Brokers' Risk Reviews

Updated Apr 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
1.9
13%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Brokers' Risk President  Cheryl Sandner (no image)
Cheryl Sandner
5 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    So much better than it was!

    Sep 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am a current employee. The atmosphere here at Brokers Risk has done a complete 180. Where before it was an environment of fear and 'lucky to have a job', now employees are treated with respect and our opinions actually matter. Management has gone out of their way to show us that we are important to the success of the company. Little things like after work drinks, random cookies and really fun company outings have vastly improved morale.

    Cons

    None compared to a few years ago. If I had to suggest an improvement, I'd go with a better Healthcare company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Sinking Ship

    Apr 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beautiful Office, close to transportation

    Cons

    Poor management, questionable accounting practices, no direction

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Beware! Glossy veneer hides seething dysfucntion.

    Feb 26, 2014 -  in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to start learning the inner-workings of the insurance industry; very proactive in training and certifying employees in various insurance qualifications. Awesome downtown location in the Loop; easy to commute to and from by train, modern skyscraper building, nice office.

    Cons

    Management is incompetent and does not clearly communicate goals and objectives. Employees who work hard are taken advantage of by being assigned an overload of tasks and responsibilities. Co-workers take part in catty, backstabbing behaviors that start from the top down that isolate people from one another. The flow of knowledge between experienced employees and those just beginning was an ever-more-confusing maze that is met with hostility from those being asked to train the newcomer. The HR Dept. wasn't too bad while I was working here, but then the HR Manager was fired. Regarding the treatment of employees, this company is like a horse that can be led to water but not forced to drink. This is reinforced by the constant turnover of personnel, where the company would rather hire someone new that they think will be more productive instead of invest in an employee to develop them for the long-term. Even my own manager was fired not much longer after I was let go.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Interesting Work, Professional Environment

    Jun 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Anyone who has worked here under the previous leadership would likely say that the new leadership is a vast improvement in atmosphere and some would even say the change is like night and day. The work is challenging and provides for appropriate professional growth. I can see how working here might be hard for those without a decent amount of experience, because you need to know your stuff to be successful in a small company. That being said, the need for employees to stand on their own without a lot of guidance allows for independent judgment and creative thinking to be used - a big plus for most professionals. Most employees care about their work product and act with integrity.

    Cons

    Implement a structured, planned, occasional work from home option for employees in good standing. Many companies have adopted such limited plans and it would be a huge win for management and employees alike.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Trickle-down miserable environment

    Oct 23, 2014 - Office Administrator in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice office, nice location. Offer some classes and continuing education opportunities.

    Cons

    Upper management mistreats middle-management which trickles down to everyone else in the form of misery, pettiness, and lack of trust. Minimal raises, no bonuses for most employees, this company is CHEAP. They want want top employees but aren't willing to pay for them, so you get people working there who come in, do their job, keep their head down, and are waiting by the door to leave at the end of the day. They don't try to develop some of the talented people they already have. VERY dichotomous environment. Lots of gossip.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    salary

    Sep 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    decent pay for the amount of work

    Cons

    this is a rudderless ship - except for the micro-managing irrelevant matters.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Place To Work

    Jun 22, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with this company for quite some time. I am tired of reading all the negative postings. This company pays above average salaries, has good benefits and you work a 7.25 hour day. The management team has made positive changes in the past year and the environment has changed for the better. If you want to be part of a team where your opinion and the job that you do makes a difference, you belong here. To all those former employees that put up negative posts, there is a reason your are a “former” employee. Go figure right?

    Cons

    No work from home option.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    NOT even if you're DESPERATE!!!! #dontdoit

    Nov 4, 2016 - Senior Workers Compensation Claims Examiner in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The main kitchen/break area is lovely.

    Cons

    They do not present the true picture or idea of the workload or work environment. There is NO support, literally...no encouragement or motivation to do better. You maintain the best you can until you can find better. They're is LOTS of nepotism..it's kept in the family & fremily...the long time employees are there cause they don't do anything - or they're about to retire so why go elsewhere. There are new employees but that's because SOOOO many leave. They eliminate positions & just pile the work on but this isn't what they tell you...you find out once you're stuck there. No training..no support...HORRIBLE communication. I expect this business to be closed or sold SOON!!! I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!!!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Brokers' Risk Response

    VP HR

    You don't work here and I'm sorry that things did not work out for you. We hope that you find the perfect job and can move on. Not everyone is a fit for their job - it doesn't mean that person's skills are less. We wish you well.

  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Worked for Risk Placement Services

    Oct 1, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair vacation time. A few fair people but not many.

    Cons

    Can receive great review but still no raise. Lots of bullies.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Rating

    Aug 3, 2015 -  in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can leave your work at work. Manager and Exec in the department are helpful. A place to get started in this field but I wouldn't stick around for too long.

    Cons

    The pay is not very good for this position for the amount of work that is required to stay afloat. Develop a more thorough training program.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Work at Brokers' Risk? Share Your Experiences

Brokers' Risk logo
or