Booj Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Booj Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Booj CEO Ido Zucker (no image)
Ido Zucker
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Startup mentality with RE/MAX backing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booj full-time

    Pros

    Move fast, you're able to implement what you can or have the desire to. It feels like the roof is as high as you're willing to work. Great place to grow

    Cons

    Office is decent but not the fanciest

    Booj2019-02-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Keep looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Denver, CO
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booj full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Can bring your whole self to work - Some great individuals

    Cons

    With the tag line “be original or jealous”, a promise of high moral values and a sense of purpose, booj seems like a great place to work. But much like any other veneer, it comes off quickly. - Drinking and smoking (420) are allowed IN THE OFFICE after 4:20pm. There would be meetings in the mornings where managers and/or employees would be hungover from drinking the night before. - The office is kept dark... with little to no natural light. - Bed bugs have been present in the office causing it to close twice in the past 6 months. - Speculating at the pieces in play with the RE/MAX acquisition, it would be unsurprising if booj dropped their past clients once the RE/MAX suite of tooling is complete. Which is the client base that booj needs most of their employees for. For an engineer there is - little to no documentation. - tribal knowledge that's guarded - a good ol' boys club culture - you'll be asked to work weekends - OK pay but probably just under par There are some incredible individual employees and people at booj. However, this, unfortunately, doesn't translate into a company that is worth pouring your time into.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better organization, structure, transparency

    Booj2019-10-24
  3. Helpful (10)

    "No Tech Knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booj full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice and competent people work there but the rest of the perks are geared toward children and they will treat you as such.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything. They have a tech stack built on a 4+ year dead PHP version. I led the project to upgrade to a less dead version and added local development. In 2018 this company was (and still is) using a single server development structure. The only benefit that came with this in 2000 was consistent environments but the system architects can not keep the two systems aligned so you spend hours/days/weeks... dealing with 'it works on dev but fails on production'. It's absolutely unacceptable. The company hires juniors and trains them to work on their failing product, they do not invest in the people or their careers. Working here will not prepare you for any real development career. The two seniors on my team did not know PHP and commonly rewrote internal PHP functions. They also had a propensity to treat less knowledgeable employees in condescending ways while telling them complete falsehoods. It's the absolute worst job I have ever had in the tech industry. If you care about tech in any way, stay far away from this place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step down and find someone with technical acumen to fix everything you mismanaged. The Remax project will be a complete failure and you guys should prepare for that.

    Booj2018-12-20
  4. "Home Away from Home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booj full-time

    Pros

    booj has a super welcoming and inclusive atmosphere. We do multiple company outings each month, and each has around 30 attendants - these events are always a complete blast. The open-door policy and acceptance of managers and partners allows any staff member to really have an impact on processes here. I LOVE being able to bring my dog to work, it brightens up my day having all the dogs around! They are now more... controlled so we rarely have "doggy accidents". Overall, I love the people and culture at booj and wouldn't trade it for anything. Awesome place to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours are long when big projects are happening

    Booj2018-04-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Work Environment and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booj full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    booj is the best work environment you can ask for! Some of the best things include a dog friendly, open floor concept to allow coworkers to work in an agile fashion, and scooters and hover boards galore to help you navigate the halls. Everyone here puts their own unique stamp on the company that's helped us obtain multiple awards including being one of the top workplaces of the year.

    Cons

    Snack attack currently exists on only Tuesdays and Thursdays. I wouldn't be opposed to adding a few more days to it.

    Booj2017-06-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities in a startup environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booj full-time

    Pros

    Booj is a great place to learn and grow. Since being here, my skill set has been expanded and improved upon in unexpected ways. There are a lot of opportunities for new ideas and thinking outside of the box is highly encouraged. Booj has hired an amazing group of people who end up being like family. The culture is a great combination of work and play; we get lots of perks like group outings, food trucks, and... breakfast Monday's!

    Show More

    Cons

    Booj might not be for you if you need a monotonous, commonplace environment. It's a fast paced work flow where ideas are moving and processes are being improved upon daily. Those who strive here aren't afraid to speak up and push themselves.

    Booj2017-05-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Learn, grow, friendships and be part of something awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booj full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I feel that I am truly part of something great here at booj. I get to work at a place where I am part of the "we" and can make a positive impact. I feel that my voice is heard and that I can create change, and have the freedom to share feedback at any level. The leadership takes the time with new hires and strives to keep the culture of the company consistent. They truly care about their employees and they take the... time to understand what our strengths and weaknesses are. They have a strong direction, clear vision for the future, and are always actively making a good thing even better, which makes me feel secure about my position here. This is a place where you can work with smart people. People that are either starting their career, or that have been here for years, and have created a solid career at booj. I have seen people that I started with, develop into larger roles, and become an integral part of the "we". We play hard together, with happy hours, booj sponsored events, and it works to solidify us as a team. I feel this is a place where I can be myself and also learn concrete skills. Everyday is different, and we are doing new and innovative things that can be challenging. I feel that booj is the place where I can count on the people around me, to help or support me through. If you are looking for a place to feel like you belong and to learn from some seriously awesome folks, this is it.

    Show More

    Cons

    The building isn't close to a ton of lunch spots, but they give the option to have food brought in daily. The commute on Colorado blvd. during the busy times can be tough at times, but you can work around it!

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring amazing people and planning fun events!

    Booj2017-03-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Positive and Fun Work Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Booj full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Booj is an extremely unique company, providing a flexible, laid-back and fun environment for employees. I have been working here for 1.5 years, during which time I have been able to grow into my position and gain a tremendous amount of experience in my field. I love the open communication and encouraging atmosphere that the company has emphasized, especially as of late. Additionally, they have added quite a bit of... structure and outlined details for various processes, which helps create a more organized and effective work flow for everyone involved. I absolutely love the people I get to work with every day, which makes everything that much more enjoyable.

    Show More

    Cons

    The flexible work hours and mobile nature of what we do can sometimes mean taking your work home with you at nights or on weekends, or never being able to shut off your mind from your job at the end of the day. However, a recent law has prevented this from happening for those under a certain pay mark.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employing amazing people! The unique booj environment is what makes this place what it is.

    Booj2017-02-27
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Fine if you really need a job that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Web Applications Developer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Booj full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work environment at Booj is very laid back. If you like to bring your dog in everyday and let them poop everywhere so other people have to clean it up, this is a great place for you. The owner and partner can be super accommodating if you're lucky enough to be on their good side. Some of the people that you get to work with are super friendly and great to be around. Occasionally the company provides food and... holds fun outings. If you like to play pool, ping pong, or air hockey, this is also a great place.

    Show More

    Cons

    The absolute worst part of working at Booj is you don't get paid what you're worth, it doesn't matter how much you work, what you contribute, or how long you've been there. Moving to a new company will get you at least double what Booj pays. Along with the low salary comes exceedingly long hours of being overworked, especially when it comes time to release new sites for clients. While you're working a 16 hour day,... others that are working on different projects will go home at the normal time. Work 80 hours in a week and you won't see an extra dime because they don't give bonuses. To go along with that, they don't offer 401k with contributions or anything other than a little PTO and awful insurance. Booj hires anybody that wants to give project management a shot regardless of experience or education which leads to terrible organization, promises to clients that can't be made, little to no understanding of the product, and frustration to developers as they are tasked with being their babysitter and have to explain every little detail of how things actually work. To make things worse, project managers are worked like slaves which contributes to their horrible attitudes making them uneasy to work with. On average, a project manager lasts around 9 months to a year. So every time one quits, developers then have to deal with a new one and start from scratch. They all promise the clients the world which leads to unnecessary amounts of work for the rest of the team. With the two aforementioned problems comes a retention rate of pretty much 0, especially when it comes to the development teams. When I worked there, I saw more great developers leave than I could believe. Guys that were so smart and loyal that would also break their backs carrying giant work loads left constantly. It was super discouraging to see this happen and leaves you with only one option, bailing on the slowly sinking ship that is Booj. If ever another company similar to that of Booj emerges, this company will go down in flames faster than the Hindenberg. Because this is a dog friendly office, everybody with a dog brings their dog in yo freely roam the office while they work. They're constantly barking and distracting workers in other ways. The owners are generally the most irresponsible people in the building too, meaning, there's always dog waste inside with nobody taking responsibility for it and cleaning it up. I love dogs, but working at Booj makes you hate them. Finally, the product is just a giant mess and a nightmare to work on. It's eventually going to blow up and leave every company using it with nothing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start paying employees what they're worth and start moving the company forward rather than staying stagnant. Hire competent employees, get rid of the incompetent, and add benefits like 401k and bonuses.

    Booj2017-02-21
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to start off!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Booj full-time

    Pros

    booj is great for people just starting off in their professional life! They often hire junior level employees, allowing them to learn and grow at the company. There is a lot of room for growth and expansion that wouldn't be present at larger companies. Being a start-up, employees have a lot of power to give feedback, and often dictate new processes and products. The people are great, and you make really fast... friends with the people you work with. The culture is also fun, especially if you like playing games like pingpong and pool. There are also fun outings that are organized for the employees. booj really prides itself in letting you have a life outside of work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Because booj hires so many junior level employees there is a larger learning curve, which can slow down processes and projects. It also means that more training is necessary, but I see many people leave/get fired because of a lack of training. Certain positions are "thrown to the wolves" and then fired quickly if they can't keep up, which I don't think is fair because I know that with a little extra training, they... would last a long time at booj.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the people who are your "buddies", or people who just happen to have started with the company early on, and hire people who are actually qualified for their positions. You are doing a disservice to your other employees, and the company as a whole by keeping people that essentially just add more work for everyone else.

    Booj2016-10-26
Found 37 reviews
</>Embed