Booker Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Booker CEO Josh McCarter
Josh McCarter
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment is open and inviting(in 20 reviews)

  • "The work life balance is the best by far anywhere I have worked(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The one benefit I would like Booker to add is a 401K matching program(in 17 reviews)

  • "My only negative is no 401K matching(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      On-boarding Specialist

      Jul 17, 2018 - Onboarding Specialist in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoyed working for Booker they have awesome people, Culture! What I enjoyed best about the role at Booker is that I really enjoy mentoring entrepreneurs and helping them create a successful strategy to manage their business that way they can focus on what they do best. This company is transparent and cares so much for their Customers and is committed to your success.

      Cons

      no on-site Gym, the pay is fair but I think is underpaid based on other employers in the tech industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Management

      Sep 23, 2019 - Scrum Master 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, energetic and friendly team

      Cons

      Lack of leadership. Poor management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for college students

      Aug 3, 2019 - Training Specialist in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wellness card each month nice

      Cons

      No room for growth. Pay doesn’t support family

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Work Hard Play Hard

      Jan 5, 2017 - BDM in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits - My overall comp has increased year over year - Time off is awesome, and you're not frowned upon when you take it - Career growth is something that actually happens - Fast-paced environment - Ping Pong and Kegs are always a plus - Great culture - Talented professionals - Collaborative environment across different segments - Brand recognition - Flexibility and autonomy given to consult with your clients - Networking opportunities here are endless NYC Management View: MBWA) / Democratic Management Approach. Here is why…. Mike H is an invaluable asset to our team. He has a Democratic / Management by Walking Around (MBWA) approach. He aims to involve all member’s of the team in the decision making process. He is very familiar with the SMB sales process and sales cycle which in the end helps me to land more deals. I have witnessed first-hand many sales reps at Booker develop and hone their skills within a short period of time under Mikes direction. Mike engages with the team and encourages a competitive and healthy rivalry while helping us to embrace corporate and team culture. This helps to drive real metrics and results. This level of management is characteristic I have grown to truly appreciate Mike for. He also engages with other departments, embraces change and lends advice to those in need.

      Cons

      - Here at Booker it's easy to become attached to your work, leads & accounts, and it often trickles over into your personal life after hours, or on weekends. - Quota isn't necessarily the easiest to hit. But I guess if it were easy I suppose they would let anyone in.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Booker is the place to be!

      Jan 5, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Currently been working in the New York City office for a little over three and half years. With any tech start up there are of course ups and downs in the sales department. I'm proud to say Booker Sales department shows a successful story where there are mostly ups and very few downs. To start, each rep has a ramping period gear to help each rep build a pipeline to reach and exceed their goals. During this ramping period, each rep has constant support and guidance from the management/leadership team. The support and guidance includes daily team meetings with the sales director and weekly one on one meetings with the sales director. The sales director is truly one of the best that is out there in any Saas company . Started out as an associate making 100s of calls a day to becoming one of the leaders making a company go public. He is a great mentor for the fact that he knows exactly what each rep is going through with having a goal over their heads and being judge on performance since he was walking in your shoes not that long ago in his career. It being a sales job you have a quota that you have to reach each month. At Booker though that quota is something that with hard work and a positive attitude can be achieved month in and month out. All in all if you are someone considering looking into Booker for a sales career you are looking into the right place. Great guidance/mentor, fun environment, and most importantly an opportunity to make good money while having fun at the same time.

      Cons

      If your late on Wednesdays you miss out on free bacon!

      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I grew my career at Booker

      Oct 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been working at Booker 7+ years and have had a wonderful experience here. I started in entry level support when the company was under 30 employees and worked my way up to the management level. Booker always encouraged me to grow and challenge myself by giving me new opportunities. They sent me to AMA's Management Training and have invested in my learning throughout the years (books, seminars, etc). I have worked in 3 different departments during my years and have seen ups and downs in the company but overall have had a very positive experience and the company is in a great place now. My current role is in the Customer Experience department and the leadership is top notch right now, by far the best I've experienced in my many years at Booker. I have never been happier, not only with the leadership on CE, but just being a part of an outstanding team of people who help each other and share the common goal of making our customers happy, which in turn will make our employees happy. I have learned so much throughout my years at Booker and have met some of my very best friends here, too. The culture is really engaging and fun. I always have a great time regardless of what Booker office I visit because there is an open and friendly vibe throughout the company.

      Cons

      I don't have any major cons, the company is in a good place. My only negative is no 401K matching.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great product, great people, fun work environment

      Aug 11, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There have been huge enhancements in improving the product and general customer experience. The CEO cares greatly about his employees and celebrates successes with the team. There are lots of fun activities for employees and an investment in professional growth. Management is open to time off and promote a healthy work life balance. Often times, employees stay well past close simply because they really like each other.

      Cons

      Like all companies, there are silos that need to be broken down, specifically within the Product/Tech area. A lack of having a central operations team causes a breakdown in communication and as a result causes territorial issues. Company communication is often after the fact and not pro-active additionally the meeting culture is counter-productive and often unnecessary. The HR team should develop a company-wide rewards program so there is a brand consistency as well as improving the health benefits and considering a 401k match.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Midsize company with a small company culture

      Mar 6, 2018 - Customer Experience Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Booker is a quickly growing company which means you get the opportunity to grow with the company. Your input is welcomed and its an open door management philosophy. Management is easy to approach and its a friendly employee centric culture. Your input and ideas are taken into consideration and appreciated. The work environment is open and inviting. If you work hard your efforts are noticed, and you get informed on job openings that management feels you would be a good fit.

      Cons

      The communication between departments are lacking. Basically the left hand doesn't know what the right is doing. Also there is very little updating to the company's intranet, especially employee profiles. Finding information on current system issues and updates are lacking substance. This again all revolves around inter company communication. There is also a lack of employee-management interaction on skill building, and career growth. 1 on 1's are far and few between.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to work!

      Nov 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working for Booker. You get plenty of PTO which is very helpful for myself. They are always providing food, breakfast every Tuesday, snacks galore (both healthy and not so healthy). The environment is a lot of fun to work in, it young and energetic. We do some activities outside of work, which are also fun to participate in. For the most part, the executive team is amazing and very supportive. I also fin that there are lots of opportunities to grow.

      Cons

      The office does seem a little clicky at times. Raises and bonuses happen, rarely and typically small. Not a fan of the health benefits. Product isn't responsive on some bigger issues and complaints from our customers.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      All smiles, but rotting on the inside

      Nov 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a good place to harness your career and gain experience, especially since you'll be dealing with crazy client escalations. Also, a ton of people quit, so you'll find yourself with more responsibility than initially thought.

      Cons

      They have started to shift their operations to AZ and Pennsylvania, so maybe it's nice there. But in New York, it's miserable. People are dropping like flies and MGMT does not care at all. I feel a tad exploited knowing that I have worked so hard for so little compensation, thinking that this company will one day be successful. MGMT has made a series of blunders and failed aspirations in the last 10 months, and their lack of action and accountability has made Booker a terrible place to work. Morale is at an all time low, and I don't see any future in this company. There are definitely some delusions of grandeur, and you'd think that management would care a bit more to have a foundation of knowledgeable employees to support the software, but this is not the case. You are supposed to work from 9-6 with a BS unpaid hour for lunch. The pay is absolutely terrible. Customer Success employees make so little, and therefore cannot live anywhere close to the office due to the ridiculous cost of living. If you count your hour commute into your workday, you are working 11-hour days with measly compensation.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 160 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Booker Job Seekers

    Booker
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Booker? Share Your Experiences

    Booker logo
    or