but most people want that instant large company feel.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose the culture aspect as things expand and the company grows.

    BlueCat2017-09-25

    BlueCat Response

    November 22, 2017Talent Acquisition

    We absolutely will continue to hire folks with grit and who value culture as much as we do. Thanks for sharing!

  10. Helpful (8)

    "Nasty, Sleazy and Cult-Like Company - Stay Away!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlueCat full-time

    Pros

    The CTO is the only hope for this organization. The only decent executive/human-being they have.

    Cons

    Management are survey beggars that only care about perception and numbers on glassdoor - not reality. The incent (intimidate) employees to submit positive reviews here and elsewhere. Employees are oppressed, scared and paranoid. As long as they tell management how "great" BlueCat is, they may keep their pitiful jobs. Communication is solely based on gossip and hearsay from top-down and all around. This is an absolute...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Live and demonstrate the values you so vehemently subscribe to (presumably) and expect your employees to emulate.

    BlueCat2017-09-01

    BlueCat Response

    September 7, 2017Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for providing us with your very honest feedback. We are sorry that you felt your time at BlueCat was such a negative experience. We do in fact like to survey our employees. Mainly because we want their opinions on how we can be better at what we do. We survey our new hires ...

    Show More
Found 134 reviews